We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Horse and Hound Country Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for The Horse and Hound Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 191: English reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

A nice location and lovely staff. Nice food creaky floorboards. Great lively fun in the bar well worth a visit. Some of the rooms are needing refurbished but good value. Excellent breakfast but dis- jointed but all in good

Thank M1ghtymouse9999
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here over night en-route. Couldn't have asked for more! We were so well looked after from the moment we walked in to the moment we left. Absolutely will make this a stop over when in the area again.

Thank Sarah M
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely wee place for a break handy for visiting surrounding areas we went into hawick, Jedburgh and kelso . The horse and hound is a quaint wee place in bonchrster and the staff are lovely would recommend

Thank Margaret W
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Stayed one night on our way home from a few days in Scotland, even though the pub is being redecorated, everywhere was spotlessly clean, the food was yummy pub grub, the beds were comfy, we would highly recommend this lovely little pub.

2Thank Jobyr
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

The Horse and Hound is a lovely country inn. It's in a delightful location, and has lots of character. Currently being refurbished with a bright, comfortable lounge/dining room and traditional bar with original features. Breakfast was lovely and evening meals very nice. Drinks in the bar are reasonably priced. It's in a lovely scenic area of the Borders. Would love...

Thank Maureen W
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Booked last minute to stay on a Sunday night. Showed to our room by a very pleasant young lady called Holly. Our room though small was very clean and had everything we needed for our stay. The bathroom and shower were excellent. The evening meal was very disappointing my husband had hawian chicken which turned out to be chicken stuffed...

Thank kathersdunston
Newcastle, UK
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

The Horse and Hound is a cracking little place. We stayed here in August 2016 for one night and couldn't fault the place - the staff and regulars were lovely, the rooms spotless and the breakfast superb. They had a singer on that night and the atmosphere was fantastic. At only £3.30 for a pint of Stowford Press I was...

Thank angellea69
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We bought a deal from Itison - called to book and left 3 voicemails over 3 days and was never called back however on 4th attempt we finally got a call back. As this was a pub we decided to leave early and drive down to get lunch in the bar before we checked in.. Arrived at about 12.30 and...

Thank Legallyblonde7478
Management response:

We note your comments and responded to Itison two weeks ago. There appears to be some confusion to you as to what we are, as you state in your headline comment "do not book this hotel " but then call us "a pub" later. We are a country inn that has en-suite letting rooms, a bar and a restaurant not...

Alnwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Called in today for Sunday lunch.Menu very poor,several starters but only 2 mains,roast dinner or fish and chips.Beef or pork meat choices,mashed,roast or new potatoes and cauliflower cheese.Only one choice of potatoe to be picked.I chose beef and my partner chose pork.On arrival we were shocked with it, 2 pieces of roast beef palm sized,one Yorkshire pudding (Aunt besies I...

3Thank john c
Management response:

hi thank you for your comments it is a shame you did not mention your concerns at the time although on investigation the other ten people eating at the same time as you were very happy, i take on board what you have to say the meat is locally sourced from a nearby butchers and is usually very well received...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Got a deal to stay here through Groupon which advised that to stay more than the two nights offered contact the hotel direct, This we did and spoke to the owner Katherine, So got four nights BB for £31 per night for two people, This makes it UNBEATABLE VALUE ! Firstly, on driving down from Glasgow via Peebles - an...

1Thank sosaysBuccleuch

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (38)
View from Room (4)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Dining (1)
Bathroom (3)
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (6)
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawick
7.5 km away
Mansfield House Hotel
26.5 km away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
140 reviews
9.4 km away
Balcary House Hotel
Balcary House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Hawick
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Meadhon House
Meadhon House
#1 of 3 in Jedburgh
141 reviews
8.8 km away
Wiltonburn Farm
Wiltonburn Farm
#4 of 8 in Hawick
20 reviews
10.3 km away
Glenbank House Hotel
Glenbank House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jedburgh
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Horse and Hound Country Inn is a 300 year old Coaching Inn nestled in the heart of the Scottish Borders. Idea for all types of country pursuits as well as for walkers, cyclists and those just here to chill out and wander around the local Abbey towns. Our 9 en-suite bedrooms are decorated to a high standard with steam showers in some rooms. There is a spacious lounge bar and restaurant serving Traditional Scottish Pub Fayre using fresh local produce where available. The public bar with its roaring log fire is a great place to relax with a pint of real ale. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Horse and Hound Country Inn

Address: Bonchester Bridge, Hawick TD9 8JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Hawick
Price Range: €67 - €75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Horse and Hound Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Horse and Hound Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horse And Hound Country Hotel Hawick
Country Inn Hawick
Hawick Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Horse and Hound Country Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Horse and Hound Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we have had 2 different rooms. Both good. We take our dog, so worth asking for space for dog cage.”
soobysue, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Small hotel with a few rooms only, no further comment”
davidgeorgea, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“When going for your Breakfast, I hope your not in a Hurry !”
johnnyblue558, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Dont bother !!”
Legallyblonde7478, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with WIFI if you need it”
mrx1000, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5