We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

843 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 787: English reviews
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2016

This was a overnight stay to celebrate my husband and I being together 30 yrs on valentines day the hotel was fantastic the staff were great also food was superb the only thing was our floor boards were very squeaky and every time i turned in bed it was noisy and it woke me up but on the up superb...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fantastic comments about our hotel. We are pleased that you found the staff very pleasant and welcoming and the great food accompanied by excellent service. Can we just add a belated congratulations on your 30th wedding anniversary and hopefully welcome you back for many more anniversaries.

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Welcoming, helpful staff and good food made this weekend memorable. This is an old, town centre hotel with slight dilapidation in some areas but my room and modern en suite were spotlessly clean and well furnished. Saturday night live entertainment noise extended two floors up to my room but this was not unexpected. I parked for free about 500m away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KIRSTEN P
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on the Royal Hotel. I was happy to read that you were impressed by the quality of the rooms and that the staff were very helpful and helped make your sat more memorable . We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

This is an older hotel which has clearly seen better days. The old floor boards are noisy, the plumbing is very noisy and the tribute band on our last night was very very noisy, compounded by too many people going back to rooms shouting and swearing. One wall in my room was paper thin so everything in the adjoining room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Examiner2010
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on the 13th February 2016. It is a very busy central hotel with limited parking. The hotel is very close to nearby restaurants and the town centre. Friendly staff and very grand staircase. Unfortunately, the bedroom was quite small, with a small bed and the decor needs updating. Otherwise a comfortable stay with a very good buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the very realistic and kind review of your recent visit to the Royal Hotel. We are indeed in the process of both modernising certain aspects of the Hotel – our Wi-Fi for example – and restoring the faded grandeur of other areas of the Hotel. I am glad that you had a pleasant time, and...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

This was our second time staying at the royal hotel. Return trip was just as good at our first. Location excellent very central in oban. Also near to local transport. Staff helpful especially the young lady on reception so friendly. Food great. We had breakfast but also got food in the bar. Absolutely delicious and good value for money. Guests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdoug62
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for posting such a kind review of your recent stay at the Royal Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit. I will share your praise with all of the staff and hope to see you return to the Royal in the future

Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Group of seven friends taking a break away all enjoyed facilities and accommodation. Breakfasts are full of variety and portions are generous. Porridge is excellent! Hotel is well located for coffee shops, restaurants and pubs. Town centre amenities are all close by. Would happily return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen_Glen
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on the Royal Hotel. It is always great to receive such a nice review and I will take great pleasure passing on to the team your kind words about how friendly and polite they were and that you found the breakfast enjoyable especially the porridge We hope to see you...

Aberdeen
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

I have to say I have stayed in this hotel many times over the last 7 years. This visit did not empress. They had issues with the bar kitchen and could not serve food. So it was left to having the coach party menu. One word to describe it is pathetic !!!! Will not be returning unless things are reported...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Highlander6769
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Thank you for your recent review. I appreciate that you have felt the need to air your thoughts on-line and not communicate with the hotel or management direct. We did have an issue with our extraction unit in our downstairs kitchen on Monday for 24 hours which has been rectified. This issue was out of the control...

Wairarapa, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 February 2016

My 2nd hotel on my trip with my Chinese girlfriend, Parking can be a problem so get there early. Told WiFi in bar only, but we did get some WiFi in room to. Breakfast was incredible lots to eat, lots of choice from fresh fruit to Scottish fare. Staff attentive and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank highlander9122
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Nice hotel close to everything in a small city (rail-boat) Rooms small but clean in tartan style. Ask for seasideroom. No internet apart from the bar where you can sit and do some work. Restaurant that could be better heated in winter, even the service could have been warmer.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kas2356
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

Great location right in the heart of Oban, this hotel exudes personality that only an independent can do. Reminiscent of Fawlty Towers (but in a good way!) it's quirky and different. The staff really made our stay fantastic. So friendly and they bent over backwards to accommodate us. A special mention to Jonathon the night porter who is a top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mwalker56

171 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (155)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
1.0 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 12 in Oban
1,594 reviews
0.1 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 12 in Oban
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 12 in Oban
977 reviews
0.4 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#12 of 12 in Oban
921 reviews
7.2 km away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Royal Hotel Restaurant
The Royal Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Argyll Square, Oban PA34 4BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: €66 - €199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
5 days ago
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
3 months ago
6 months ago
6 months ago
6 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors are quieter, but get a harbour view”
 of 5 bubbles babs1422, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on the fourth floor and were able to use the stairs although there is a lift.”
 of 5 bubbles angelarom2017, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“one facing Argyle Square”
 of 5 bubbles davyw92, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“offer cash to the right person. only kidding'”
 of 5 bubbles 115Tourist, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try for a room with a quiet bed.”
  • View from the room
 of 5 bubbles GerryUK1947, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay