We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Harbour House Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 166: English reviews
Start your review of Harbour House Inn
 Click to rate
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had booked 6 rooms for a family birthday. The staff were super friendly and food was perfect . When we came down to dinner the staff had decorated the long table and brought out the cake for dessert . Would not hesitate to reccomend Harbour House to any one

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marianne58
Castlewellan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

In for lunch, ordered starters and mains, couldn't fault any of it, waitress was very good very friendly and she was only one serving she did a fabulous job!! Definitely recommend eating here!! Plus Saturday nights great craic and always some good band/singer to entertain

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lene1234566
Franmonty, Owner at Harbour House Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review

Newcastle, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Interesting and varied menu, with something for everyone. Very tasty food and the portion size was spot on. Service was fast, the sea view from our seat was lovely. Great on a summer evening. Plenty of car parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ErnieSkillen
Franmonty, Owner at Harbour House Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We called in here whilst visiting Newcastle. We were a bit early for our reservation but we're accommodated by the friendly staff. The food was excellent and the overall atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly. Will definitely go back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
Franmonty, Owner at Harbour House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Stopped on for a bite during an afternoon walk in Newcastle. Fantastic pub food. Soup and chowder excellent. The mains of steak and stout pie were fantastic. The interior is all a bit rustic but don't let that put you off. In a cosy atmosphere and stunning views, you won't worry too much about ir

 Report
Helpful?
Thank derrykris
Franmonty, Owner at Harbour House Inn, responded to this review
Google Translation

Cheers

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Stayed for New Years Eve. Room clean and well presented. Special 3 course evening meal, good choice of food and it was delicious. Lovely roaring peat fire in bar area. Staff very welcoming and nothing too much trouble.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine186470
Franmonty, Owner at Harbour House Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Not the most lavish of places , but you will certainly not be disappointed. Everything you need a warm welcome which was the theme from all the staff, although basic the rooms were very comfortable,the evening meal we had was both plenty full and tasty . We enjoyed it and will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nigeltheshed
Franmonty, Owner at Harbour House Inn, responded to this review
Google Translation

Cheers

Silloth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

We were walking by this place when we heard how happy everyone sounded inside, so we called in on spec and had the most wonderful night. The atmosphere inside was superb and we ended up spending the entire night here. We took part in the charity quiz which was raising money for a local youths football club and ended up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pootle4
Franmonty, Owner at Harbour House Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review

glasgow
Reviewed 10 September 2016

My husband and I stayed for only one night thankfully. The room had a lovely view of the sea but the decor was dingy, the room smelt strongly of disinfectant as if to mask another odour and someone's dress was hanging in the wardrobe. The bathroom was not clean. There were long brown hairs in the bath and the shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathy o
Franmonty, Owner at Harbour House Inn, responded to this review

Dear Cathy Apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Unfortunately due to the shape of the building we do have rooms with slanted roofs, though we hope the view of Dundrum Bay makes up for this. We do use bleach for cleaning and no other reason. We are very sorry the room was not up to our usual standards...

Dungannon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

On arrival our booking hadn't been received even though we had a confirmation email saying it was. Luckily enough there was a room free. We where then asked to pay on arrival, I have stayed in many hotels & B&Bs & was in the hospitality business myself & I have never been asked to pay on arrival. But the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fra Q
Franmonty, Owner at Harbour House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. it was much appreciated. Our online booking set up was not complete for payments at the time, apologies, we are now all systems go!!!

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.8 km away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
113 reviews
3.5 km away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
142 reviews
29.6 km away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
1.6 km away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#11 of 19 in Newcastle
34 reviews
2.2 km away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 19 in Newcastle
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Food & drink at the hotel
Stone Boat Restaurant at The Harbour House Inn
Stone Boat Restaurant at The Harbour House Inn
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our property is on the South Promenade at Newcastle Harbour: The harbour is among the most richly historic areas of Newcastle. Home to many longstanding families, the area around the pier has a long association with the sea. The origins of the current harbour date back to the 1820's, when a new pier was created by Lord Annesley to replace the old one. One of the chief functions of the pier was to act as a loading point for Mourne granite, which was quarried in the hills above the harbour. If you stand on the shorter arm of the pier and look up towards the mountain you can see a path cut through the trees leading to the now defunct quarry on Millstone Mountain. In the last century, stone was quarried here and dispatched down this track to the harbour by railtrucks. It was loaded on to ships (known as Stone Boats) and used to build docks in Belfast and Liverpool and the courthouse gaol in nearby Downpatrick ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harbour House Inn

Address: 4 South Promenade, Newcastle BT33 0EX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Harbour House Hotel Newcastle
Harbour Hotel Newcastle
Harbour House Inn Newcastle, Northern Ireland
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
#6 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Harbour House Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Harbour House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a sea view ..... no extra charge”
 of 5 bubbles marianne58, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Probably a room at the back oor side verlooking the bay”
 of 5 bubbles marmite030, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room with a view of the water on the back of the inn. visit the pub.”
 of 5 bubbles byr0nn, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 offers a great view over the bay.”
  • Newcastle at night viewed from the patio area of Harbour House Inn.
 of 5 bubbles roberthY7050SF, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 5 & 8 have great views of Murlough beach & Newcastle.”
 of 5 bubbles Smaller_4, 16 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5