We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ranald Hotel

855 reviews
Save
Traveller (119)
Room & Suite (117)
Dining (29)
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good30%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“baked eggs”(227 reviews)
“no lift”(86 reviews)
“compact room”(18 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
Pool
3.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (855)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for The Ranald Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
802 results
Traveller rating
437
242
89
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
437
242
89
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaked eggsno liftcompact roommetro hotelgrand roommodern hotelgreat wee hotelpower showerthird floorcentral locationferry terminalon street parkingsalmonbreakfast roomgreat showerhaggiscomfortable bed
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
41 - 45 of 802 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

We were traveling with 3 in our party. Finding a hotel room to accommodate is difficult. We booked the hotel in April and paid in full. When we arrived, the hotel had assigned us to a room for 2 only. The rest of the hotel...More

Thank epdoc
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Not a great hotel, but not terrible either. Rather drab grey interiors, with a college dormroom concrete brick motif. Service was a bit apathetic, but not unfriendly. Would have paid half the price and been much more satisfied, but I expect more when I pay...More

Thank DragonLlama
Reviewed 1 August 2017

This is a great compact hotel. Close to the centre of Oban. Great for a short stay. We had a small double very basic, wardrobe and two bedside cabinets on had tea/coffee facilities on it. Room was clean and very comfy beds. Shower room was...More

1  Thank cardiffmarsbar
Response from Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review of The Ranald Hotel. It is great to read such positive comments and I am so pleased you enjoyed our fresh breakfast selection. I will be sure to pass these comments on to our breakfast chef. Thanks again!

Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights and it was ideal. The location was close to everything we wanted to see. I would stay here again. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The menu was not huge but the food was great.The rooms were no big but very comfortable...More

1  Thank Kevin T
Response from Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass these comments on to our team! I do hope you can return in future, thanks again

Reviewed 19 July 2017

Its not a bad hotel, but its not a great hotel either, its average. No elevator, and a VERY small breakfast room. Our room faced a wall, but was very quiet. Some friends stayed in a room facing the street and it was noisy... Room...More

Thank Lonech
Response from Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for your review of the Ranald hotel. As we are a metro hotel our dining room is quite compact but we do try our best to accommodate everyone. Unfortunately we do not have enough room for an elevator in the hotel, however, our...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
17891011161
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$89 - US$214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$89 - US$214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (119)
Room & Suite (117)
Dining (29)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Michelle934
18 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Maureen B | Reviewed this property |
In the room we had there was no dressing table but there was a large mirror on the wall
0
Votes
scchisolm
24 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Steven S | Reviewed this property |
Believe not, so bring your own
0
Votes
PreviousNext
123
Room Tips
"If you want a view don’t take ground floor but please not there is no lift if you have a lot of luggage to..."
Read review
"Room 317, 3rd floor, nice & quiet."
Read review
"Superior rooms are well worth the extra."
Read review
"Ground floor rooms available for wheelchair access. No lift."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing