We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
142 Bangor Road, Belfast BT18 0EX Northern Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$224
View deal
Expedia.comUS$299
PricelineUS$269
Hotels.comUS$299
TravelocityUS$299
FindHotelUS$278
Prestigia.comUS$317
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (962)
Dining (196)
Room & Suite (180)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Contactless check-out
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 18/03/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 18/03/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#29 of 55 hotels in Belfast
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Standing high on the wooded slopes of the Holywood hills, overlooking Belfast Lough, is the magnificent Culloden Estate and Spa, one of the most prestigious 5 star hotels in Northern Ireland.Originally built as an official palace for the Bishops of Down, the Culloden stands in 12 acres of beautiful gardens and is 5 miles from Belfast City Centre. The exclusive Spa offers health and leisure facilities, and a full range of ESPA spa therapies. Bright, spacious and individually decorated, each of the 98 bedrooms and suites in the Culloden Estate and Spa is comfortable and inviting. Our rooms are furnished with a King Koil 'Cloud Bed' and luxurious bed-linen to ensure a good night’s sleep. After a restful night, guests can wake up to wonderful views over the hotel gardens and down towards Belfast Lough.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Babysitting
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
2401Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,603
  • 312
  • 224
  • 150
  • 112
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Arthur S wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom2 contributions
Rooms looked into walls and roofs. Unexpectedly no view at all. Should be used as hotel office space or deep discounted. It is not clear on hotel website that some of the bedrooms have this problem. Breakfast buffet is very good but should have a cook to order option. Main hotel restaurant is only open at weekend so closed to us. Cultra Inn menu pretty boring.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
judithrainey wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Not only was service at the wedding we went to poor but WOW the service when something goes wrong it completely and utterly shocking. We confirmed 3 times prior to arrival the type of cot and mattress needed and it wasn't what we got so we couldn't use it. We where not allowed to check out with a refund and go home (bear in mind our booking was based on this cot being right) instead we where made to wait hours for a solution and with multiple phonecalls to the front desk and having to go down in person. We got no sleep and had the most stressful and horrible stay (I didn't even think a hotel could have this type of awful service)!! If you want a seemless wedding and a lovely family stay...... DO NOT book with the Culloden.... avoid, avoid, avoid!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
A T wrote a review Jun 2022
Naples, Florida1250 contributions559 helpful votes
We had a luxurious suite that had a beautiful sitting/dining area, a comfortable king sized bed, and a beautiful bathroom with two sinks. We were greeted by a friendly staff member who checked us in then had a courteous and informative young man take us to the suite. After we were in the room for some time, he came back with a plate of fruit and another of cupcakes. They were delicious. We also had an Afternoon Tea that was lovely. The food, champagne, and tea were very good and the young lady assisting us was very pleasant. The dinner experience was ok. It was in a beautifully appointed room. The food was fine but some other diners were dressed in t-shirts, jeans, and tennis shoes and others on the opposite side of the room were quite loud. On the downside I was surprised to walk down the long hallway each day to see bagged bed linens and towels, empty glasses, and trays left in the hallway. These were not just left for a short time but all day long. I would have expected any staff member to see this and take care of it. We also were unable to find a remote for the television in the bedroom. After three attempts to have someone come to the room to correct the issue, two gentlemen came on the second day. They were knowledgeable and replaced the missing remote and made certain the television was working properly. The hotel did not include a television station for us to see the US Open. We did a self park a short walk from the front door. There did not seem to be a valet.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Niall Burns, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear AT Thank you for your review after your stay with us and I am pleased you had a pleasant experience whilst you were here. I am delighted that you were happy with your room, our staff team and that you enjoyed your afternoon tea in Vespers. In relation to the other feedback given, this is gratefully received and acted upon, whether it is putting additional training into place or resolving any other issues. Please be assured that everything you have mentioned has been forwarded to our staff team to address so that this does not happen to future guests. Kind regards
Read more
Anna M wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions
I paid £110 for a ‘deal’ that included a 2 course lunch and 2 25min spa treatments for my birthday. The lunch menu in the cultra in wasn’t great and when my starter salad came without half the ingredients they said they didn’t have them… so it was basically lettuce and olives. In the spa I booked the hot stone back massage, however no hot stones were used. When I told the lady this on the phone she said she would ring me back to speak about this but never did. The ‘pedicure’ consisted of a quick file of the toes and polish, which is completely unacceptable for the money paid. Unfortunately very bad value with not great results. The only good thing about it was the girl who did my treatments was very friendly and lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Niall Burns, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear annamG8739JL Thank you for your comments after your 'dine and indulge' package with ourselves and I am sorry that you did not have a satisfactory experience whilst you were here. I would be grateful if you could email your contact details to pa@cull.hastingshotels.com so that we can discuss your experience in more details. Kind regards
Read more
ednanorthernireland wrote a review Jun 2022
Armagh, United Kingdom69 contributions51 helpful votes
I was staying in the Culloden for the RCN Nurse of the Year celebrations and had an amazing time . The hotel staff were very kind and generous with their time . Such a beautiful hotel in breathtaking surroundings. The outside artwork is just fabulous
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Niall Burns, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear ednanorthernireland Thank you for your review and I am delighted you had a great experience whilst you were here attending the RCN Nurse of the Year celebrations. We do hope you return to stay with us again at some point in the future. Kind regards
Read more
Ramona C wrote a review Jun 2022
Derry, United Kingdom25 contributions10 helpful votes
I have stayed in Many Hotel in Ireland with friends or with my husband or daughters but this is one to beat for a relaxing Break My daughter Roisin brought me here as a Birthday treat Not a problem or care in the world the staff were so attentive without being overbearing Emma and the breakfast team were outstanding as was the breakfast Mel the Concierge was so delightful and helpful The surrounding have to be seen to be believed Thanks to all the staff including the cleaners at this amazing hotel
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Niall Burns, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Ramona C Thank you for your lovely comments after your stay with us and I am delighted you had a great time here whilst celebrating your birthday. I have passed on your kind words to the team, who were delighted and return their thanks. We hope you return to see us again in the very near future. Kind regards
Read more
travelear wrote a review Jun 2022
Jacksonville, Florida504 contributions297 helpful votes
When we arrived there was a wedding going on and people all over the place. But not a person in site to greet us as we pulled up and went inside to check in. After we checked in, Mel the concierge came to greet us, give us a brief history of the hotel and take us to our room. We want to take a moment to give a huge shout out to Mel. While we were there for our 2 day visit, we noticed Mel always on the move helping people in every way. Even as we sat having our afternoon tea and he noticed us, he stopped by to see if we were good before he raced away to help someone else. He was always zipping here and there. It appeared that the hotel was understaffed and Mel was taking up the slack. Mel is a true asset to this hotel, not only for his work ethic, but his knowledge and friendliness. The grounds - Very pretty with unique statue art work scattered around the grounds. The wedding party took up a large part of the grounds on our first day. The Estate hotel - It was pretty inside with its stained glass windows and large sitting rooms. Vespers - Not opened for dinner while we were there, but was used for breakfast each morning. Breakfast - It had many options which were good. Dinner at Cultra - This was our only choice since Vespers was not open. The service was very slow. Maybe not enough staff?? For dinner we had the fish n chips which were good and the burger which was average. We were going to order dessert, but didn't want to prolong this already long experience any longer. Afternoon tea - This was very good. There were lots of tasty items and good tea. However, once we were served we were forgotten. We would have liked more hot water for tea, but we couldn't get a server to come by. Just getting the check at the end took quite some time. We noticed the same for other patrons. The room - The room was spacious, comfortable and cool. We have great views of the water. The bathroom was very large. There was no turn down service. Or if there was we didn't get any. Very surprising at such an expensive hotel. There wasn't much to do in walking distance. Fyi.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Niall Burns, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear travelear Thank you for your comments after your stay with us and I am pleased that you had an good overall stay whilst you were here. Please be assured that I have forwarded your kind words onto Mel, who was delighted and sends his thanks. He is a great member of the team and indeed is an asset to the hotel. I have also taken your feedback on board which is greatly appreciated and will continue to action and respond to any issues as and when they occur with the rest of the team. We do hope you return to see us all again in the near future. Kind regards
Read more
Arthur Fleck wrote a review Jun 2022
11 contributions8 helpful votes
