We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
45 Malone Road, Belfast BT9 6RX Northern Ireland
E-mail hotel
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$169
View deal
Agoda.comUS$169
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
FindHotel
View all 9 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (129)
Room & Suite (41)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 13/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 13/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 55 hotels in Belfast
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Harrison Chambers of Distinction are restored landmark Victorian merchants’ residences dating from 1879 designed to serve the culturally curious traveller. Learn all about the first family to live here and their fascinating lives. Owner Melanie Harrison has expertly woven past and present into an individual celebration of a city like no other. Each of the 17 rooms combines pieces collect
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Taxi service
Adults only
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
Umbrella
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Romantic
102Reviews0Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 97
  • 1
  • 2
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tringaligiuseppe wrote a review Jun 2022
Athens, Greece7 contributions5 helpful votes
the place is absolutely great, because of the quality of the rooms and the communal areas. what also really impressed me was the great personal touch by the host from check throughout the staying and all the way to the check out. a Boutique hotel that i really enjoyed staying in even if for only one night. I will definitely go back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: ask for the suites facing Maloney road!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Info Harrison, Owner at The Harrison
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We pride ourselves on our warm welcome. Hope to see you again soon
Read more
RoseyDerry wrote a review Jan 2022
Derry97 contributions64 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This Wonderful Overnight Stay, was simply the Best place, I have ever stayed in Belfast and I have stayed in many hotels in Belfast before. Melanie, what a beautiful person to be greeted by. Her lovely nature, made us feel very welcome and very special too. We arrived very early, with the only attention to leave our bags off, so we could attend our Daughter's graduation. The wonderful person Melanie is, she made us a wonderful pot of tea, with delicious mince pies; while the finishing touches were made to our room and that was more than 2 hours early for check-in. The Room we stayed in, was the 'Ruby Murray Suite', situated at the front with an amazing Bay Window. In the room, we had a Fantastic Four Poster Bed, with a free standing bath with lovely pieces of antique furniture and our own mini Christmas in the room too. The bathroom, had a fabulous 'Rain' shower and stocked with lovely toiletries. The breakfast was brought up our room, which was absolutely delicious. I can't highly recommend this wonderful place enough and we would definitely stay there again! Thank You so much Melanie
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from The Harrison, Owner at The Harrison
Responded 25 Jan 2022
What a fantastic review. We are so so touched. It was our absolute pleasure and we only to glad to make your stay special. Do come back again.
Read more
Mia G wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
What a nice hotel -- I wholly recommend this hotel! This is the hotel for you if you're tired of the corporate hotels which could be anywhere and yet you like a little luxury. This hotel was really lovely, each room uniquely done up, reflecting the lovely and quirky taste of the owner -- it was a real treat to stay there. The location is great (just up the hill from Queen's University, near the Botanic Gardens, near some good restaurants). The people at the hotel are friendly, chatty, and helpful. I stayed in the Heaney room (named after Seamus Heaney) which I loved (although I was very curious about the Van Morrison room!).
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Info Harrison, Owner at The Harrison
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for this wonderful review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our warm hospitality!
Read more
Voyage722357 wrote a review Jun 2022
8 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
Had a wonderful few days on our first trip to Belfast. Hotel situated in a brilliant location a small step away from the city centre and close to parks pubs and restaurants. We were greated by the wonderful Amanda whose knowledge of the hotel and Belfast itself was amazing. All of the staff were very pleasent, friendly and happy to help or just stop for a friendly chat. The hotel is full of quirky decor which you can't help having another look at. Wallpaper blinds cussions all uniquely designed by local small businesses. Rooms are very clean, comfortable and practical. Enjoyed the late night chats with the owner Mel who is full of knowledge and happy to share her time with her guests. Mel and all her staff made you feel very welcome and made sure that you had a good experience of Belfast for every guest. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Info Harrison, Owner at The Harrison
Responded 2 weeks ago
How wonderful! Thank you so much for this glowing review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our warm hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Read more
CahalMcLaughlin wrote a review Jun 2022
Belfast, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
A richly designed and comfortable accommodation with a very warm welcome. Fresh breakfast with lovely coffee! Close to restaurants, Botanic park, Ulster Museum, Queens University, and a short walk to the city centre. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Info Harrison, Owner at The Harrison
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your kind words! It was a pleasure meeting you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Elspeth F wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Wonderful warm welcome from Amanda whose all m was clearly to ensure total enjoyment during our trip.Our room (upgraded to suite) was full of fascinating curios and the decor was delightfully quirky. Bathing in our in-room tub brought us to a time period where staff would have brought up vats jugs of hot water - the relief of running hot water! A fantastically comfy bed enabled a restorative sleep for my oft-insomniac partner and I before breakfast was delivered direct to our suite at the requested hour - a very substantial continental served on bone china. The hotel’s hotline to a taxi firm made getting to our various weekend destinations stress-free and there was a delicious aperitif to be had in the residents’ bar, mixed by the ever present and always keen to assist Amanda. Owner Melanie’s attention to detail clearly cascades to all staff and she has made a unique 21st experience of Victoriana in this leafy area of Belfast. The city centre is at a walkable distance and you can take in the Botanic Gardens, the Ulster Museum and Queens as you stroll into town. Thank you for a special Jubilee weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Info Harrison, Owner at The Harrison
Responded 2 weeks ago
How Lovely!! Thank you both so much for this wonderful review. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you both and we are delighted you enjoyed our unusual decor, interesting curios around the hotel and our warm hospitality. Until next time!
Read more
gsorohan wrote a review Jun 2022
Quintana Roo12 contributions20 helpful votes
Excellent stylish hotel with very welcoming staff. My wife and I had a wonderful stay here at The Harrison. The style of the hotel was very well done and our room was so cosy and the bed was so comfortable. Amanda and all the other staff at the hotel were incredibly helpful and engaging. We will definitely be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Info Harrison, Owner at The Harrison
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and warm welcome by all the staff. We are looking forward to your return.
Read more
Dalton56 wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
A very quirky unusual accomodation. No tv in room, while unusual wasn’t a game breaker. The one deal breaker was the disappointing continental breakfast. One slice of brown toast between two of us and one slice of fruit cake each. Would have expected cold meat and cheese and more toast.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Info Harrison, Owner at The Harrison
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed our quirky interiors!
Read more
Sharon R wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
What can I say, this hotel is stunning. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the room was gorgeous and spacious, the location was perfect. My only complaint would be that the breakfast wasn't really to our tastes but it was a fairly standard continental breakfast and it was brought to the room which was nice. Overall a lovely stay made even better by the lovely staff, we will definitely stay again next time we are in Belfast.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Info Harrison, Owner at The Harrison
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Sharon, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon
Read more
Lucy G wrote a review Jun 2022
Liverpool4 contributions3 helpful votes
We booked a last minute hotel room as our air bnb fell through. It cost us £364 for the room, for which I was expecting top luxury. Unfortunately it was not. The reception desk was reminiscent of a restaurant brasserie, the coffee in the room came in nestle sachets with a small kettle , the breakfast was average to poor ( Tesco croissants and generic jam, and the coffee pot was so weak we thought it was tea!) Overall we felt we had been ripped off. The staff were super friendly and for this I can not fault the place. If it had been £160 for the night we would have been happy, but not for £364. We also had to pay £30 extra for an early check in which also seemed a liberty at that price. The room had cheap fake flowers and some of the prints on the wall had clearly been printed on a home printer and poorly done. Overall not worth the money, all smoke no fire.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Info Harrison, Owner at The Harrison
Responded 3 weeks ago
Oh dear. You don't like our little rose air freshners ? We thought they were cute. Not supposed to emulate a real flower. They diffuse perfume into the room through the petals. Our decor is very unique and very off the wall. It doesn't quite suit everyone and perhaps you wanted something more traditional. We thought you would like the four poster bed and bath tub in the room. It is a favourite for honeymoons and special birthdays. Many people love the Bronte suite and it is often requested. It's the main photo on our trip advisor page. It is the first time anyone has complained about this room. I think if you had booked direct through the website you would have seen that it was not a chain hotel like you would maybe be used to ? The property tends to attract a more artistic crowd and actually most of the art such as paintings and sculptures are created by local artists so I'm not sure why you thought I had printed them out ? Maybe it was the wifi passwords printed in the little frames you found offensive ? The breakfast tray delivered to room is continental on a tray with fresh baked croissants, breads, cheeses, granola, fresh fruit, yogurt and juices. Agreed the jam is in a plastic package for hygiene purposes which isnt ideal but its practical as it also reduces waste. Again it's not a traditonal fry like normal hotels. Some love it some don't. It's a shame you didn't like our decor and felt it was worthy of only one star but it's hard to please all tastes. Belfast had many music festivals that weekend and also was the Queens Jubilee weekend. When you book online last moment and add extras it does tend to push the price up. That was unfortunate that your airbnb let you down and you had to pay hotel prices in the end . While it is disappointing for us to get a poor review after all the hard work our staff put in to try and make each stay special we accept your opinion.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$175 - US$258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomNorthern IrelandBelfast
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Harrison
Which popular attractions are close to The Harrison?
Nearby attractions include Ulster Museum (0.3 km), The Tropical Ravine House (0.4 km), and The Jeggy Nettle Pub (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Harrison?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Harrison?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Harrison?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Harrison?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Welcome Restaurant, Yum, and The Barking Dog Restaurant Belfast.
Are there any historical sites close to The Harrison?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Crumlin Road Gaol (3.2 km), Parliament Buildings (7.4 km), and Falls Road (1.9 km).