We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Regent Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Regent Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

965 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Regent Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 873: English reviews
Inverkeithing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This will be a very small review as I don't feel that listing all the little faults will help anyone, simple truth is, this hotel is probably 20yrs past its sell by date! The rooms, the decor, interior and exterior are beyond needing a tidy up, this place needs shut down and completely refurbished. In fairness the staff were helpful,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank todd01631
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Let,s get the negatives put of the way the hotel is very tired and badly needing a makeover however fabulous staff who are so attentive and helpful; Had 2 breakfast's and dinner during stay food and service from dining room excellent . we had top floor seaview room ..roòm very dated but functional and super comfy bed hotel is in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the hotel is art deco style but a bit down at heel - I suppose it might be listed so the window frames have not been change - single glazed with metal frames - not at all suited for the temperatures we get in Scotland. We stayed for two night - first night with dinner which was underwhelming to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Fiona M
Glasgow
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel on a voucher deal which cost us £59 for dinner, bed and breakfast including a bottle of wine. At this price we were not expecting much. The hotel could certainly do with quite a bit of investment. The bedroom was small but functional. The bathroom was also small with a shower cabinet which once...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NeilstonTravellers32
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with girlfriend on weekend trip to Oban.  Had a nice sized room and was fine for our needs, decent decor & bed too. We had dinner 1 night in the hotel and was very enjoyable, with us having a full 3 course. With a yellow pea soup, roast chicken x2 and then baked apple with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Graham L
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor. Thank you for such a kind review, we are very happy that you found your stay so enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the not to distant future. Thank you again Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at...

Reviewed 13 March 2017

My partner and were just looking for a place to stay while we spent the weekend having our seafood fix. Special on 5pm which was £89 2 nights B&B and 1 night dinner. For this price is should get a good rating but anything more I would have been more hesitant. It was generally clean but tatty. We must have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review

I was very concerned to have received your comments and would like to offer my genuine apologies to you for such a disappointing stay. I was concerned to read that you had several issues with your room that you were allocated. I have reported all the shortfalls to our maintaince and housekeeping team who have now rectified the situation and...

lesmahagow
Reviewed 13 March 2017

we stayed here on 9/10 march hotel a bit outdated room reasonable clean but most uncomfortable bed badly worn with springs digging in hips good breakfast but dinner average sorry but wont be back maybe a front room would be better

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 147mamie
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review

I was very concerned to have received your comments and would like to offer my genuine apologies to you for such a disappointing stay. I was concerned to read that you had several issues with your room that you were allocated. I have reported all the shortfalls to our maintaince and housekeeping team who have now rectified the situation and...

Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

obviously for the price you dont expect any frills but I can't give any more than two stars due to the noise. I was on the first floor and was woken up to shouting, clattering and banging from the Street and so much noise for either the room above or below, or both at 6am. The dinner was also pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank samDMoT
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review

I was very concerned to have received your comments and would like to offer my genuine apologies to you for such a disappointing stay. I was concerned to read that you had several issues with your room that you were allocated. I have reported all the shortfalls to our maintenance and housekeeping team who have now rectified the situation and...

Airdrie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Booked this hotel through '5pm.com'. Thought this would be a great weekend to Oban but the hotel was a disappointment. The woman on reception was grumpy when we first came in to the hotel to ask where we could park, as the hotel does not have a car park! Hotel room was situated on the third floor on the left...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jemima1988
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review

I was very concerned to have received your comments and would like to offer my genuine apologies to you for such a disappointing stay. I was concerned to read that you had several issues with your room that you were allocated. I have reported all the shortfalls to our maintaince and housekeeping team who have now rectified the situation and...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Booked this break thru an agency - staying for 2 nights bed and breakfast, with dinner and a glass of wine on the first night. Excellent location, on the sea front. Our room was on the small side, but was clean and tidy. We were on 5th floor so water pressure in bathroom was poor. Food was very good -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie G
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor. Thank you for such a kind review, we are very happy that you found your stay so enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the not to distant future. Thank you again Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at...

350 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (347)
Viewed
Bathroom (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (131)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An Art Deco hotel, The Regent is located on the Esplanade of Oban, opposite the pier. Just a few minutes walk from the town centre, the dramatic views across the sea to the distant islands will captivate guests upon arrival. The restaurant offers a choice of table d’hote or à la carte menus both of which utilise the best of local produce and our bedrooms offer magnificent views across Oban Bay. Local attractions in the area include visits to the sacred isle of Iona, trips to Mull and the opportunity to take a boat ride to the local seal colony, making the hotel ideal for your leisure break. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: €51 - €123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Oban, Scotland
Regent Oban
Oban Regent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Regent Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
lesmahagow
1 month ago
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
over a year ago
East Lothian
over a year ago
Mansfield, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Regent Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Tip: Wild camp rather than here,pick the seaview rooms on the front, rear rooms overlooks bins and a noisy airconditioning over a takeaway”
  • door frame in bathroom
  • table in room
  • window latch won’t shut + disgusting
  • Discussing bed sheets, I slept with my clothes on
  • top of shower, not Furnished well at all!
  • stained curtains
  • top of frame in bathroom
  • Old caravan style shower dint even dare use, full of rust
853jman, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't book in there until it's upgraded.”
I2947CVanneh, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ideal for workmen having to come into the area, good price for them to keep the costs low ,”
williamt134, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you can request a room at the front.”
bjrankine1957, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sea view room is certainly worth considering”
456philipm, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5