We were really looking forward to going to this hotel for an overnight stay, but unfortunately it proved to be a massive let down. Although set in magnificent grounds and with luxurious suites, the food and service were such a disappointment. We attended a celebration, where we were one of many guests served raw beef (literally with blood on top). This dangerously undercooked meal was served by foreign staff who looked thoroughly miserable with their blank expressions. The whole four course meal wouldn't have filled a toddler, such were the miniscule portions. The room was luxurious, but too warm and the room temperature controls were too complicated to cool it. The tea/coffee machine was also too complicated and we were unable to us it. Breakfast the following morning was self service, which was a relief, because we went to bed hungry the previous night. After breakfast, we went back to our room to pack up our things, only to find that after 11am your room card stops working. We had hoped for a swim after breakfast, but this made us feel they wanted us out. For the eye watering price we paid, I would never stay here again, I've stayed in much superior 4 star hotels, even Premier Inns, with friendly staff, good food and where you don't drive away feeling utterly ripped off. This is a hotel for people with more money than sense, where bragging about staying here, vastly outweighs the actual experience.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Niall Burns, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you for your comments after your recent experience with us and I am sorry that you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay. In relation to the air conditioning unit and coffee machine which you felt was too difficult to use, please be assured that if you had contacted our reception desk they would have sent someone to your room to show you how to work them. I am also sorry that you were unable to use the pool on the day of your departure. Our check out time for every guest staying is 11.00am, but you would certainly have been able to use the pool anytime after you had checked in from 3.00pm the previous day until 11.00am the following morning. In relation to your other feedback, I have passed onto the relevant heads of department to either action or to put some additional training into place. Kind regards
Read more
Helen M wrote a review Jun 2022
4 contributions3 helpful votes
The Positive: Beautiful grounds Pleasant room The Negatives: Lack of information in the room. No contact information available for Reception or Housekeeping (unless you turn on the TV apparently...). I had to ring the Spa to ask them to put me through to Reception. The usual guide to hotel services was being updated - well that was the excuse, but this was the same excuse that was quoted on a review some weeks prior to our visit. Customer service is lacking. We ate in the Cultra Inn. When we arrived, staff completely ignored us. No problem with anyone saying, 'we'll be with you in a minute' ,but this didn't happen. Not what you would expect. The Cultra Inn looks great from the outside,but is shabby and dated inside. Not recommended. You would expect to have a coffee machine in the rooms of a 5 star hotel, not Nescafe coffee sachets. We have stayed at the Grand Central in Belfast and The Merchant Hotel - go there! Staff are friendly and go the extra mile.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Niall Burns, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you for your comments after your stay with us and I am sorry that you had some issues whilst you were here. In relation to the lack of information in your room, our room service information booklets have now been updated and are currently being printed, so should be back in the bedrooms as soon as this has been completed. I am also sorry for the quality of service you received in the Cultra Inn, I have passed your comments onto our Cultra Inn Manager to address and action with her staff so that this does not happen again to any future guests. Please be assured that all feedback is taken very seriously and acted upon, and we are very grateful for any received. Kind regards
Read more
Tracy Lowe wrote a review May 2022
4 contributions
Another great stay at this beautiful hotel, and it always exceeds your expectations. I travel regularly and stay here and the staff (just to mention a few Sam, Niall and all the front of house staff and bar staff) are excellent, and nothing is too much trouble.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Niall Burns, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear legallowe Thank you for your review after your stay with us and I am delighted you had a great experience whilst you were here. Than you also for your kind words in regards to the team, which I have passed onto them also and they extend their thanks. Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$247 - US$344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
culloden estate hotel holywood, culloden estate and spa, culloden hotel, culloden estate holywood
LOCATION
United KingdomNorthern IrelandBelfast
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Culloden Estate & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Culloden Estate & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Clip 'n Climb Dundonald (7.2 km), HMS Caroline (7.8 km), and Ulster Folk Museum (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Culloden Estate & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Culloden Estate & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Culloden Estate & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Culloden Estate & Spa?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Culloden Estate & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mayur Indian Restaurant, Cinnamon, and Tale of Spice.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Culloden Estate & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Culloden Estate & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Culloden Estate & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Culloden Estate & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Culloden Estate & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Culloden Estate & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parliament Buildings (5.6 km), Andrew Jackson Centre (8.0 km), and Grey Point Fort (4.7 km).