We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Malone Hotel

Save
Share
60 Eglantine Avenue Malone Road, Belfast BT9 6DY Northern Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
ZenHotels.com
US$138
View deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (438)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (265)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 14/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 14/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#30 of 55 hotels in Belfast
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Formerly the Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, the hotel has undergone a major transformation of it's bar & restaurant and re-opened as "The Malone." Discover tranquillity and a welcoming Irish Hospitality at 4* The Malone in South Belfast, situated in the peaceful, leafy suburbs of the Queen's Quarter, just minutes from the city centre. The Malone is one of Belfast's finest four-star boutique townhouse hotels. Our new restaurant, Gallery and The Greyhound Bar offer a relaxed atmosphere with great local food and service.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
1925Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 960
  • 513
  • 224
  • 132
  • 96
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
J T wrote a review 3 Jul
9 contributions10 helpful votes
We stayed for 3 nights in late April 2022. We were given a roomy and generous one bedroom apartment. There was an ensuite bathroom and toilet, kitchen with kettle, microwave, oven, and washing machine. There was an expansive lounge with TV and a adjacent dining area. Very well located to Queen's University,The Botanic Gardens and The Ulster Museum(Highly Recommended). There were numerous restaurants at both end of Eglantine Road, so no problem with finding food in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Eve McMurray, Marketing at The Malone Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for the lovely review!
Read more
Candice R wrote a review 1 Jul
2 contributions
We booked a twin room in the main hotel for a short stay in Belfast. The room was lovely, clean, and very nicely decorated. It looks exactly as it does in the photos. The room is much larger than we expected. The front desk staff is very attentive and friendly. They offer luggage hold which was convenient. The lobby and bar area were also very nicely appointed and clean. I felt very safe traveling here as far as how well sanitized everything was. I also accidentally left an earring in the room when we checked out. The housekeeping staff found it and returned it to me. We did have some difficulty with the hot water which seems to be a prevalent problem looking at other reviews. We only stayed one night and during our morning showers, we could only get lukewarm water. We had to be on our way so we didn't have time for them to sort it. The location is a bit further away from the city center so keep that in mind as you plan your bookings. It is a bit too far to walk to most of the attractions but only a short drive. Uber drivers didn't seem to want to pick up trips from there to the main areas. Maybe it's not worth it for them to leave the main area and drive over there for a short/cheap trip? Luckily the hotel coordinates a rather quick cab service which was reasonably priced. Our only real complaint about this property was the noise level. I don't think there was any air conditioning (like most hotels in Ireland) so it is necessary to have the windows open at night during a summer stay. This hotel is located along a long block of terrace house-type buildings. There is a surprising amount of foot traffic along this area well into the early morning hours (perhaps coming from a nearby bar?). We choose this booking a bit further away wanting a quiet night and there were large groups of people standing around on the street smoking, laughing, and generally being very loud. Obviously, this is not the fault of the hotel but it was quite a frustration. It was a very nice hotel and we would stay again, but perhaps in cooler weather when the windows could be shut.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Eve McMurray, Marketing at The Malone Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for the review! We're sorry to hear about the noise levels you experienced from outside the hotel and hope with your next stay this doesn't happen again.
Read more
955Spark_123 wrote a review Jun 2022
Dublin, Ireland4 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel has clearly been renovated to look modern and hip but this is all smoke and mirrors. I stayed here as I was attending a wedding in the hotel. I had booked two rooms and one for myself and one for my brother. My room was on level 3 which they clearly have not gotten to renovate yet. Small uncomfortable bed, the bathroom tiles were so slippy and something out of the 80s. The taps were so worn that they had to write the H (hot) and C (cold) markings in black tip pen so you would know which tap to use. There was literally one plug for the whole room, myself and my partner had to fight over who charged their phone that night. The room was also so hot thankfully the windows opened. My brother on the other hand was on Level 1 and had a huge newly renovated room, huge king size bed, coffee machine, gorgeous bathroom and aircon. We decided to book breakfast at check in as we were only there for one night and didn't want to try find somewhere in the morning. We got a discount rate but family members paid 18 POUNDS for what can only be described as something you would give to animals. There was a menu and when I asked for the pancakes I was told I would have to wait and someone would come back to take my order, but no one came back. I decided to then just get food from the hot buffet, the food was an absolute disgrace. Stale overcooked breakfast items like hash browns, rashers, and pudding. I asked if they could bring out fresh scrambled eggs, they came out and they were black! no joke!. I had a few hash browns, toast, and orange juice and left it at that. The fact they are charging people 18 pounds is absolute robbery. Do yourself a favour save your money and stay somewhere nicer in the city the price and service do not match up.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for newly renovated room
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Seánna Kerr, Sales at The Malone Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Hi, I'm sorry to hear you did not have a good experience staying with us, as we pride ourselves on guest satisfaction. Unfortunately there is still renovations pending for the 3rd floor bedrooms. Complaints like this can be brought to reception and we can rectify this on the day for you. I sincerely apologise for your experience, we do hope this does not discourage you from staying again. If you would like to get in contact with the hotel and we can hopefully rectify this for you. Kind Regards, Seánna
Read more
_herolds2 wrote a review Jun 2022
Florissant, Colorado3 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed here 2 night, we had 2 rooms. When we arrived at 4:30 1 room was not ready. We ask a good place for dinner was told the bar but didn’t know of anywhere around. We decided to walk down the street, surrounding neighborhood is a bit ran down. Went back to the bar no one was around finally someone came in we asked for a menu and was told we needed to go to the restaurant. Nobody seemed to know what was going on. The room my daughter was in the toilet didn’t work. We’re told to use the lobby toilet. Would not give them a different room. They were told it would be fixed the next day. We were out the whole day retuned around 8:00pm. Toilet was not fixed. There was a wedding reception going on. Do not think you are getting any kind of service if that is happening. We went to the restaurant they said they were not serving food because of the reception except for people with the party. Bartender was working for the reception as well. Asked the lady at the front desk if there were any places we could have food delivered. She had no idea. Over all definitely would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Seánna Kerr, Sales at The Malone Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Hi, I apologise that you did not enjoy your time with us at The Malone Hotel. Wedding receptions can be busy but we can always accommodate our other guests with food and beverage during that time. If you would like to get in contact with the hotel to discuss this further, I'd be happy to help as we pride ourselves on guest satisfaction, we would like a chance to rectify this with you. Kind Regards, Seánna
Read more
JaneChrisKierst wrote a review Jun 2022
Market Harborough, United Kingdom95 contributions73 helpful votes
The Malone hotel public rooms were large and pleasant and some had clearly been recently renovated to a beautiful standard. The dining room was particularly stylish and the breakfast good, though we weren't always brought what we'd asked for. The bedrooms were OK but our party required two doubles and one was very much larger and up to date than the other! Talk about causing arguments!! Room service was a bit chaotic - items we requested taken to the wrong room etc. We received toilet rolls when we'd asked for towels! We also had 4 wine glasses we had brought with us removed by room service and it took us until checking out 2 days later to get them back! There were lots of functions taking place in the hotel and we got the feeling that they were taking precedence over normal customers. The Malone is a lovely, large hotel but organisation was a little lacking.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Seánna Kerr, Sales at The Malone Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Hi Jane, I apologise for your experience staying with us. There was mis communication between reception and yourself regarding towels and room service. There is pending more renovations on more rooms, therefor each room will be renovated to the standard. With functions it can be busy but we can always accommodate our other guests during that time. We hope this does not discourage you from staying with us in future. Kind Regards, Seánna
Read more
CathyJ9b wrote a review May 2022
Chelsea, Canada204 contributions118 helpful votes
We were very pleased with our stay. The hotel is in a great location close to the University in a lovely spot in Belfast south. Very comfortable rooms with all the amenities. The restaurant in the hotel, The Gallery was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Eve McMurray, Marketing at The Malone Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for the review! We hope you stay again with us soon!
Read more
Elw-cymru wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
I am not one to give bad reviews but this hotel had very bad customer service. We were 'upgraded' to another room that was not in the hotel but across the road. The suite felt very cheap and not like the rooms we'd seen on the website. We were not told where anything was, no mention of our options if we wanted breakfast or anything. We asked for ammeniaties (teas coffee etc) on the second day and never received them. Our sink was blocked for our entire stay. Just didnt feel welcomed at all, which is a shame because the lobby of the hotel was lovely- but thats all we sadly saw of the hotel. I stay in Belfast very regularly and this was one of the most dissappointing hotels I've stayed in.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Seánna Kerr, Sales at The Malone Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Hi, I apologise you did not enjoy your stay with us as we do pride ourselves on guest satisfaction. A lot of our rooms have now been renovated to a high standard. We hope this wont discourage you from staying with us again. Kind Regards, Seánna
Read more
Cheryl B wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
My friend and I booked an overnight stay to attend a gig and fancied treating ourselves to a stay in Malone Hotel. We were really impressed with the warm welcome and the pleasant reception at check in. Classy feel to the decor, beautiful comfortable room with one of the most spacious bathrooms I’ve ever seen in a hotel. There are a couple of issues we felt that let it down slightly. Firstly, the bar. Whilst I firmly believe in being courteous and supportive of staff in what has been difficult times, the bar staff on duty were both, by their own admission, new. That’s ok, great, but they were unsupervised and really didn’t seem to know the lay of the land, didn’t know their products and were out of their depth on what was a quiet period. They were both nervous and so unsure of themselves. We got our drinks and it didn’t ruin our afternoon, it’s just worth mentioning the clear lack of product training etc. Secondly, breakfast was a major let down. A weak and watery reception, again, the staff member seemed untrained and out of her depth. We were given our table, only for it to be given to another customer whilst we were at the buffet!! My friend asked for salt & pepper, the waitress duly got them and gave them to another table!! Buffet was so so disappointing. No bacon. Lack lustre, stone cold plates. The continental was totally underwhelming. Not worth the £12 each at all. To summarise, beautiful hotel but such a disappointing breakfast experience. Our stay still warrants a high rating but areas definitely need improvement.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Seánna Kerr, Sales at The Malone Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Hi, Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the rooms! I apologise about the staff as we have recently hired a lot of new staff to meet business needs and they are still in training. We hope this does not discourage you from returning and enjoying our food and beverage options. Kind Regards, Seánna
Read more
DMJEN wrote a review May 2022
Belfast6 contributions18 helpful votes
Stayed on 1st may as part of a Sunday stay over package for our anniversary. From checkin when the room wasn't ready until 4.30pm then to find someone else’s bags in our room, to being made to feel embarrassed by the waitress stating it was a glass of wine inc in our package and not a bottle as advertised. Long wait for food and to have order taken. Clearly understaffed and staff actually quite rude too, no explanation at breakfast as to where things were or even a good morning. Emailed the hotel twice and no reply, says a lot really. I would not recommend this hotel at all the food was tasty and nice decor on hotel but unfortunately the customer service is not good.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Curious296941 wrote a review May 2022
6 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed for two nights at the end of April, and are so pleased with our choice of hotel. Mia on Reception was absolutely brilliant, I cannot say enough about her absolute devotion to her guests. She was incredibly helpful with restaurant suggestions and taxi bookings. Our room was spacious, very charming and spotless. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Would absolutely recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Eve McMurray, Marketing at The Malone Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for the review!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$118 - US$186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
malone lodge hotel and apartments, malone hotel belfast, malone hotel apartments
LOCATION
United KingdomNorthern IrelandBelfast
NUMBER OF ROOMS
71
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Malone Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Malone Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Ulster Museum (0.5 km), ryans belfast (0.2 km), and The Jeggy Nettle Pub (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Malone Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Malone Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Malone Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Malone Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Welcome Restaurant, The Mad Hatter Cafe & Pizzeria, and The Barking Dog Restaurant Belfast.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Malone Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Malone Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Malone Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Crumlin Road Gaol (3.1 km), Parliament Buildings (7.5 km), and Falls Road (1.7 km).
Is The Malone Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.