We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tanglin B&B

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Tanglin B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 33: English reviews
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I had a single room at the top of the house with a shared shower room. Eilidh was so kind and helpful as my ferry the following day was cancelled. I was able to park my car safely at the back of the property. I had not booked breakfast and had to be at ferry for 6am to see what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

We think this Inn has a lot of potential. The innkeeper seems to be trying very hard and for 60 pounds with private parking it is a great value given it's location. The continental breakfast was a do it yourself and was more than enough. The inn has character appeared clean and just needs a little tweaking here and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chadz52
e b, Owner at Tanglin B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. hope fully you will be back some other time to see the improvements.

Erskine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Had a great night at this b&b. Stayed for 1 night with my partner and 2 daughters, room was lovely and the bed was sooo comfy, would definitly return if in oban again, would highly recommend staying here!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
Edmond, Oklahoma
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Many thanks to Eilidh, new owner of Tanglin B & Bin in Oban, Scotland... She went out of her way to work through some complications we had due to car trouble, and saved us a bright, delightfully airy room. Eilidh also had great restaurant recommendations and insider tips on what to see in our brief stay in lovely Oban. If...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabeth W
Chicago, IL
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

Please note the B&B is under new ownership ... And they are off to a SLOW start. (Suffice to say we weren't impressed.). We saw the owners once - at check in. No way to reach them with questions or issues. We were asked via note to leave cash and the keys in the room when we left. Everything is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bk_in_chgo03
e b, Owner at Tanglin B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property now that it is under new ownership but considering you booked with the previous owners I think most of the comments you have made relate to them. We have honoured all their bookings and I did email you regarding the room saying that it was a shared bathroom as they...

Tauranga
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Never saw the owner, left message on the door to leave cash in an envelope ( £88). Rooms tired and shabby. Shower not working properly, bath out of order. Had to help ourselves to breakfast, no cooked breakfast, told if you want a cooked breakfast go to cafe down the road who will give you 10% off the price. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SAF54321
e b, Owner at Tanglin B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. You never met me due to the fact you arrived outwith our reception times and never bothered to call to arrange this and left early in the morning before I got back in from dropping my child off at nursery. Breakfast is as advertised on the site you booked...

Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015

New owners had taken over that day they own the Cameron Guest house next door so e ery thing was an effort we had to pay extra for breakfast which was to be continental and self service not what was on booking .com. we were asked to pay in cash before we even saw rooms and as we did not...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Fiona B
e b, Owner at Tanglin B&B, responded to this review

Thank you Fiona B for taking the time to write a review. Yes we are new owners of Tanglin and it was no effort for me to meet you as this is what we are used to doing, I enjoy meeting all our guests that stay with us. However as soon as I opened the door to yourself I knew...

Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed 2 June 2015

My sister and I had room 1 which had 2 twin beds. This B&B is in a good location for walking to restaurants. There is free parking available. Breakfast was delicious, but I missed the yogert that was sometimes available at other B&Bs. The UK doesn't allow outlets in the bathrooms so it is important that there is a mirror...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Inger N
Long Island, New York
Reviewed 3 December 2014

This was a wonderful, comfortable inn that provided us with not only an exceptionally comfortable room but also a great breakfast and great conversations. We highly recommend this to all! The accommodations were first rate!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Minted3
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here on Sunday night, arrived with the motorbike soaked through. Liz and Jim were kind enough to dry our biking gear for us in their garage. Really nice room and lovey breakfast. Would definitely recommend a stay at this lovely b and b.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oakergill

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 km away
Cameron Guesthouse
Cameron Guesthouse
#53 of 99 in Oban
55 reviews
0.1 km away
Ayres Guest House
Ayres Guest House
#51 of 99 in Oban
110 reviews
0.2 km away
Sutherland Hotel
Sutherland Hotel
#26 of 99 in Oban
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Don Muir Guest House
Don Muir Guest House
#22 of 99 in Oban
96 reviews
0.1 km away
Hawthornbank Guest House
1.4 km away
Glenview Guest House
Glenview Guest House
#79 of 99 in Oban
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Privately owned and run by Jim and Liz Montgomery for 18 years. This B&B has a friendly informal atmosphere as recommended by Rick Steves, American Tour Guide. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tanglin B&B

Address: 3 Breadalbane St, Oban PA34 5PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: €55 - €138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tanglin B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanglin Hotel Oban
Tanglin Bed And Breakfast
Tanglin B&B Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tanglin B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Forget it.”
 of 5 bubbles SAF54321, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Not one till upgraded”
 of 5 bubbles 504fionab, 19 Jul 2015 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay