We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel

Show Prices
#16 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

874 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 825: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
 Click to rate
Perth
Reviewed yesterday NEW

car park tight but easy found and convenient the food was well OK but just not up there maybe as busy or may I say the breakfast was for sure. Sleeping was it is City centre and expect noise, more so on front rooms but you must expect this when booking a great spot in the city over looking the...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank naebadsofar
Alton, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 1 February 2017

The Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian is a superb base for a visit to this historic and beautiful city. It is absolutely central on Union Terrace and within easy walking distance of virtually any of the places that you would want to look at. The hotel itself was was very pleasant and the rooms exactly what you would expect - clean, tidy...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
About Hotel's Favourite Review
sebastienbrunet2016, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark B, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience following your recent Stay with us at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel. I was very pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and particularly the comfort of our rooms as well as our breakfast offering. Above all, I was delighted that my team made...

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room was clean and tidy and very quiet, ironing board and hair drier are provided and although it wasn't very big it was fine during our stay. The staff are excellent and very friendly and the breakfast is great. Our room was on the 4th floor at the front and it was very quiet and we were not at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wooly0000
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Having really enjoyed our stay here a couple of years ago when he decided we'd have another overnighter in Aberdeen this was the first place we looked at. The proposed deal looking terrific value for money we were happy to book. Check in was a simple and efficient process and within no more than a couple of minutes we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andy_p_mfc
sebastienbrunet2016, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear andy_p_mfc, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the...

Lorne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is very well located in the city. It has very friendly staff and a warm enjoyable feel. It is somewhat dated in its decor and breakfast offering. My room was quiet and comfortable and the bathroom excellent hot water and pressure. The breakfast offering is about 25 years behind the times and very disappointing. I would stay again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorne01
sebastienbrunet2016, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lorne01, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience following your stay with us at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay and in particular our friendly staff. However I was disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your breakfast experience. I hope this doesn't put you...

Caldicot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel to attend a dinner to be held there so it wasn't initially our choice. We were able to park the car in their secure car park but did not expect the £10 charge per day which we discovered when we checked out. However it did mean we did not have to look for parking elsewhere....

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulinehI9930OG
sebastienbrunet2016, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear paulinehI9930OG , Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience following your stay with us at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay and in particular our friendly staff. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Yours sincerely Tina Canale-Dow...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Centrally located hotel just off Union Street and within walking distance of the train station. Very welcoming friendly staff who ensured all requests were fully met. Well appointed rooms. Wide selection of fruit, cereals, cold meats and cheeses as well as a large variety of hot dishes for the full breakfast. Attentive service. Catered well for gluten free diet. Quality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 513scott
sebastienbrunet2016, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 513scott, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience following your recent stay with us at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and i was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your breakfast. I very much look forward to welcoming you back in...

Scotland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was very small and freezing. There was no heating on the night I arrived and a there was a terrible draught from the very tall windows. The shower was awful the first day, but I reported and it was fixed. However, the vents on the windows, which I couldn't reach and had asked if they could be closed,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Escotland
sebastienbrunet2016, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Escotland, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience following your recent stay with us at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel. I was very disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations on this occasion, with regards to your bedroom. This is not the normal standard that we like to work too. I...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked the restaurant here at the Caledonian hotel as it was close to the theatre . As older parents are not big on walking very far . But It was a good decision, as we got seasoned straight away and had our drink order with in a few minutes . Our starters were tomato soup, haggis bon bons and salt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
sebastienbrunet2016, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Scott M, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience following your recent visit to Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed you enjoyed your meal with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Yours sincerely Tina Canale-Dow Operations Manager

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room spot on, hair drier, kettle in room. Lots of plugs to charge phones etc. We ordered room service and it arrived within 10 minutes. Ideal central location. Within walking distance of 3 shopping centres and the theatre. Staff friendly and welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaysy123
sebastienbrunet2016, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kaysy123, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience following your recent Stay with us at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward of welcoming you back on property during your next visit to Aberdeen. Yours sincerely Tina Canale-Dow Operations...

317 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (139)
Viewed
Executive Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)
Viewed
Twin Room (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.4 km away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 63 in Aberdeen
1,809 reviews
6.2 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#12 of 63 in Aberdeen
924 reviews
0.7 km away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 63 in Aberdeen
703 reviews
2.0 km away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#14 of 63 in Aberdeen
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, is perfectly placed for exploring handsome, vibrant Aberdeen, known to the world as the Granite City. Located in the centre of Aberdeen, overlooking Union Terrace Gardens and five-minute walk from the railway station, The Caledonian Hotel is a grand example of the city's distinctive Victorian architecture. It's close to many local attractions, and an excellent base for touring the Highlands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel

Address: 10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen AB10 1WE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range: €61 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledonian, Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
The Hotel Aberdeen
Caledonian Thistle
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
9 months ago
2 days ago
Chicago, Illinois, USA

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“4th floor is quiet”
 of 5 bubbles wooly0000, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Those with a view over Union Terrace Gardens, 4th floor preferably.”
 of 5 bubbles 513scott, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Apparently the upgraded rooms with views of the gardens are nice.”
 of 5 bubbles Escotland, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a room ar the book and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles kaysy123, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Far away from a cleaning locker.”
 of 5 bubbles Hutch300466, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5