We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road

Agoda.comUS$135*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$141*
US$135*
Great Deal
US$137*
US$137*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 61: English reviews
Start your review of SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road
 Click to rate
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

clean, fresh, modern and comfortable. We would definitely use SACO again. Just a couple of small faults, dressing table with mirror in the bedroom but no chair to sit on at it or plug for hairdryer and we were sent the wrong entry code. Would be useful to be able to book parking when booking apartment as I had to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank petral546
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We recently stayed at these apartments. Before we went I called to upgrade my apartment as we needed an extra bed and booked an extra day,which they did gladly. The apartment was very spacious and was equipped with everything we could need. I would definitely recommend this for everyone who would like to visit Cardiff. The only negative point is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam19Hu
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent location for seeing all sights of Cardiff (walking distance). Modern and spacious apartment with all equipment needed to feed a family of 5. We ate in for breakfast and evening meal both days. Would look out for SACO for next city break.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank janicet8
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Entry into the apartment was an issue but got resolved quickly over the phone but speaking to someone in Birmingham when asked for an extra Duvet again someone in Birmingham who said it would be supplied for the next day as the apartments are unmanned but we only there for one night and we ran out of hot water in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 222shakila
Bicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017

My family recently stayed at the SACO Cardiff location from 17-20 February. The apartment was wonderful; no complaints whatsoever about the facilities. Access was simple once the kinks were worked out. This was the least traditional reservation/admin process for any hotel I've ever used. I made a reservation (pre-paid) on Hotels.com. There are some hiccups there to watch out for;...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gertuitous
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review SACO Cardiff. I am delighted you enjoyed the apartments and the facilities on offer. I am however sorry to hear there was an issue with the administration side of your booking. I have investigated this for you and understand that due to an unforeseen major plumbing issue, your apartment type was changed...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

I didn't receive the access code to the apartment. It took us 1 hour in the phone to get in. When we enter, the apartment was freeze. Imposible to sleep there. We were there with 2 small kids. No extra blanquets. Terrible experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank martabG1144ZN
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of SACO, Cardiff. It is with your feedback we can continue to make improvements to our service and quality of accommodation. I sincerely apologise for the issues you experienced of gaining access to the property and that the apartment was then cold upon check in. I have checked our system and can see a confirmation...

Grimstad, Norway
Reviewed 16 November 2016

The positives: + big functional appartment, +, good location, + clean, + service minded house keeping staff, + welcome pack with breakfast the first night. However, the service provided from SACO is terrible. We asked for a baby bed for our stay. SACO was happy to provide that for a whooping 90£ extra. When we arrived at the apparparment at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bjos
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to write a review. Your lovely comments on the apartments are appreciated. However, I was concerned about your comments regarding the baby bed that was supplied to you. We supply travel cots for babies and infants not beds. The travel cots come with a thin quilted base mattress. As you mentioned they can also...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Great apartment and very tidy and clean. Could be a bit more clear on security deposits for staying. Handy for the town centre. Breakfast freebie a little tight. 2 small boxes of cereal for 2 people for 2 days.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kris t
JennieGM, Public Relations Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us here at SACO Cardiff. We will pass your comments on to the Cardiff team. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit. Kind regards Georgina

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

After recently booking a SACO Apartment in Cardiff for July 2017 online we experienced some really funny business. At the time of booking we were asked to pay the whole balance which we did (circa £300 for 2 nights), and no request for a deposit was requested. just over a week later we receive an email stating the booking had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy W
JennieGM, Public Relations Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry that you were not able to experience a stay at our SACO apartments. Unfortunately I am not aware of the circumstances which led to your booking being cancelled. Please can I ask that you contact me on ghennessy@sacoapartments.com to discuss further. Kind regards Georgina

Chengdu, China
Reviewed 17 July 2016

These apartments are small but very well resourced. We had the little one at the back first of all which is nice and quiet. It's compact but perfectly fine for two people and has everything you could need. However, there was a small problem in that the blackout blind in the bedroom had broken and so it was too light...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MerionT
JennieGM, Public Relations Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us here at SACO Cardiff We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and everything a SACO serviced apartment has to offer. Thank you for your comments regarding the furnishings, it is only with honest feedback that we can continue to...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff
0.2 km away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Town House
The Town House
#16 of 46 in Cardiff
119 reviews
0.1 km away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#1 of 46 in Cardiff
126 reviews
3.2 km away
A Space in the City @ Quayside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This stunning restoration of magnificent Victorian town houses provides one and two bedroom apartments overlooking Sophia Gardens and Glamorgan County Cricket Ground. The apartments have been interior designed in a contemporary style featuring a large living/dining area (some with sofa beds), fully equipped kitchen, master bedroom with king size beds and separate bathroom. Two bedroom apartments also have king size beds and additional en-suite shower rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road

Address: Saco House 76 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Price Range: €101 - €199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saco Hotel Cardiff
SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rear apartments, gate access - no good for take away deliveries”
202carlk, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the ground floor if you want a quiet stay.”
MichaelI746, 19 Apr 2014 | Read review
“make sure you check out the appartment and the itinary, also if you dont see a washer/dryer ASK where it is, we found ours on the day we left in a cupboard outside the appartment”
MaXteK, 28 Aug 2013 | Read review
“I havent had a bad apartment yet - even those with the living spaces facing the road have located their bedrooms to the quiet, leafy rear.”
662MaggieM, 16 Aug 2013 | Read review
“If you don't have earplugs or you have a child or second person sleeping perhaps avoid the rooms facing the street”
OliverL244, 5 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$135* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$137
PricelineUS$137
LateRooms.comUS$141
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates