We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Expedia.comUS$287*
View Deal
#30 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$356*
US$287*
US$356*
US$287*
US$356*
US$287*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Panoramas (66)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,710 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,514: English reviews
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2014

What a gorgeous hotel. We stayed for a weekend in January and loved every minute. The rooms are beautiful, very spacious, very clean and the modern designs really make it stand out. The location is great and the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Not being from the area the staff went out of their way to help us with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Charl0tte_1992
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Charl0tte_1992, Thank you very much for your five star review and your wonderful comments! Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your weekend away in January, hope the weather treated you well too? We hope to see you back at Hotel Missoni in not too distant future. Have a lovely start of March, With kind regards, Henna Kapulainen Assistant...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Was booked into this hotel with my wife for a night as a gift for Christmas (we were going to a show at theatre) the room was very comfortable robes , slippers supplied and also nespresso coffee machine in room also free morning paper ,staff were also very helpful and the breakfast selection was very good cooked , fruit cereals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulstewart348
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Paulstewart348, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Hotel Missoni. I am very pleased to read that you had such a great overall experience and that you found the room amenities so appealing. I am sorry however that you felt the minbar prices were expensive. I hope this does not...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Missoni hotel décor is fabulous and the food did not disappoint beautifully presented ,friendly helpful service and not too pricey lovely for a special occasion. very easily accessible from Waverly station

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie L
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Jackie L, Thank you so much for your short but sweet review of Hotel Missoni. Absolutely delighted you had such a positive experience with us in Edinburgh and cannot wait to welcome you back in the future. Please get in touch with me if you are planning another trip to Scotland, Kind regards, James Archer Guest Services Manager

Reviewed 5 March 2014

Lovely hotel, great location. There seems to be a number of poor reviews regarding the breakfast but we found the service to be excellent and there was plenty to choose from on the buffet and our cooked breakfast was lovely. Reason it lost a star - electric shocks whenever we touched anything in the corridors, especially the lift (apparently a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beckopt
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Beckopt, Thank you very much for your feedback. I am pleased you had a great stay with us in Edinburgh and that you felt the hotel was ideally situated. We are located in the heart of the city on the royal mile only a stone’s throw away from the many major attractions that our wonderful city has to offer....

Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel looks beautiful from outside but when I checked in (which took 10mins in a five star hotel) I was shocked to find the bathroom was missing. Yes the Oxford dictionary states that a bathroom is "A room containing a bath and usually also a washbasin and a toilet" however although they clearly advertise their rooms come with a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank atrutter
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear atrutter, I am so disappointed to read your comments having thought that you had been very pleased with the upgrade and complimentary bath oils we offered during your stay. We do mention that we have no baths in all our rooms on our website however since your review I have actioned an urgent review of our information so that...

Berkshire, UK
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I quite liked this hotel. Greeting on arrival was very friendly and when I couldn't connect to the Wifi they were helpful. It's the kind of place where everything is a bit "funky"; you get a leaflet with all of the details about your room / services etc. I had a "missoni" room and to be honest it was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spremmynemmy
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear spremmynemmy, Thank you very much for your 4 star review following your stay with us in Edinburgh. I am pleased that you had a good stay overall and would be delighted to welcome you back in the future. If you have any further suggestions on how we can improve our service please do not hesitate to get in touch,...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had a fantastic meal with extended family in a private function room at the Hotel Missoni. There were around 15 of us in a fabulous room with great views overlooking Edinburgh. The room, like the rest of the hotel, was very stylish and looked great. The food was delicious, with the exquisite Mackeral salad a particular highlight. Everyone thoroughly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Matt P, I'm simply delighted that you had such a fabulous private function with us and that you were treated to fantastic 5 star service. Thank you for choosing Hotel Missoni for your event. If you are ever planning a return trip to Edinburgh please feel free to get in touch with me personally and I will ensure that...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2014

A superb modern designed hotel in a great location with fantastic food. The ultra friendly staff were second to none for attentiveness. This hotel was highly recommended by a friend and was my first stay in the Missoni. It will certainly not be my last visit. Quality stay in this beautiful city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mombass1
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear mombass1, Thank you so much for your quality review of Hotel Missoni. We are all delighted to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us and that you were so well looked after by our dedicated team who all care passionately about providing 5 star service. Come back and stay soon; and bring all of your friends...

paisley
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here Saturday to Sunday there, the service was appauling, 90 minutes for 2 courses, not one person asked if we enjoyed our stay/food.. nothing. £8 for a bottle of sparkling water!!! marks on the walls in our room, paint all chipped, bathrobes had the threads dangling from them.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sammcg4
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Sammcg4, It is with great disappointment that you did not enjoy your stay with us in Edinburgh and that you felt you received sub standard service during you meal with us in Cucina. Please accept my sincere apologies that were not able to get everything right. Rest assured that your feedback has been taken very seriously which will no...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I visted this hotel for 1 night. The location is good and the welcome by reception staff is ok. The atmosphere in bar and restaurant is not very special. The quality of the food in the restaurant is very dispappointing. the service is slow and not well organized, while it was not busy at all. Long wait to take the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Alfred B
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Alfred B, I am truly disappointed that you have left Hotel Missoni feeling let down by your experience. This is certainly not the level of service that we want to be remembered for, or what we are used. Please accept my sincere apologies that your weekend did not turn out as you would have expected. I would seriously appreciate...

1,546 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (896)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (273)
Viewed
Bathroom (93)
Viewed
View from Room (65)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
4:18
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (334)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (539)
Viewed
Amenities (136)
Viewed
Dining (132)
Viewed
Signature Room (128)
Viewed
The Hotel (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (111)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Other (43)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
887 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 147 in Edinburgh
915 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
3,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
301 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,555 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Price Range: €213 - €505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The whole hotel is beautiful!”
987PatriciaG, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“New wing has Air con!”
  • New Wing Room
Rosebuds63, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“all are good”
509JackieH, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the castle , but we had a beautiful rooftop view of old churches and stone buildings , its all good.”
  • Sexy black bathrobes and colorful decor
smsdes, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“any room seemed to be a good room”
412stacyt, 15 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$287* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$287
Hotels.comUS$287
CancelonUS$356
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates