We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ranald Hotel

Save
Traveller (119)
Room & Suite (117)
Dining (29)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good31%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“baked eggs”(229 reviews)
“no lift”(87 reviews)
“compact room”(19 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
Pool
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (868)
There are newer reviews for The Ranald Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
813 results
Traveller rating
441
248
89
25
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
441
248
89
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaked eggsno liftcompact roommetro hotelgrand roommodern hotelgreat wee hotelpower showerthird floorferry terminalcentral locationbreakfast roomsmoked salmongreat showerhaggisstreet parkingcomfortable bed
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 813 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel is small but has avery friendly attmosphere, very clean and greatly located, this is our second stay. The only problem is that there are no lifts and depending on your level of fitness this could be a problem if your room is on...More

1  Thank Margaret C
Response from Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel here on TripAdvisor. Im glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and even came back for a second time. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back...More

Reviewed 3 March 2018

My partner booked us a few nights away in Oban and this was her choice of hotel, Previous reviews of it’s small, it’s pokey blah blah blah, Great wee hotel with nice rooms, comfy bed, cheery staff and super price, I loved it, the bar...More

Thank calumtodd
Response from Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you so much for your 5* review. Im delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here at The Ranald Hotel. We are in the process of making a brand new cocktail menu so you will need to come back and try it out...More

Reviewed 19 February 2018

We stayed in Oban for the night on the way up north and we certainly weren't disappointed by this lovely find. The hotel itself is stunningly decorated, very modern and cosy. The room i felt was very large; superb value for money. All of the...More

Thank Sarah Charley A
Response from Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 1 March 2018

Thank you so much for your 5* review. Im delighted to read your lovely positive comments and I cant wait to pass them onto our team. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

A TripAdvisor Member
3620
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Well done to the Ranald, a hotel who kept that things simple but did all the right things really well. Their customer service was excellent and the location great. The rooms were fairly small but clean. Breakfast was also also good- try the baked eggs...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Response from Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 1 March 2018

Thank you very much for your fabulous review. Im so happy to hear you really enjoyed your stay hear at the Ranald Hotel and I will make sure to pass your comments onto the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back...More

Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

The rooms were quite small. Scrambled eggs were inedible which was disappointing. The fruit and yogurt was lovely. Staff were lovely however stated that the hotel bar would be open until 11pm. They called last orders around 9.30.

Thank Glasgow3138
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Oban, United Kingdom
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$125 - US$264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$125 - US$264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (119)
Room & Suite (117)
Dining (29)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
setterboy
18 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Nicola M | Property representative |
Unfortunately we don't allow pets in the hotel. However we can allow assistance dogs.
1
Vote
Michelle934
18 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Maureen B | Reviewed this property |
In the room we had there was no dressing table but there was a large mirror on the wall
0
Votes
scchisolm
24 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Steven S | Reviewed this property |
Believe not, so bring your own
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Request a lower room in writing if you have mobility / health problems"
Read review
"Any room at the front of the hotel"
Read review
"If you want a view don’t take ground floor but please not there is no lift if you have a lot of luggage to..."
Read review
"Room 317, 3rd floor, nice & quiet."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing