We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel

19/06/2017 20/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

661 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 645: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
 Click to rate
Wyton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at this Travelodge as part of a corporate business booking. The lodge was very busy with tourist's as the hotel is fairly near to Princes Street. The staff were very efficient and I was soon booked an allocated a room in the basement. This room had on basic furnishing but had enough room to house a family. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank siggy992
Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a great location. I was in Edinburgh for one night on business, arriving late and getting up early so thought I would save a few quid. Mistake. The conversion form townhouse to hotel has been done on the cheap. The public areas are poor and the corridor on lower ground feels like the access to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Podge358
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to learn you were happy with the Hotel’s location, however we would like to apologise for the issues that impacted your stay. Your feedback is very important as it allow us to improve the service we offer and we would like to thank you for the time...

Forfar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Just a basic Travelodge but with huge rooms and a good location. The rooms were clean and bright with very comfy beds. Plumbing was a bit weird with hot water coming out of the cold tap when used during the night but cold water coming out of the same tap in the morning. This hotel was perfect for a one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UnspokenWords
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

May we thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience of your stay at Edinburgh Haymarket Travelodge with us. It pleases us to learn your room was clean and comfortable and you found our hotel to be an ideal location for your needs. We're sorry to hear that the tap temperature was playing up, we will ensure...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location near the Haymarket train station - ten-minute walk to castle/Princes Street. Had a lovely 3rd floor room with great light, and big bathroom. Had a issue w/cold water (not working) in the tub, but basically an excellent place. Very clean room and helpful chambermaids.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roxie M
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. Feedback is really important to us and detailed comments like yours will help us in improving our services. We will ensure our hotel team receive a copy of your review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room and that you received a high level of service from our...

Clara, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On a budget week-end break to see the rugby in Murrayfield this hotel was perfect. Very convenient for public transport it is located just 3 minutes walk from the train & tram station at Haymarket. If the weather is fine its only a 20 minute walk to the stadium, the Castle and other historic attractions can also be reached in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcmahon_t
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Basic hotel in a great location I feel personally for the price I paid it wasn't worth the money. The room was clean and spacious but nothing special. The bathroom was basic and clean. It was quiet from outside noise however inside lots of noise in the morning from hotel staff going in and out rooms cleaning. Our room was...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S8843AXemmam
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Edinburgh Haymarket Travelodge and taking the time to share your experience with us. We're really sorry to learn of your disappointment with your overall stay. We want our customers to enjoy their experience in our hotels so we are sorry to learn that you did not receive our high standard of service on...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staff tried hard and room was clean. But that's it. 'Basic' doesn't describe it. This is a tired old place and surprised Travelodge put their name to it. Do yourself a favour and book a youth hostel instead.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denmenace
TravelodgeUK, Poppy from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for bringing your review of our Edinburgh Haymarket Travelodge to our attention we're happy to hear you room was clean however, we're sorry you were not positively impressed with your overall experience. Please rest assured we will pass your feedback to the hotel team, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to one...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely big open room with nice big window, room was light and airy, nice bathroom and comfy bed. Lovely staff, connection to wifi was easy albeit a little unreliable at times. Overall good experience and would definitely stay here again

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dominiquecF318TV
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Would totally recommend staying here as it's comfortable and in a good location, just don't eat here!! Bed really comfortable and room big, nice and well equipped with beautiful views from the window! could be a little bit warmer though. Location is fab with main station very close and lots of restaurants cafes and local shops nearby. Staff quite helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma L
Irvine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So, needed a nice relaxing sleep, nearby ice rink, before a hectic competitive day at Murrayfield Ice Rink, host of the 2017 Open Competition. Booking was very straight forward and at a very agreeable price of £36 for a double room. Room was situated in the basement which was warren-like but rooms clearly marked and as long as you were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T3073BCrobertas

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
19/06/2017 20/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#132 of 147 in Edinburgh
617 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#72 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#90 of 147 in Edinburgh
642 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#143 of 147 in Edinburgh
381 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#89 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel

Address: 24 Eglinton Crescent, Edinburgh EH12 5BY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: €64 - €212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel Scotland
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Edinburgh Travelodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would recommend a basement room if you want plenty of space.”
siggy992, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the breakfast and visit one of the many cafes near Haymarket station”
mcmahon_t, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Be aware there is a basement level which is cold. Worth bearing in mind for winter months.”
T3073BCrobertas, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Our room at top of hotel on 3rd Floor had a view of the city including Castle and Arthur's Seat.”
paulrP7322CR, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lower Ground floor rooms are all renovated”
560IanM, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Travelodge
* /night
View Deal
Elvoline
Travelocity
Cancelon
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates