We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

618 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 614: English reviews
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We have stayed in Moffat many times, but never in the Moffat House Hotel, so we gave it a try this time as we had a special deal for Valentines weekend. We checked in and Stacey was very efficient and gave us information on the hotel. The room was clean and tidy, if a little small, but was ok, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme J
Stacey M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Graeme J. It seems we got off to a very positive start but then dropped the ball a little at breakfast. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay for the most part and your comment on the shower pressure has been taken on board. I can only apologise now for the lack of tomato sauce. Busy...

Reviewed 7 February 2017

Stayed overnight on route to Manchester, lovely warm and friendly hotel. Ate in Restaurant for both evening meal and breakfast, found service fast and efficient and food delicious. Thank you Moffat for lovely stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hippyho
Stacey M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, Hippyho, for such a kind review! We're delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you'll visit again if you're in the area. Regards Stacey

Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Typical old Best Western property. Rooms a bit dated and water pressure and hot water not very good. Staff are very helpful and welcoming. This is an old property so no lift/elevator. Food and bar excellent with many choices of whiskey. I wouldn't want to stay more than one night but this is more to do with the issues of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sedgy
Stacey M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Sedgy. Sorry to hear that you experienced some trouble with your water pressure, this is being looked into. Due to the hotel being a listed building we have been prevented from installing a lift, but we think it keeps in with the character of this historic home. The staff will be delighted to hear your...

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Lovely hotel in a nice town in a beautiful part of Scotland. Although situated in S. Central Scotland, there were long driving distances to larger towns such as Edinburgh and Glasgow. Ideal location for a short break while touring S.Scotland.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Finlay C
Stacey M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a positive review, Finlay C. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind Regards Stacey

Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Visited here with my family for dinner, the the food was fantastic and Stacey and the staff where very friendly and helpful. There was a lovely atmosphere and the quality of the food was superb. I have been to several place in Moffat and this one is at the top of the pile for me!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
Stacey M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a such a lovely review Craig M! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us so much. We hope you and your family will visit again soon, we'd love to have you back. Kind Regards Stacey

Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2017

I have just stayed here with my mother and her friend in a family room to celebrate her birthday and explore the local area. It is a lovely country house hotel with a real atmosphere of grandeur. Lovely clean room with really comfy beds. This hotel is stunning, great location just off M74, in the centre of Moffat so easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karenfegan
Stacey M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such an overwhelmingly positive review, karenfegan! This is exactly what we aim for here at Moffat House Hotel and we are delighted that it shows. Our talented chef's and staff will be absolutely delighted to read your comments. The seafood chowder is one of our most popular dishes and you can see why, in fact, we're going...

Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Have been here 2 nights and have had the most relaxing and enjoyable stay. Staff are so friendly and welcoming. Service outstanding. Can highly recommend Room 2. Comfortable and well-furnished. Have just eaten from the Sunday carvery and cannot fault it. Was absolutely delicious. Will definitely be back! Thank you to all for such a fabulous weekend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lara L
Stacey M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a kind review, Lara L. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back very soon, and hopefully you can join us for our carvery again. Kind Regards

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We recently stayed at Best Western Moffat House and were pleasantly surprised by the room. The room was very cold on arrival, and a small electric wall heater didn't seem the best option, but it did heat the room nicely. All the facilities you would need and I think our room has recently been refurbished. My only feedback would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris0scott
Stacey M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, Chris0scott. Sorry that your room wasn't quite warm enough on arrival but we're glad that this was resolved quickly. Bed's are, unfortunately, not a 'one size fits all' amenity, some like theirs firmer than others. Having said that, if you do happen to stop by again, let us know and...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Have just enjoyed a 3 day New Years Day package at the Moffat House. Staff extremely friendly and made us feel special. Food of an excellent quality and rooms and bar areas of a good standard. Rear dining room very light and looks out onto woodland so very attractive view at breakfast. The hotel perhaps gets 3 stars because the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nikdubrov
Stacey M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review, nikdubrov. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time here at Moffat House Hotel, it is our main priority to ensure guests enjoy the best possible service and overall experience. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards

Strathblane, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Just returned from wonderful Hogmanay weekend at Moffat House Hotel. The whole experience was perfect. The hotel is ideally situated on the high street with walks nearby along the riverbank. The accommodation was comfortable & the staff friendly & helpful. The meals in particular were outstanding so congratulations to the chef. All were freshly cooked, well presented & with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amber708
Stacey M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a complimentary review, amber708! Our Hogmanay event certainly was one of the most successful and enjoyable yet! We've passed your comments to the kitchen team and they are delighted to hear such positive feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon, should you be in the area. Kind Regards

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moffat
0.1 km away
Annandale Arms Hotel
Annandale Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
326 reviews
0.2 km away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Moffat
175 reviews
0.1 km away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#4 of 4 in Moffat
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
22.9 km away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
546 reviews
24.0 km away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
Cuisines: British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel is an elegant mansion transformed into a stylish and comfortable retreat for family and friends, set ​in the charming Victorian spa town of Moffat. Built for The Earl of Hopetoun in the 1750s, it has been carefully maintained and modernised to retain all of it's elegance. Proprietors The Lawson family, along with their friendly staff, offer you a very warm welcome. Only 45 minutes from Glasgow, over 1 hour from Edinburgh and 15 minutes' drive from historic Gretna, The Moffat House Hotel is the ideal retreat to help you make the most of your time in the area. Set within private grounds, this stunning Victorian style hotel combines traditional elegance, comfort and a warm welcome. Keep connected from the comfort of your guest room with WiFi. Your room uniquely reflects the character of this traditional building without compromising on modern amenities. Check in to a Deluxe Four Poster guestroom and enjoy extra space, and beautiful views of the Scottish countryside. You can expect a heartfelt welcome, superb facilities. We have beautiful rooms equipped with everything you need for a relaxing break, so make our hotel your home and relax, have fun with or without the kids and enjoy very special grown-up time for yourselves. We are sure it will be a stay to remember. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel

Address: High Street, Moffat DG10 9HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Price Range: €59 - €114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Moffat Hotel
Moffat Best Western
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Sunderland
9 months ago
Lonescot
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a top floor room”
 of 5 bubbles hijock, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an upgrade the staff will do everything in their power to meet your needs”
 of 5 bubbles Totalstardom, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“For better water pressure ask for a ground floor room”
 of 5 bubbles Sedgy, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a room on the first floor so that people in the car park can't see through your window.”
 of 5 bubbles Chris0scott, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 5 is a family room overlooking the high street.”
 of 5 bubbles nikdubrov, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5