We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Queensberry Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Queensberry Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 102: English reviews
Start your review of The Queensberry Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

I entered the bar and asked about checking in and was directed to..the end of the bar where I was checked in. After parking my bike, there is no car parking but you use a parking area in the next block, I was taken to my room by the owner, via the ladies loo, which I add in both our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eddie-Gander
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I usually go to the Queensberry Hotel, not to stay, but to eat. I have never rented a room because I live in Dumfries, but if I have some money left I usually go there for lunch. The food is amazing. No other restaurant has food as good as this. Lot's and lot's of tables so you'll never be waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coffee2rist
Workington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped for one night this Monday 27th march, was a bit of a last minute decision, as we had been visiting friends in the city, and needed a place to stop, and was the nearest one available..Located right in the city center... Room was ok, nothing special, but clean, warm, and quiet. Nice toiletries, tea making facilities, TV, (room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alisdair t
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We stayed there on 17th of March 2017 and this is a glorified bar with rooms above. It is noisy and filthy. There is major work going on and the only access to the bedrooms is though filthy conditions. Our room number 7 was disgusting, several of the lights did not work. The net curtains on the window were filthy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andreacampbell62
The Q, Owner at The Queensberry Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, we are very sorry to let you down with the room that you think it is not in your standard order. But as we have tried to tell you we would give you another room or a refund. We also offered you to drive you to another hotel of your choice. But you decided to stay here. Many of...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Popped in for quick drink Saturday late afternoon/ early evening. Few folk in bar, not unusual as town was really quiet. Drinks very cheap, girl behind the bar pleasant, however the toilets - urghhh totally disgusting! I honestly don't think they have a cleaner. It was almost pitch black as most lights broken, In the ladies there are approx 10...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
The Q, Owner at The Queensberry Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, I'm sorry about the hotel condition. At the moment we are in the process of renovate the hotel and Bar area. We changed the carpet in the lady's toilet and all lights are in working order. The new management is now trying his best to change the Hotel are and bar area to as best as it can.

Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Everything was great apart from there was a group of folk allowed to smoke their vapes inside. The smoke and smell off them were disgusting . Everywhere else bans them indoors therefore disappointed at the Queensberry

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Fair1405
Maybole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Had no hot water think they had actually switched heating off as I was only person staying in hotel. Staff were friendly thou. Car park to far away from hotel boy racers going by throughout the night. Saturday is a no go if your up early on a Sunday due to there DJ that's on Sat night from 9 till...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tastyme2
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We found the Queensberry very comfortable' Meals and breakfast excellent and staff very friendly We would stay here again close to all town facilities. It was tired looking but found it just right for what we wanted. Would not recommend it for older couples because of staircase New manager has taken over

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank diane821
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

I popped in for lunch on Saturday 10/09/16 with my wife and son . We were very disappointed with the meal we were given. Firstly I was over charged by £8:95 .then when lunch arrived my son's order was not right. Then my wife's all day breakfast looked like it had been ready since the morning breakfast at lunchtime. Then...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank thecarsons35
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

We found this place at the last moment before going on a ghost walk in the town. Very empty when we we there but then again it was a Wednesday. We were in a rush and were served quickly and the food produced in about 20 minuets. The cost was very cheap indeed. All 7 of us ate for £60...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ethanjee

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
3.2 km away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
0.3 km away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
0.4 km away
Aberdour Hotel
Aberdour Hotel
#45 of 52 in Dumfries
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Glenlossie Guest House
Glenlossie Guest House
#16 of 52 in Dumfries
142 reviews
0.7 km away
Huntingdon House Hotel
Huntingdon House Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dumfries
311 reviews
0.5 km away
No photo provided
White Hart Hotel
#44 of 52 in Dumfries
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about The Queensberry Hotel

Address: 12 English Street, Dumfries DG1 2BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Price Range: €58 - €82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queensberry Hotel Dumfries, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Queensberry Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Queensberry Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose extraneous noise outa room away for the street for a quiet night.”
Eddie-Gander, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Bring some extra money as prices are high.”
Coffee2rist, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“you need to be fit all rooms up 2 flights of stairs”
365Diana44, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else on a Saturday.”
chippalarter, 28 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Find another hotel..............”
shaunyrich, 9 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5