We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sgeir Mhaol Guest House

  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Save
Apr 2 Apr 3
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in ObanSee available hotels in Oban
Soroba Road, Oban PA34 4JF, Scotland
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}
    {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    All reviews b b stayed here for one night a great stay twin wee
    Reviewed 18 September 2016

    Ishbell was very welcoming and pleasant. Room only which is great value and the room was comfortable and very clean. Ample tea, coffee, toiletries, breakfast bars and fruit. Ishbell very accommodating with a small problem which arose. I would go back if passing through Oban...More

    Helpful?1
    Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House

    Thankyou so much for your kind review,it makes it so worth while when guests enjoy their stay with me at Sgeir Mhaol.Hoping you enjoyed your week on Iona and the weather was kind to you and your friends. Again many thanks, kindest regards, Ishbell

    Reviewed 5 August 2016

    Sgeir mhaol is relatively clean n tidy but beware the so called landlady ishbell is friendly when taking your money but when a problem occurs even how minor the problem is she completely flies off the handle and is extremely rude and arrogant she does...More

    Helpful?4
    Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House

    Thankyou for your review on Sgeirmhaol. Thankyou that you found sgeirmhaol 'relatively clean !!!!! and tidy,if the room was not up to your standards why didnt you come and tell this instead of all on tripadvisor !!! I did take your money pressuming you were...More

    Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

    Stayed here for one night recently. While the room was clean and comfortable I found the guest house owner to be extremely rude and unprofessional. This made for an uncomfortable stay. I have travelled extensively and stayed in many guest houses in Scotland. I can...More

    Helpful?4
    Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House

    Thankyou for review on SgeirMhaol. Thankyou for stating that your room was clean and comfortable as ALL rooms are at Sgeirmhaol. You had a problem with the lock on your door as in that the spring had broken,however as much as I am very capable...More

    Reviewed 3 July 2016

    First of all I want to emphasize, that this is my first Tripadvisor review and I usually don’t do reviews. But after our experience in the Sgeir Mhaol Guest House I felt I need to do it to prevent others having the same one. I...More

    Helpful?3
    Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House

    Firstly may I say I NEVER ask guests in to my home or would ever ask them to view correspondance between us. The customer is always right even when wrong ! Secondly..I omitted to e-mail you to inform you that due to ill health I...More

    Reviewed 1 June 2016

    I had a great stay at the Sgeir Mhaol, Ishbell (the owner) was friendly and very accommodating! As I was on placement, I stayed for 5 weeks and experienced continual high standards. My room was furnished very well with plenty of fresh towels, tea and...More

    Helpful?0
    Response from 742eeshee55, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House

    Sylvia, thankyou so much for your lovely review.It was lovely having you here for 5 weeks,that went past quickly didnt it.Hope everything goes well for you and may see you back here soon, Ishbell

    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Internet
    • Free Parking
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    Photos
    Hotel & Grounds (4)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby
    Nearby Restaurants
    Oban Seafood Hut
    1,181 reviews
    .81 km away
    The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant
    2,166 reviews
    .79 km away
    George Street Fish Restaurant & Chip Shop
    594 reviews
    .82 km away
    The Lorne Bar
    397 reviews
    .78 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Caledonian MacBrayne - Oban Day Trips
    375 reviews
    .79 km away
    McCaig's Tower
    1,784 reviews
    1.07 km away
    Oban War & Peace Museum
    557 reviews
    1.12 km away
    Dunstaffnage Castle & Chapel
    362 reviews
    .45 km away
    Questions & AnswersAsk a question
    Anne C
    Do you have Wi-Fi? Thanks.
    15 May 2015|
    Answer
    Response from | Property representative |
    Hi yes we have wifi in our rooms
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "All ground floor. Not a luxury B and B, room only, but very good value. Welcoming, very clean and comfortable."
    563jenny, 6 months agoRead review
    "Handy for ferry terminale"
    Ian M, over a year agoRead review
    "only stayed the night couldn't fault anything"
    carol r, over a year agoRead review
    "Room 4 (A Double bed,) for me was quiet enough for a good nights sleep,! Exellent wi fi"
    englishben_uk, over a year agoRead review
    "Not all rooms are ensuite - must check."
    LakeONsailor, over a year agoRead review
    "No 4 is my fave room <3"
    hannah c, over a year agoRead review
    "All rooms are equally comfy and cosy."
    Phillylova, over a year agoRead review
    Similar nearby hotels
    Oban Bay Hotel
    BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
    Lochnell Arms Hotel