We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clayton Hotel Belfast

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clayton Hotel Belfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

661 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Clayton Hotel Belfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 631: English reviews
Manchester
Reviewed 15 September 2015

The hotel looks modern and contemporary. Rooms are reasonable sized and clean enough. The problem is staff are inattentive and disengaged. Breakfast was appalling. £10 for fruit which was going off, cold buffet (should have been hot), stale bread and rock hard pastries. Pretty disappointing so won't be staying again. I paid £10 cash for my breakfast and had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wannabe1day
DGilvary, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations. We hope to welcome you back in the near future, a marked improvement will be noted. Regards, Damian.

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

As i said in the title, Staff were fantastic, receptionist extremely pleasant and helpful on arrival. Young lad in the bar was extremely pleasant also. Had breakfast in bed and the girl that delivered that as also very nice. Room was spacous, clean great view etc. Free wifi however Belfast now has 4g so much of a muchness really. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SirrRoyston
DGilvary, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. We were very pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions for the future. Kindest Regards, Damian.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Meeting some colleagues in Belfast and thought of this hotel, I knew it when it was the Holiday Inn. Name change, very good location and fab leisure facilities and very helpful staff throughout our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
DGilvary, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. We were very pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions for the future. Kindest Regards, Damian.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2015

I stay in Belfast on business most weeks. As a result I've had the chance to stay quite a few hotels in this part of the city. This is an okay hotel but not one of my favourites, if I'm honest. The rooms are decent enough, with pretty comfortable beds and AC that works pretty well for the most part....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigGiantPlanet
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2015

I recently returned from a business trip to Belfast where I spent two nights at the Clayton. I stayed here some years previously when it was the Holiday Inn so being familiar with the location chose to stay here again. On arrival the hotel seemed pretty busy however I didn't have long to wait when I was met by Caoimhe...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank OConnorsBandG
DGilvary, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. We were very pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions for the future. Kindest Regards, Damian.

Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

When I booked the hotel, it was still a Holiday Inn, so I was a bit surprised to find it had changed hands when I was searching for directions the day before we arrived! It is very well located a short walk from the City Hall and other central attractions. Breakfast was good with lots of variety. I had two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah M
DGilvary, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. We were very pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions for the future. Kindest Regards, Damian.

Glasgow
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Stayed here on business a few times when it was the Holiday Inn, no noticeable change on this visit other than the sign outside and the Starbucks branch inside has gone which is a shame Almost everything else the same as previous Holiday Inn, even the toiletries in the bathroom. A couple of nice touches such as free drink invite...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jason M
DGilvary, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. We were very pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions for the future. Kindest Regards, Damian.

Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

Staff were very friendly but I wasn't impressed with the room or the value! Would not stay here ever again! Bed sheets were on inside out and there was stains on the bed throw! Not impressed for a 4 star hotel! I would be interested to know how they got the 4 stars!

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Louise M
DGilvary, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations. We hope to welcome you back in the near future, a marked improvement will be noted. Regards, Damian.

Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed in belfast for 2 nights. The hotel was a short walk from the centre. Probably not even 5mins. Surrouded by some restaurants like nandos, weatherspoons, pizza express etc and even a cinema. The rooms were clean but i think spa needs updating. As tiles were cracked and stained. Which put us off from staying in there for what we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessmisk
Stephen R, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Dear Jessmisk, thankyou for your kind words. im delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. i look forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards Stephen

Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Room very spacious and bed quite comfortable. Liked the wooden panels on the windows to block the light but, unfortunately, they also blocked the night air so be sure and leave them open a bit. Linens and towels very clean but floor didn't appear to have been vacummed for a while with crumbs and a bobby pin in the middle...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nancy C
DGilvary, Director of Sales at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. We were very pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions for the future. Kindest Regards, Damian.

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#18 of 43 in Belfast
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Clayton Hotel Belfast. This four star hotel is perfectly located within the Linen Quarter of Belfast city centre, ideal for visiting the Titanic Exhibition, a night out at the Cathedral Quarter or shopping at Victoria Square. Enjoy a four star dining experience in the restaurant at Clayton Hotel Belfast. Alternatively, relax and unwind with a bar snack in the lounge. The restaurant includes floor to ceiling windows so you can relax and watch the world go by in the heart of Belfast's Linen Quarter. Clayton Hotel Belfast offers great accommodation to all guests whether your stay is for business or leisure. With 170 rooms to offer, ranging from Standard Rooms to Executive Rooms and 2 Suites, it's the perfect location for your trip to Belfast. Clayton Hotel Belfast's spacious Leisure Centre Club Vitae is ideal for unwinding after a long day or working up a sweat in the fully equipped gymnasium. As well as a 15 meter pool, the wet area also boasts a sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. The dance studio offers a range of classes which Clayton Hotel Belfast offers to residents and members. The spa offers a range of treatment's that can rejuvenate and pamper you during your stay. Feel rejuvenated and treat yourself to one or more of a wide range of treatments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Belfast

Address: 22 Ormeau Avenue, Belfast BT2 8HS, Northern Ireland (Formerly Holiday Inn Belfast)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Price Range: €101 - €200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Clayton Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Belfast Hotel Belfast
Belfast Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clayton Hotel Belfast staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
over a year ago
n ireland
Northern Ireland
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Clayton Hotel Belfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be careful with your dates !!!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Imelda400, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the lifts and at least up on the 4th floor or more.”
 of 5 bubbles MCBQ2014, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check with the hotel for Suite availability, well worth it.”
  • Little things mean a Lot!
 of 5 bubbles BayVista, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Either go for a room on a high floor or one at the back to curtail the noise of the late night revelers”
 of 5 bubbles 698davidh, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Inner rooms have absolutely no view. Make sure they don't put you in a handicapped room.”
  • Dirty bathroom room in handicapped room
 of 5 bubbles jeanfS652RB, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5