We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD Wales
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View deal
View deal
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (918)
Room & Suite (217)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#31 of 76 hotels in Cardiff
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 172 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 14.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability).
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Car park
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Laptop safe
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Hungarian and 1 more
3323Reviews59Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,390
  • 1,077
  • 476
  • 211
  • 169
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ryton01 wrote a review Jul 2021
Coventry, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
It really is a shame about our stay, The postives are great location just a 5 minute walk into Cardiff city centre. It has great facillites and the food in the resturant was good and the drinks was reasonably priced for a hotel. The negatives the air-con in the room was not working i belive that we were not alone with this. There was no other room avavilable so had to try and sleep with fans on one of the warmest weekends. Even though the staff did try to help it was disappointing. Also the swimming pool as lovely as it is there is a peice where there is a chunk missing on the floor of the pool and could easily cut yourself. This could be a really good place to stay if they would just have a little more attention to detail. I hate leaving negative feedback but have to be honest.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Sleep Quality
Megan M wrote a review Mar 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
Had a lovely time at the hotel, the staff were all incredibly helpful. Breakfast was good given the restrictions in place. Slept well & the room was comfortable and clean. Looking forward to returning here soon
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Wael Elassal, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Responded 4 Mar 2021
Dear Megan, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review. We look forward to welcoming you back I will be sure to pass your feedback onto the team. With regards, Wael Elassal General Manager.
Read more
SoulRebel wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
Our room was really hot. Air con didn't work but a fan was placed in there, hardly making a difference. We asked at reception, they obviously knew the AC was broken but played dumb and said they'd send maintenance up. We were offered a 50% discount, but to stay in there would have been unbearable. We were also told the hotel was fully booked and we could not move rooms. The other option given by the staff member was to book somewhere else. To the bar to think about it, closed until 6. Great. Two hours later we returned to find AC still not working, and onto reception again. Different member of staff, equally smug and indifferent. Only when I said that I was lied to previously about room availability were we moved to a suite on the top floor. A great upgrade but the hassle to get there made it unpleasant. The room wasn't particularly clean and the fridge was dirty. All in all, it wasn't an enjoyable stay. Cannot stress enough how cold the staff were. The atmosphere was uncomfortable and you could see that other customers were unhappy. A bit like a Welsh Cecil Hotel. Plenty of better places in Cardiff.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Carys R wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Hottest weekend of the month, massive heatwave. We decided to stay at the hotel for our anniversary for 2 nights, when we arrived we got up to our room and the air con was broken and was blowing warm air into the room with no windows and thick curtains shut, it was like a sauna we couldn’t stay in there. We went down to reception to sort it and asked and they said they would put it into our room while we went out for an hour, we came back and still no fan so we asked again they said the same thing and we went out for an hour and came back, still no fan. We then complained and had to follow the house keeping lady to get our fan. This was all due to them refusing to give us a different room because they were “all booked out” however our parents rang them and after a mouthful of words due to the disrespect and lies we received. They then decided to refund us £180 back from a £300 stay, gave us a free bottle of Prosecco and moved our rooms for us. Just a lot of complaints from many customers too that weekend and just the lack of communication to other staff. Overall they sorted out our situation but not until we had to continually ask to get it sorted. Lovely hotel so pretty, access to pool, very overpriced with drinks and food, cleanliness great however few stains on carpet in hallways.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Martin M wrote a review Jul 2021
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom2 contributions
The hotel is in an excellent location for all of Cardiff. The facilities are brilliant with gym, pool and spa all available to guests. The customer service is excellent with all staff so willing to make the stay as easy and welcoming as possible. (Sunjan was particularly helpful with any questions I had)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: July 2021
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
US$56 - US$207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
mercure holland house cardiff hotel cardiff, mercure holland hotel cardiff, accor holland hotel cardiff, holland house hotel cardiff
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesCardiff
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Adventure Rooms Cardiff (0.2 km), Cardiff Castle (0.3 km), and Exitus Escape Rooms (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Giardini di Sorrento Italian Restaurant, The Clink Restaurant, and Pulse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Polish, and Hungarian.