We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Days Inn Gretna Green M74

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Gretna Green M74
See the most recent reviews
Showing 369: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Our second visit and nothing much has changed, which is a shame. It's an ideal place to break the journey south from the Scottish islands and the staff couldn't be more welcoming and helpful. I would recommend phoning direct having checked on website. One doesn't have to take breakfast and so the room rates are cheaper. My main quibbles are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ian s
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Hi Ian, thank you for reviewing Days Inn Gretna Green, we really appreciate our guests feedback. It is always pleasing to hear that our staff are doing a wonderful job so thank you for your kind comments. The feedback you have left in regards to your room will be passed on to the hotel manager. Kind regards Jamie-Leigh Rapp E:...

Kyle of Lochalsh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2015

The Days Inn at Gretna Green is one of their better hotels. It has been modernised, and the decor is good, apart from some black mould appearing in the ensuite bathroom. It was clean and the staff very pleasant and good value if booked in advance. We had an executive room with a fridge, but there were some deficiencies. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M G
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Hi Malcolm, thank you for your review and the valued feedback that you have left following your stay with us at Days Inn Gretna Green. This will all be passed on to the hotel manager to look in too so thank you for sharing your review. Myself and the team hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2015

Stayed here as a stop over between London and the Isle of Skye. I was a little worried by some of the previous reviews however I shouldn't have been. Hotel was clean, bed comfortable and staff friendly and helpful. Nothing fancy but what you would expect for the price. We had our dog with us and he was welcomed by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katy D
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Hi Katy, thank you for your review, it is very pleasing to hear such positive feedback so thank you very much. Myself and the team are delighted to hear that your overall stay with us was a pleasant experience throughout and we hope to welcome you back again in the foreseeable future. Best wishes Jamie-Leigh Rapp E: Jamie-leigh.rapp@welcomebreak.co.uk

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights as it was cheap. There's a funky smell that greets you at reception. Checking in was painless, the room was big enough to swing a cow. Bed soft and comfy. But it can do with a touch up. I'd stay again if up this area.as you can see from pictures the cleaning could do with an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aarond661
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Hi Aaron, thank you for reviewing Days Inn Gretna Green. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was suitable to your needs however thank you for your feedback in regard to the cleanliness, this will be passed on to the hotel manager to discuss with our housekeeping team. Kind regards Jamie-Leigh Rapp E: Jamie-leigh.rapp@welcomebreak.co.uk

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed over in this hotel overnight to go to Scotland, The room was well below standard, the decor was old and tired and bathroom was not good either. Signs of damp in the room and Windows were full of condensation, carpets looked old. I am just glad I only had to endure a one night stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grant N
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Hi Grant, thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. Myself and the team at Days Inn Gretna Green are very sorry for any disappointment you felt during your stay. Please can you email me directly with your review, the date you stayed and also the name your booking was under so I can look in to...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2015

This wouldn't be my first choice in hotel accommodation, it is simply a convenient place for the night, saying that although tired, the rooms are clean and fairly comfortable, a quiet spot across from the on site service station, decent price, would recommend especially if you have a dog

 Report
Helpful?
Thank molk01
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that Days Inn Green Green was a suitable stopover and was overall a pleasant stay. We hope to have you stay with us again in the foreseeable future. Best wishes Jamie-Leigh Rapp E: Jamie-leigh.rapp@welcomebreak.co.uk

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2015

We normally stay here on our way south and usually everything is fine, we don't expect five star but we do expect a clean and tidy room. The standards have really dropped this time. We had an executive room as all the normal doubles were full. The bed wasn't made properly, obviously someone had struggled with the duvet cover and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 902janisa
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us compared to your previous visits at Days Inn Gretna Green. Please can you email me directly with your review, the date you stayed and also the name your booking was under so I can look in to the problems you encountered. Kind regards Jamie-Leigh...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 1 October 2015

A little difficult to find but worth the hassle. The rooms were really large and very comfortable. The whole hotel and grounds are very very clean. The staff are fantastic, friendly and funny. They gave us a great tip for a restaurant nearby, it's somewhere the locals go, so you know it's good. Good value!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sue M
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Hi Sue, thank you for reviewing Days Inn Gretna Green. It is great to hear that you had a comfortable stay and overall pleasant experience with us. Myself and the team are very grateful for you taking the time to share your feedback so thank you, we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Best wishes Jamie-Leigh Rapp...

Driffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Booked a family room to break a journey up to Scotland. Room didn't look great when we arrived but thought it's only 1 night. When I pulled back the duvet the bed was full of mud and dog hairs, pretty obvious that the room had not been cleaned at all. We had to sit in reception for half an hour...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank foxholesfamily
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am extremely sorry for your poor experience you had with us at Days Inn Gretna Green. Please can you email me directly with your review, the date you stayed and also the name your booking was under so I can look in to issues you have raised. Kind regards Jamie-Leigh Rapp E: Jamie-leigh.rapp@welcomebreak.co.uk

Torshavn, Faroe Islands
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Finding the place was a little challenging, but I realized that I had stopped almost in front of it anyway. It could be a little better directions with signs, and with precise coordinates for navigation. The postcode isn't good enough here. It was an OK place to stay for a couple of nights. Bed was OK, and it seemed clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank okvalle
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Thank you for your review for Days Inn Gretna Green, we appreciate all of our guests feedback so thank you for sharing yours in regards to the signage and breakfast. I do apologise that you were unable to have the continental breakfast, we do ask guests on arrival if they would like this so we can ensure that we have...

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.0 km away
Welcome Lodge Gretna Green
Welcome Lodge Gretna Green
#4 of 4 in Gretna Green
6 reviews
1.2 km away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
1.2 km away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
386 reviews
1.9 km away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
143 reviews
1.5 km away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Days Inn Gretna Green is close to the M74 and M6 motorways, and within easy reach of Carlisle. It has free Wi-Fi and free parking. Newcastle-upon-Tyne and County Durham are about 1 hour from the hotel. The famous wedding village of Gretna Green is close by. Tasteful en suite rooms and personal service make this convenient hotel an ideal place to break your journey. Each bedroom has a TV (with Freeview channels), a free hot drinks tray and newspaper, a hairdryer and a trouser press. All rooms have broadband Wi-Fi at an additional cost. Pets are permitted in the hotel. Please inform the hotel when you make your booking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Days Inn Gretna Green M74

Address: Junction 21/22, A74M Northbound | Welcome Break Services, Gretna Green DG16 5HQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Price Range: €46 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Gretna Green M74 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Gretna Green M74 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gretna Green m74 Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Days Inn
Days Inn Gretna Green M74 Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Days Inn Gretna Green M74 staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Days Inn Gretna Green M74 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“our room had brilliant sound-proofing for being near a truck stop”
, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a room at the front of hotel and was very quiet”
753deniset, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Executive Room was a lovely size.”
ElaineM894, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't do it!”
RosieF480, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just don't. We had one of their luxury rooms...it was awful. Much better and cheaper hotels within Gretna and the surrounding areas.”
NoeleenH_13, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5