We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Manor House At Celtic Manor

Save
Share
Coldra Woods, Newport NP18 1HQ Wales
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (174)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (16)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#11 of 19 hotels in Newport
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set within 2000 acres of parkland in the beautiful Usk Valley, this historic 19th-century manor house features original features such as wood-panelled walls and a sweeping wooden staircase.The Manor House at Celtic Manor offers 70 traditionally-styled guestrooms, each of which has been updated to offer a range of modern comforts, whilst still retaining the original character of the property.Guests can dine in the on-site AA Rosette restaurant, which is has direct access to the larger resort hotel. This features additional facilities such as 2 health clubs and spas, 3 championship golf courses and an outdoor play area for children.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car park
Wifi
Indoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Tennis court
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Salon
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
450Reviews7Q+A92Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 93
  • 141
  • 101
  • 58
  • 57
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lesley C wrote a review Sep 2020
Egham, United Kingdom2 contributions
In March 2020 (prior to lock-down) my husband and friends arranged a visit to Celtic Manor to play all 3 courses during their golfing break. This was booked directly with the hotel and they were told that the courses were playable. On arrival they were advised by the course officials that nothing was playable and hadn't been for weeks as they'd only had 16 dry days in 4 months. They also told them that the hotel continued to take bookings even though they were aware of this. They were left with no option but to check out and return home early as there was no golf available. As they were misled during the booking procedure they requested a discount with the receptionist. After waiting 45 minutes for a manager they were eventually offered 14% off their bill and told that they could return within 6 months and play the 2010 course for the same price. They re-booked and returned earlier this week. The 2010 course price-agreement was not upheld. Although they received a small discount to their green fees it was still substantially more than the original price. Unfortunately my husband's hotel experience was very disappointing; a stained towel and blood on the bed sheet! He raised this with reception on 2 occasions. On the first occasion (after showing photos) he was promised that his room would be serviced that day. When he returned to his room later that afternoon it was unmade and exactly as he'd left it with the addition of a cleaning service bag at the end of his bed (towels, loo roll, coffee, toiletries etc.) He returned to reception on a second occasion to explain the situation, the receptionist said that there had been a confusion and apologized, but still nothing was done. He slept for a second night on blood-stained sheets. During the night a bill was pushed under his door deducting 17% off his bill. Before check-out he asked the receptionist how much she would pay to sleep in a blood-stained bed for 2 nights during the Covid19 period, especially as it had been brought to the hotel's attention on day one. He was redeemed the cost of 1 night. How easy should it have been to resolve this and make him (your customer) happy??? Very, very poor customer safety and service. He will not return. It's a real shame as the 2010 is a great course!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellison CMR, Guest Services / Front Office at The Manor House At Celtic Manor
Responded 27 Sep 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit to Celtic Manor. I am very sorry that we have failed to meet your expectations on this occasion and would like to apologise for the inconvenience you have experienced, especially with the golf facilities and service element of the resort. The Celtic Manor strives to always deliver 5 star service and we appreciate your feedback with regards to this matter and will take your comments on board to assist us in improving our service delivery. Kind regards,
Read more
Carole W wrote a review Sep 2020
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom14 contributions11 helpful votes
The staff were really friendly but the food in the Pad is worse than dreadful. Tasteless and worse than supermarket bought takeaway. Nothing felt like the kitchen had tried! No seasoning, no taste, and the cheesecake warm. The view from our table was the entry and exit barrier to the site which was hardly romantic! The Bao buns stopped us from leaving. They were great but I suspect not booked on site. Terrible terrible meal.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellison CMR, Guest Services / Front Office at The Manor House At Celtic Manor
Responded 27 Sep 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit to Celtic Manor. I am very sorry that we have failed to meet your expectations on this occasion and would like to apologise for the inconvenience you have experienced at The PAD Restaurant. The Celtic Manor strives to always deliver 5 star service and we appreciate your feedback with regards to this matter and will take your comments on board to assist us in improving our service delivery. Kind regards,
Read more
kerry b wrote a review Mar 2020
wales uk5 contributions3 helpful votes
have had afternoon tea in many places but this is the worst. staff lovely but thats it. came away very hungry. 4 tiny finger sarnies and a few shop bought tasteless cakes. the scones were warmed in microwave and awful. will never go again
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from PhillippaCMR, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor House At Celtic Manor
Responded 15 Mar 2020
Thank you for your review of afternoon tea and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at the hotel. Our afternoon tea is very popular and our cakes are created inhouse. I do hope that you mentioned your feedback during your visit to the hotel so that they could of addressed your concerns whilst at the hotel. Kind regards Michelle
Read more
Kate M wrote a review Mar 2020
Barry, United Kingdom111 contributions36 helpful votes
Stayed for 1 night during ICCA conference. The Manor House is like the more refined older brother of the Main Resort. Has all the same access to the amenities as if you were staying at the Celtic Manor property with the added advantage of being slightly quieter. Elemis products were incredible, room clean and bed very comfortable. Service as everywhere on the resort was outstanding . Had fantastic receptionist - who rung me 11 March to let me know check in ready earlier than expected. Really went above & beyond.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from PhillippaCMR, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor House At Celtic Manor
Responded 15 Mar 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and so pleased that you came to stay during a conference at the ICCA conference. So pleased that you experienced the Celtic Manor hospitality. I hope that we can welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Michelle
Read more
Kathryn G wrote a review Feb 2020
Aberdare, United Kingdom10 contributions
+1
Stayed in the Manor house room was not 5⭐ experience cigarette buts out side on the ledge of window lamps where dirty and broken furniture and room decor very dated stain on the voile and bed cover. shower glass dirty not up to scratch for the prices that are charged
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from PhillippaCMR, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor House At Celtic Manor
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies that you encountered issues with your room. Please be assured that this will be followed up with the housekeeping management team. We are due for a refurbishment of some of the Manor House later this year. Kind regards Michelle
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$130 - US$364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the manor house at celtic manor hotel newport
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouthern WalesNewport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Manor House At Celtic Manor
What are some of the property amenities at The Manor House At Celtic Manor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Manor House At Celtic Manor?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Manor House At Celtic Manor?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Manor House At Celtic Manor?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Manor House At Celtic Manor?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bell, Los Reyes Tapas & Wine Bar, and Steak on Six.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Manor House At Celtic Manor?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Manor House At Celtic Manor?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Manor House At Celtic Manor offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Manor House At Celtic Manor?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Caerleon Roman Fortress and Baths (1.8 km), Caerleon Amphitheatre (2.7 km), and Caerleon Lodge Hill Fort (3.1 km).
Is The Manor House At Celtic Manor accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.