We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

St. Anne's Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
St. Anne\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for St. Anne's Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 43: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Stayed at St. Anne's on a recent business trip to Oban. First of all, it's not a good B&B. The whole place is tatty and mismatched. The curtains in our room were falling off, door knobs on furniture were missing, plug sockets were inexplicably difficult to get to. But all this pales in comparison when you get to meet the... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Marc G
Arbour G, Manager at St. Anne's Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry you were not happy with your stay. St Annes is a Victorian house and we like to think the decor is homely and comfortable. We were wondering why you had to 'enquire ' about breakfast, as all breakfast options are fully discussed at check in. It seems unlikely that any of the family would respond... More 

Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2015 via mobile

Well St Anne's is bad. It's almost as if the owners know it's bad ...and how could anyone running a bnb seriously not when its in this shape! - wallpaper hanging off the walls in room -decor is horrendous - bed solid along with pillows -TV at such an angle in the room you can barely see it from bed... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank greig_jacko

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is the worst B&B I have ever stayed in. The worst value for money by far. £63.00 per night with no breakfast included and without on-suite shower or lavatory. All the plugs were blown in the room so I could not charge my phone or camera batteries. When I politely went to speak to the manager on the first... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Moneypenny T
Arbour G, Manager at St. Anne's Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry you were not completely happy with your stay at St Annes. You say that you stayed for 4 nights, so I am assuming that you managed to get the plugs to work? No member of staff or manager was made aware of a problem with the plugs, and had anyone been made aware of the... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Oban is such a beautiful little town and me and my friend recently had a lovely weekend away drawing in the port and surrounding area. Unfortunately our trip was let down by our awful experience of St Anne's guest house. I'm not one to normally complain but felt I had to write a review to save anyone else from ruining... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank UnhappyGuest88
Arbour G, Owner at St. Anne's Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry you were not happy with your stay at St Annes. In August we are very busy as it is High Season in Oban. It is likely that the reception staff were showing other customers to their rooms when you arrived. I am sure you were not kept waiting long. We use a nationwide Laundry service... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Shower broke in en-suite room, alternative bathroom the preserve of other rooms, asked for help, manager not around. Checked-out unshowered but went back to speak to manager Elaine who wouldn't give any compensation let alone an apology. Just in case you need help to identify Elaine in case she is hiding away in the back or 'at other properties', she... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Ian1981ScotBrit
Arbour G, Owner at St. Anne's Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, your comments are not unexpected as you mentioned, loudly, several times that you were going to post a negative review on trip advisor if we did not refund your money because you could not get the ensuite shower to work. We may have been tempted to offer some compensation if it were not for the bully boy tactics... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

After reading a number of reviews we were rather looking forward to meeting Basil Fawlty. The reality was: no problems checking in or out, a clean warm room with all you need and a reasonable service from staff members. On the whole, certainly better than you'd expect for the cost. Parking not far away, it did cost a little money... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Roger S
Arbour G, Owner at St. Anne's Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you far placing a well balanced sane review! Quite a rarity on Trip Advisor. Most reviewers seem to use the forum for a good old vent, rather than a balanced view of a reasonable service. We do strive to offer a reasonable stay for a reasonable price, and we are very happy that you were happy with... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed at this guest house for a few days at the beginning of July. I found it very good value for money with parking only 50 meters away which is a plus. Good luck trying to find some where else in Oban for this rate and value for money. Plus a Irish bar with live music just around the corner.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ruari4997
Arbour G, Owner at St. Anne's Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We always aim to offer value for money, and check our prices frequently to make sure we are among the the cheapest online. Parking is free overnight, which most guests appreciate, as you did. Regards St Annes More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

What an enormous disappointment this Guest House is and the only thing we can say about it is that it was clean. They advertise a full Scottish Breakfast, which is anything but as we were offered only cereal. If you make the mistake of staying here, make sure to bring your own soap, shampoo, conditioner and TV remote control. If... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Drkinsey
Arbour G, Owner at St. Anne's Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments. We are happy you recognised our efforts at cleanliness.We do advertise a Full Scottish breakfast, but it has to be booked in advance. Usually when guests arrive. We do not include a breakfast in the room price as many of our guests are leaving very early for morning ferries and do not wish... More 

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with my partner, the owner has a few other business' in Oban! Not the friendliest person, certainly no phone manner and finds it acceptable to barge into your room in the morning to ask you to check out!! Anyway the room was ok, pretty small but clean enough! Woken up through the night by other... More 

Helpful?
Thank jo b
Arbour G, Owner at St. Anne's Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are sorry you were not completely happy with your stay. We must have been doing something right because you booked for an extra night! We are sorry you were disturbed while you were still sleeping. This was a mistake because we thought you had checked out and the room was empty. To be fair, it was almost... More 

Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I write this review given the criteria that we were traveling through Oban for a night, and quite simply looking for somewhere friendly, clean, quiet to put our heads down. On arrival we phoned the number displayed and within 10 mins had the key and were out in Oban. Aileen (sp?) was very helpful. The room is on the small... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank CarlFrog
Arbour G, Owner at St. Anne's Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review. We are very happy you appreciated our efforts. Thank you very much. Best Regards The St Annes Team :) More 

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
6.7 km away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
414 reviews
1.6 km away
Glenview Guest House
Glenview Guest House
#79 of 99 in Oban
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Tanglin B&B
Tanglin B&B
#84 of 99 in Oban
38 reviews
0.3 km away
Glengorm Guest House
Glengorm Guest House
#89 of 99 in Oban
32 reviews
0.3 km away
Corran House
Corran House
#19 of 99 in Oban
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
St Annes Guest House accommodation in Oban offers high quality accommodation at a reasonable price. Each year we enjoy welcoming visitors from around the world who come to experience for themselves the magical, dramatic beauty of Oban and the Argyll coast, the ancient seat of the Kings of Scotland which is not only steeped in history, beautiful scenery and great culinary delights, but has leisure pursuits and entertainment to suit all tastes. St Annes is a Victorian Town House built in 1880 and has large airy rooms which retain many of the original Victorian features. St Annes is very close to the Town Centre and many local amenities are close by. The Atlantis Leisure Centre, The Corran Halls,Tennis Courts, McCaigs Tower, the Cathedral and local Cinema are all within easy walking distance. We are also conveniently situated for buses,trains and ferries. Parking is available in the street, and the pay and display car park at the end of the road which is free between 6pm and 9am. The Guest House has seven letting rooms, all comfortably furnished, with colour T.V. And complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St. Anne's Guest House

Address: St. Annes 6 Victoria Place Dunollie Road | Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: €50 - €85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your St. Anne's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Anne's Guest House Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St. Anne's Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from St. Anne's Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid this Guest house!”
 of 5 bubbles K2438DTsusanc, 23 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Avoid any room that includes the shared bathroom on first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles vivekgokarn, 29 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Always try to book well in advance to get a good value for money deal and the sort of room which suits you.”
 of 5 bubbles MoneypennyT, 25 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Definitely not room 1 but to be honest don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles UnhappyGuest88, 24 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Room 5 can sleep up to 3 with a private bathroom and at the time of writing look very recently renovated.”
 of 5 bubbles CarlFrog, 2 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay