We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Great Western Hotel

Save
Traveller (256)
Room & Suite (89)
Storyboard
You may also like
Nearby
Ratings and reviews
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good45%
  • Average17%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“dining room”(81 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Internet
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
Pool
Airport Transportation
Room Service
Suites
Fitness centre
Kitchenette
Concierge
3 Star Hotel
In a prime location, right in the centre of the curving esplanade, just a pleasant walk from the shops and harbour, stands Oban's Great Western; a hotel proud of offering space and comfort, as well as magnificent views of the bay (remember to look out for those memorable sunsets...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PP, Scotland
Hotel website
6.9 km to Oban Airfield
47 restaurants are within a 0.5 km radius
View nearby attractions and restaurants
You may also like
Nearby
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (807)
Filter reviews
796 results
Traveller rating
209
342
141
46
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
209
342
141
46
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational holidaysshearings holidaydining roomsea viewpremier roomself driveentertainment every nightcoach driverhalf boardbar pricesgreat holidayplenty of hot watereach eveningrestaurant staffsea frontlong weekendan upgrade
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 796 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

Was booked here from 13-15 July but only lasted an hour. Hotel smells and the corridors were dirty and riddled with damp. Toilet pan in room was stained so bad. Towels very dirty and stained. Room felt like a prison cell it was so sparse....More

Thank annmckenzie
Reviewed today via mobile

Just returned after a weeks break at this hotel we had a superior room the view was breathtaking,the room was very spacious but really disappointed with the VERY small shower room. Meals were fine,5* for the chef his presentation was outstanding. Staff were very pleasant....More

Thank Tonet2414
Reviewed 5 days ago

Great spacious room with big windows over looking the bay. The location was ideal and all staff members were extrmley welcoming and pleasant. Breakfast finished at 9am which I though was quite early for a Sunday and checkout was 10am, again too early; saying that...More

Thank scottishGlasgow
Response from Melise B, Manager at Bay Great Western HotelResponded 4 days ago

Hello scottishGlasgow, Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am pleased you enjoyed your short break with us. Kind regards, Melise

Reviewed 5 days ago

Good location in front of the sea,we had a very big room ,in the third floor... Only one lift in this hotel ,so in the rush hours you have to wait. The breakfast at 8 o clock semms very late for us. There were 2...More

Thank Suzy G
Response from Melise B, Manager at Bay Great Western HotelResponded 4 days ago

Hi Suzy G, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were blessed with the great weather we all enjoyed recently. We can provide an earlier continental breakfast on request if you require. The bedrooms do get warm if we experience hot weather...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really good value for money. .Hotel clean and food was amazing. The small town of Oban was interesting and an ideal base for our discovery of the Argyle and Bute area . lovely scenery and amazing road trip through the Highlands.More

Thank Janice S
Response from Melise B, Manager at Bay Great Western HotelResponded 4 days ago

Hello Janice S, I do agree that we are good value for money. I also agree that we are great base to explore Argyll and of course there is plenty to do within Oban itself if you don't fancy venturing out. Hope to see you...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Oban
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$123 - US$170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$123 - US$170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (256)
Room & Suite (89)
Dining (13)
Pool & Beach (8)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sue H
1 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Melise B | Property representative |
Hi Sue, Yes, room 100 and 102 are adjacent on the first floor main corridor. Kind regards, Melise
1
Vote
Barbara O
9 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Melise B | Property representative |
Hello, SP means Standard Plus. All of our standard plus rooms are of modern decor with a little more room in the bedroom than standard rooms. Kind regards, Melise
0
Votes
Barbara O
9 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Johnny S | Reviewed this property |
We stayed in a front facing seaview room and it was one of the newly renovated ones. Very modern and we slept like logs, and the view was amazing (especially the sunset). Our room was number 303, ask for that one if you... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"We did not have a sea view but there is a lift and room was quiet,"
Read review
"Room with sea views"
Read review
"Sea view rooms available for a small charge per person per night for 1st time tavelers worth booking"
Read review
"Ask for a sea view when booking ."