We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Abbey Bed and Breakfast

Save
Traveller (77)
Room & Suite (47)
Dining (17)
Ratings and reviews
Certificate of Excellence
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good22%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“bloody sunday”(22 reviews)
“tea room”(8 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast included
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Fitness centre
Kitchenette
Pets Allowed
Wheelchair Access
3 Star Hotel
Abbey bed and breakfast is Derrys city most centrally located B&B. It is the only accommodation in the bogside area of the city. Winner of "Northwest Guesthouse of the Year Award 2004 and 2005." Luxury rooms all en-suite, disabled access and ground floor disabled bathroom facilities...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
4 Abbey Street | Leading on From Fredrick Street, Derry BT48 9DN, Northern Ireland
12.1 km to Eglinton Airport
94 restaurants are within a 0.5 km radius
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveller rating
374
105
14
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
374
105
14
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree derry museumbloody sundaytea roombogside muralscity centreb and bhome from homefew minutes walkantrim coastvisited derrynorthern irelandgreat cityfull irish breakfastdouble bedfirst classhelenhistory
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 507 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had overnight stay . Great location ,Staff very helpful ,Breakfast was good , Also like to thank Seamus for allowing me to move my booking ..no xtra charge .Great Service .. would highly recommend the Abbey .. Also Derry great city .

Thank Eddie D
Response from Seamus K, Manager at Abbey Bed and BreakfastResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks Eddie....see you next time.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My daughter and I had the pleasure of staying at Abbey Road B&B for a week in late April while traveling with our German cousin. We had a wonderful time in Derry, especially getting to know B&B owner Seamus Kennedy and his capable staff. Parts...More

Thank Northmesa
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Fellow TripAdvisor travelers, before I tell you my story, please read the other recent negative posts from Arlene in Sarasota, Fl and Eagleski in Navarre, Fl. The way one handles complaints or disputes speaks much more to their character and how they run their BnB...More

6  Thank rsjg911
Response from Seamus K, Manager at Abbey Bed and BreakfastResponded 13 June 2018

Ah Mr M.... thinks he has wrote a masterpiece with his big long winded malicious review.TA you need to review your guidelines as to how now a TA troll and a person who is lying can review a business that he never set foot in.The...More

Reviewed 2 June 2018

We made a reservation at the B&B on arrival would told only had one room instead of two and we could stay in house he had down the road it was just okay but not like the picture on TripAdvisor. The breakfast was very basic...More

5  Thank ArleneSarasota
Response from Seamus K, Manager at Abbey Bed and BreakfastResponded 3 June 2018

Sorry you were disappointed but as you did not stay in Bed and Breakfast this post is not a reflection of Abbey B&B.....You required accommodation 1 week before arrival and a guest who was staying had to prolong her visit, no excuses, her personal reason...More

Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Had the most amazing time in the abbey . Spotless rooms . ensuite bathroom was clean , great friendly staff . Also the full irish breakfast is a must . The owner seamus recommended us to a few local bars . Had one of the...More

2  Thank Jack K
Response from Seamus K, Manager at Abbey Bed and BreakfastResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you Jack it was a pleasure having you group stay with us....the weather was great and you all had a lot of fun ....lovely to meet you, Helen and I were both very impressed with the manners of the young people....Hope you have great...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Abbey bed and breakfast is Derrys city most centrally located B&B. It is the only accommodation in the bogside area of the city. Winner of "Northwest Guesthouse of the Year Award 2004 and 2005." Luxury ...More rooms all en-suite, disabled access and ground floor disabled bathroom facilities. Five minutes walk to historic city monuments such as free derry corner, famous citywalls, cathadrals, shopping malls, theatre, pubs, restaurants and two minutes walk to swimming pool and fitness suite.Abbey B&B is currently upgrading its facilities which will also include the ABBEY STUDIO TEA ROOM where guest can avail of real Coffee and relax in the Studio, the wall are themed with paraphernalia of Derry,s rich musical history. Also buy a gift from the Abbey Gift display in the hallway.Our aim is to offer Guest THE COMPLETE EXPERIENCE.Our location is our uniqueness, in an area steeped in history and where you walk to everywhere without needing a Taxi. Less
Hotel class
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (77)
Room & Suite (47)
Dining (17)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Carol E
18 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from meamie | Reviewed this property |
being summer months I would book as soon as your plans are definite
-1
Votes
Miahella
14 October 2015|
Answer
Response from Seamus K | Property representative |
Yes we do provide towels and you can relax in the Abbey Lounge until you are due to leave. THANKS.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"I would assume there must be better rooms than we had; perhaps ground level."
Read review
"All seem good."
Read review
"All rooms are lovely, spacious and clean."
Read review
"Rooms in new wing which seems is only year open nice and bright"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing