We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Share
Traveller (133)
Room & Suite (201)
Dining (40)
Overview
Stirling Street Merchant Quarter, Aberdeen AB11 6JU Scotland See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
4 Star accommodation
Reviews (734)
Filter reviews
707 results
Traveller rating
203
193
131
98
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
203
193
131
98
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese suiteantique suitefour poster bedquirky hotelroll top bathsingle roomcentral locationunion squarelovely roomstayed here for one nightjengaplugsscotland
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 707 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

This is a good hotel with well appointed rooms. It's located in the centre of the city and although hotel parking is available, the cost is prohibitive. The staff are excellent and the food above average. Our main criticism is the absence of double glazed...More

Thank Area21a
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked our room well in advance as we were attending a wedding. Room was not as we had expected as we had booked a larger room and were disappointed. Worse was to come. I had a terrible nights sleep as the noise from a...More

Thank 29hello123
Response from GAaberdeen, Owner at CarmeliteResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments which I find disappointing as we could have moved your room in this circumstance. Or rooms are priced by their size and type, and I am unable to comment whether you were allocated the correct room type without more information....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As our room wasnt ready when we arrived at the hotel we were offered complimentary coffees and a drink for my daughter while we waited. This was later charged to my room without my knowledge, i presumed being offered a coffee for the inconvience caused...More

Thank Odyssey246708
Response from GAaberdeen, Owner at CarmeliteResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments however I do not agree with much of them. Our Wedding weekends are very busy with guests staying till the latest they can, leaving our room attendants challenging periods when arrivals are demanding rooms, hence our check-in time is FROM...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here as very convenient for Aberdeen station where I wanted to catch an early train. As you enter it’s initially a little confusing finding check-in as the ground floor is also a bad and restaurant but a staff member quickly came to my assistance....More

Thank TonnaSteve
Response from GAaberdeen, Owner at CarmeliteResponded 2 weeks ago

Sorry you were confused about our ground floor operation. We are a recognised bar, restaurant and cocktail lounge with event rooms also on our ground floor, integrating our check in area adjacent to the bar. As a boutique venue we don't have a dedicated stand...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a disappointment - lovely occasion with friends spoiled by awful afternoon tea offering. Stale loaf, pathetic shop bought selection of cakes and a scone which could pass for a brick. Waste of time and money. Not even a 1*.

3  Thank Erin F
Response from GAaberdeen, Owner at CarmeliteResponded 2 weeks ago

Disappointing and I apologise for this experience - we have had a couple of staff changes in the kitchen due tom these niggles, and assure you having made these changes and the stacker specification, I hope you will retry us in the near future.

View more reviews
About
Description
Carmelite is neatly positioned in the centre of Aberdeen's Merchant Quarter, which is adjacent to the transport hub of rail, bus, coach stations and harbour. The Merchant Quarter is the "grown up" area ...More of the city, full of independent bars and restaurants, and surrounded by the city's 5 under-cover retail shopping centres. An historical Grade B listed building dating back to mid 1800's, Carmelite has undergone major refurbishment program over recent years, introducing a boutique environment on the ground floor of Carmelite Bar & Grill, whilst the 50 bedrooms offer a mix of "Designer" Suites and rooms on the 1st floor, "Dapper" rooms refurbished end of 2012, on the 2nd floor and comfortable standard rooms on the 3rd floor. These enable attractive rates to suit all budgets. Aberdeen is a commercial city, with limited accommodation mid-week, however weekends offer some fantastic deals making an alternative visitor experience very affordable. The 6 Suites are all different, and very quirky - from round beds in turrets, and gigantic sleigh beds, all designer rooms have cast iron baths, monsoon showers. The "Dapper" rooms have un-cluttered designs with a mix of large monsoon shower rooms, double ended steel baths (some designed with 'no taps'), and black-out window blinds. All the bespoke furniture in these rooms were made by A social Enterprise Company in Dundee, called Dovetail. The 3rd floor standard rooms, although not yet refurbished, offer clean, comfortable accommodation, still with all the usual amenities. All rooms have luxury beds made locally by Social Enterprise Aberdeen Company called Glencraft. Designer "Anatomicals" or "Keiji" bath products, 32/40" LED Samsung Freeview TVs, as well as clocks, iPhone docking stations, tea/coffee making facilities, and most rooms with iron and ironing boards. A room service menu is available during restaurant times.The ground floor also is a boutique environment, quirky with a large open plan lounge and dining area, with informal comfy sofas, a Baby Grand Piano playing at weekends, and a dining 4 Poster Bed. The comprehensive bar menu offers superb cocktails, 12 champagnes, and extensive wine and drinks as well as a bar nibbles food options. Menus cover breakfast and brunch from a "Wake Up till Noon" menu, then an A'la Carte "All Day Menu" available from 12noon through till dinner. There is a Shoppers Menu available till 5pm each day with £8 main courses, and a Market Menu options each evening. There are two event rooms, Library and Balmoral for delegates up to 120, private dining to 50 diners, and Mad Hatter Tea Parties from 20 people. Intoxicating Afternoon Teas are a specialty, as well as Rock & Roll Parties in the 4 Poster Bed. Free wi-fi is available throughout the building, with a PC available for guests' use in the library. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Pool
Beachfront
Free Parking
Spa
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style
Luxury
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Hotel Style
Luxury
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
50
Price range
US$58 - US$166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Carmelite Hotel Aberdeen
,
Carmelite Aberdeen, Scotland
Location
United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Hotel class
Hotel Style
Luxury
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
50
Price range
US$58 - US$166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Carmelite Hotel Aberdeen
,
Carmelite Aberdeen, Scotland
Location
United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Photos
Traveller (133)
Room & Suite (201)
Dining (40)
Pool & Beach (1)
Amenities (28)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 65 hotels in Aberdeen
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
319 reviews
.09 km away
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
505 reviews
.10 km away
Rox Hotel
367 reviews
.11 km away
Station Hotel
556 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 757 restaurants in Aberdeen
Madame Mews Thai Cafe
284 reviews
.06 km away
Musa
619 reviews
.06 km away
Contour Cafe
79 reviews
.09 km away
The Craftsman Company
60 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 283 attractions in Aberdeen
Aberdeen Maritime Museum
1,559 reviews
.20 km away
Serco Northlink Ferries
129 reviews
.13 km away
Tivoli Theatre
41 reviews
.08 km away
Bon Accord & St Nicholas
15 reviews
.22 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lkav1980
14 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from GAaberdeen | Property representative |
Hi, our ground floor is open plan so as soon as you walk in the revolving front door, a host will meet you, check you in and direct you to your room. Everyone is personally taken to their suites.
0
Votes
Billy P
1 August 2017|
Answer
Response from GAaberdeen | Property representative |
Hi, No we don't have a gym in hose, but there is a PURE Gym 5 minutes walk frond the corner. There is a small daily charge for PURE GYM, and has extensive gym equipment.
1
Vote
SimonSwan78
7 March 2016|
Answer
Response from 8602ord |
The hotel has a small car park you can pre book for fifteen quid I think it was
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Suggest you take silicon ear plugs."
Read review
"If you are staying here and want a good nights sleep be sure and as for a room that is located in a quieter..."
Read review
"You can't have both the hot and continental breakfast - you had to chose 1."
Read review
"Nothing special"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing