We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Aberdeen Youth Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Aberdeen Youth Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 62: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Let me just say this. I stayed in a room with 8 bed dorm and only 2 plugs for all the dorm. The breakfast was quite poor and the toast were from frozen bread, how I know it because the sides of my toast were still wet...ya a toast. I wont stay here again for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.We are contionously looking at ways to improve our service and value your feedback. We will look into the points you have raised and discuss them with the team. Regards Dan

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

It's quite a small place however it has all the facilities you need, from a full kitchen and dining area to bathrooms with showers, laundry facilities, internet and computers and even a quiet room filled with books and board games. I've stayed there twice, each time staying as long as a week and each time being pleasantly greeted and assisted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tandkucuk
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi tandkucuk, Thanks for taking the time to review our Aberdeen hostel following your recent stay with us. Its great to see you had a good experience again and we hope to welcome you back soon,I will pass on your kind words to the team Regards Dan

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Aberdeen SYHA is in a nice district with mostly financial/service firm located in surround. Bus X17 and 11 both link it with city centre. I share a clean room with 3 other ladies, though the room is a bit cold. All facilities are in good condition, but there might be insects in the loo. Kitchen is quite clean, and that's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelanieZhang
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi MelanieZhang Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel,Im pleased to see overall you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Dan

Aviemore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Beautiful area, beautiful building, in desperate need of renovation. Generally smell of drains throughout. Clientele is primarily fat, alcoholic, old men looking for work/claiming benefits and snoring/farting the night away. Kitchen is well equipped and clean. Try Ibis hotel in centre of town £50 most nights. Enjoy.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank p S
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi p S, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us, As with all accommodation providers we do get a variety of guests staying with us who are travelling around our beautiful country. We will investigate the points you have raised. Regards Dan

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed here never having been in a youth hotel ever! I was very impressed. The rooms were lovely and clean, I stayed in more than one room as I'd amended my booking and the same room hadn't been available for my first night, but no problem there. The guys stored my bags until the room was ready then helped...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SJC1964
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi SJC1964 Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.Its great to see you had a wonderful time and I will pass on your kind words to our hardworking staff there. We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Very well run, clean youth hostel, very competitive prices. 5 minutes from the City centre, can really recommend this. Some free parking available, lovely wide street in a residential area where buildings are all made of granite.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret K
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

HI Margaret K Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us,Its great ot see you had a good time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Dan

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Hands down the worst place we (fam of 5) stayed in during our Scotland trip. My god, we told the kids to keep their shoes on in the room as the carpet was that dirty. The toilet in the hallway reminded me of my student dorm situation - not good, believe me. We were on the 4th floor, no elevator...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Olaf P
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

HI Olaf P, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us. Its quite clear from your review your experience was not a good one and would appreciate it if you could contact me directly to discuss these issues further on hopman@syah.org.uk . Regards Dan

Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

If you cannot live without WiFi and a lift to get you to the first floor, avoid the place. If you can live with a peaceful, clean, well organized, well thought, well looked after place, this is for you. A lot of common space, impressive kitchen, TV room, lounge, all nice and comfortable. Only little thing missing : individual lights...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annie B
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

hi Annie B Thanks for taking the time to review our Hostel following your recent stay with us. Its great to see you had a good time and we have noted your comments regarding Wi-Fi it is something we are constantly trying to improve and value your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan

Fraserburgh
Reviewed 19 June 2016

This was our first experience of a youth hostel and we were delighted at what we found. We had an en-suite room and found it most acceptable. We are likely to use this place again as it is low priced and fits the bill for exactly what we need, i.e. a clean, well kept budget room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anhamast
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Anhamast, Thanks fore taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us,Its great to see you had a good time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Dan

Reviewed 13 June 2016

We were pleasantly surprised with our 2 night stay in Aberdeen youth hostel. We had a private room with a sink. Showers and toilet facilities were just next to the room and always clean. There was very little noise during the night, my only complaint was that the room was a little too hot. We took advantage of the free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarrieFlyer
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi CarrieFlyer, Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay with us,Its great to see you had a good time and we hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Dan

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.7 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
1.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
1.0 km away
Skene House Holburn
Skene House Holburn
#14 of 62 in Aberdeen
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Atholl Hotel
Atholl Hotel
#15 of 62 in Aberdeen
340 reviews
0.4 km away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#12 of 62 in Aberdeen
295 reviews
0.4 km away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#19 of 62 in Aberdeen
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our great value hostel is set in a historic building packed full of character, and has good facilities including family rooms. Aberdeen is a beautiful city, with easy access to the countryside, fishing, golf and pony trekking. City based attractions include cinema, concerts and the arts. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aberdeen Youth Hostel

Address: 8 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4ZT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range: €23 - €52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Youth Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aberdeen Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Youth Hostel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aberdeen Youth Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Run, run and keep running”
 of 5 bubbles 893olafp, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Single room was great for solo traceller”
 of 5 bubbles JudiC_adel, 10 Oct 2015 | Read review
“the best rooms are the ones at the building front, where wifi sometimes works.”
 of 5 bubbles Morag_Sea, 18 Jul 2015 | Read review
“You will do lots of walking up flights of stairs for the women's dorms.”
 of 5 bubbles TartanCat57, 11 Jul 2015 | Read review
“None, dont do it”
 of 5 bubbles hugdavliv, 14 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay