We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel

Expedia.comUS$104*
View Deal
#9 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

466 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 436: English reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Arrived at the hotel at 3 o'clock. Was checked in by a lovely young man and stayed in room 227. Evening meal in restaurant was fantastic, quick service and food was superb. Used pool on the Sunday, girl on desk was very helpful. would recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G-rizzle2
Charlene L, Manager at Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for you for your lovely comments. we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope to see you again in the near future. I will also be sure to pass on your lovely comments to the staff.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 23 June 2015

Hotel generally in good condition, and was fortunate to be given a room near to reception, with no route march. General comments about the room - no frills, comfortable enough, but water pressure in the bathroom was poor, and took forever for the hot water to both come through hot and fill the sink. Trying to fill the kettle was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sjd74
Charlene L, Manager at Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We have noted your comments and will take them on board. I hope that you return and visit and again in near future.

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2015

We stayed here at the beginning of June, we chose this hotel as it was close to the airport. On arrival the receptionist advised us a large party would be having dinner between 5 and 6.30 and breakfast would be 7.30 for them, we found this useful as then we could avoid the rush. We had booked a suite which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndrewandMary_15
Charlene L, Manager at Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that there was issue on your departure, but I am glad that our staff reimbursed your breakfast for the inconvenience.

Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2015

My wife and i recently stayed in the hotel for one night and it was a truly enjoyable experience. Reception, domestic and restaurant staff cannot be faulted, food quality and presentation was excellent. We stayed in the Donnybewer suite and found the facilities brilliant and decor lovely, the room was also very clean.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank noel m
Charlene L, Manager at Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you will return in the near future. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the staff.

Antrim
Reviewed 7 June 2015

Just stayed one night at this hotel for my 45th birthday. Room was lovely and clean,modern and fresh decor although the room size was a little on the narrow side when passing by at the end of the bed. Bathroom was compact,clean and modern always plenty of hot water. Food and service in this hotel was excellent! Really impressed by...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank AntrimTravelbug
Charlene L, Manager at Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and will be sure to pass on your comments to Cecelia and members of staff. I hope to see you again in the near future.

Reviewed 2 June 2015 via mobile

This hotel is out of the city centre and doesn't look too appealing from the outside but don't let that put you off. Our room was lovely as was the reception area and the bar. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was very good too. Reception organised a taxi to the city centre which arrived punctual and was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jacknjil
Charlene L, Manager at Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review regarding your stay with us. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our hospitality and our facilities. We are looking forward to you returning to stay with us again in the near future. Warmest regards Cecelia Carr Food & Beverage Manager

Peak District
Reviewed 2 June 2015

Stayed here one night whilst visiting friends. The room was large and the bed comfy. It faced the main road so there was traffic noise if the window was opened. The bathroom didn't have an extractor far and smelled of mould, plus there was black mould on the ceiling tiles. The wifi signal in the room was very weak. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ianjmorley
Charlene L, Manager at Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are very disappointed to receive feedback of your dissatisfaction. I would like to apologise for your experience and for any upset and inconvenience caused. We pride ourselves on our excellent food and immaculate service, so I have discussed your feedback with the Restaurant Manager and Head...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 30 May 2015

This hotel feels somewhat isolated, as it is off of the expressway and not in the city. But once inside, the staff was very accommodating and helpful. Rooms were clean and food was good. So if you do not want to be in the city center, this is a great place for a stay.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fullerabent
Charlene L, Manager at Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review regarding your stay with us. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our hospitality and our facilities. We are looking forward to you returning to stay with us again in the near future. Warmest regards Cecelia Carr Food & Beverage Manager

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2015

Basically, a Fantastic stay! The food overall was to a very good standard however the Spring Sensations Offer 4 course meal was outstanding. The bar prices were reasonable for a hotel and the service in the bar and throughout the hotel was to a high standard. I would like to highlight for your attention the exceptional service received from the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Craig S
Charlene L, Manager at Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Craig, Thank you for your lovely review regarding your stay with us. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our hospitality and our facilities particularly your dinner in 68 Clooney. I have passed your lovely comments onto James, Joy & Jill, who where delighted to hear them. We are looking forward to you returning to stay with us...

Newtownards, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2015

From the outside the hotel does not impress but once through the doors, what a surprise. Reception staff were friendly and polite. We were given a free upgrade to a nice bright room which was spotless, both room and bathroom. Our stay included a four course meal which was delicious as was the breakfast. Over all we were highly impressed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Budgie49
Charlene L, Manager at Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review regarding your stay with us. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our hospitality and our facilities particularly your dinner & breakfast in 68 Clooney. We are looking forward to you returning to stay with us again in the near future. Warmest regards Cecelia Carr Food & Beverage Manager

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
7.4 km away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 12 in Derry
1,969 reviews
7.7 km away
Maldron Hotel Derry
9.3 km away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 12 in Derry
510 reviews
7.8 km away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
506 reviews
5.7 km away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Combining warmth and elegance with modern facilities, the White Horse Hotel is the ideal venue whether you travel for business or for pleasure. This 4 Star BEST WESTERN PLUS property is located on the main route from Derry-Londonderry to the famous Giants Causeway This ensures our guests are perfectly positioned to experience both the vibrancy of the historic Walled City and the stunning natural beauty of the North Coast. We are the most closely located hotel for the City of Derry Airport which is just 1km away.With just fifty-eight guest bedrooms we place an emphasis on personal service & a friendly attention to detail. Our hotel facilities include a Bar, Restaurant, Leisure center (with pool steam room,sauna and extensive gym) and beauty salon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel

Address: 68 Clooney Road, Derry BT47 3PA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Price Range: €58 - €236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derry
Derry Best Western
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Family Hotel in Derry
#8 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#8 Romantic Hotel in Derry
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor rooms are better if you can not climb stairs as there are no lifts.”
DaisyDuke68, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“if on the bottom floor ask for room 130”
jaketcunningham, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Just ask the helpful staff”
dak750, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Should have informed staff immediately we entered the room and asked for another better room”
  • Brown Damp patch on ceiling above shower
  • Toilet tight to the bath...
phil9843, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Quieter rooms on the North side”
L227, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$104* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$115
Orbitz.comUS$104
PricelineUS$113
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates