We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Cardiff Central

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Cardiff Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

530 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 524: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge Cardiff Central
 Click to rate
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Everything was pretty much excellent here, as is with all Travelodge hotels, but I feel that the company should provide free Wi-Fi! Apart from that, you get what you pay for, & everything you could need is just a "stone's throw" away!

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z3168YUjennifers
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stay in a lot of Travelodge hotels up and down the country and come to expect a certain standard. However this hotel was like staying in a youth hostel. Positioned above a nightclub the room vibrated until 6am where the music could be heard so prominently it was like trying to sleep in the nightclub itself. The external street...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlanaMJames
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Cardiff Central Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your...

Tredegar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Used this Travelodge for an overnight stay. Room spotlessly clean, shower spotlessly clean, staff very friendly and attentive, what more can you ask for? Great base in the city centre close to everything, definitly use again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 100gaz
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is ideally situated right in heart of city . We used it for a concert one night stay there was some road noise as on a very busy main road with bus stop right outside transport noise was the only down side but acceptable for a one night stay .

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S4554COdavidm
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Cardiff Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. We are pleased to learn that you are happy with the service you received, although we would like to apologise for the noise issue you experienced during your stay. Please rest assured we will pass on your feedback to the Hotel, so it may be looked into further. Thank you...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night as we were going to see Olly Murs . Check in really good and staff helpful . Lots of stains on the corridor carpets and also in our room . Stains on the bottom of the curtains so dread to think what it was ! Bathroom was tired with fixtures loose . Room was really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James G
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Cardiff Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your feedback to...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I wouldn't advise anyone with a family to stay in this hotel as the noise was unbearable. My bedding had make up on it and our heater was broken, this has now left me with a bad chest due to the burning

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank N5527YKemilym
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Cardiff Central, responded to this review

Your feedback is very important to us and thank you for submitting your review. We strive to offer our guests a good night’s sleep and an enjoyable experience whilst staying with us. That is why we are sorry to hear that you were not positively impressed by your last stay in our Cardiff Central hotel due to the noise you...

wales
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great place to stay close to transport links and almost everything you want to see and do.We always ask for a front facing room and it is always pretty quiet for a city center room.The staff that we have met have all been very helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank plasy
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good location for public transport, shopping and pubs/clubs. Downside was that the music from the pubs/clubs next door could be heard in my room. Room was basic but comfortable. All rooms were upstairs - there was a lift but out of order when I went to leave which meant I had difficulty getting my luggage down the stairs. I...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Corinne W
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Cardiff Central Travelodge and taking the time to share your experience with us. We're really sorry to learn of your disappointment with your overall stay. We want our customers to enjoy their experience in our hotels so we are sorry to learn that you did not receive our high standard of facilities on...

West Drayton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location, great facilities and helpful staff. Clean tidy room on 3rd floor. Forgot my hairdryer but one was provided for me free of charge. Reception staff very helpful and informative. Slightly noisy outside at night but didn't cause any problems with sleeping.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathy c
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good hotel for the price, it's cheap and an ideal location for central train station. Limited facilities at the hotel for refreshments so bring your own, but there are plenty of places to eat and drink out or to buy and take back to your room. Ideal if you just need somewhere to sleep.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alun E
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to learn you were happy with the Hotel’s location and that your overall experience was a positive one. We aim to offer our guests great value stays in comfortable surroundings and we are happy to see that this has been achieved. Feedback is invaluable and a copy...

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#18 of 76 in Cardiff
1,148 reviews
0.2 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
880 reviews
0.1 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 76 in Cardiff
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.6 km away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.5 km away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 76 in Cardiff
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Central

Address: Imperial Gate, St Mary's Street, Cardiff CF10 1FA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Price Range: €47 - €173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Cardiff Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Central Hotel Cardiff
Travel Lodge Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Central Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Cardiff Central staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
bristol
over a year ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Cardiff Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great base”
 of 5 bubbles 100gaz, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay here if you want to sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles Nickickick, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Quiet Floor, Accessible”
 of 5 bubbles aggiebaginska, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the top floor and at the back of the hotel are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles rachelsL7115DA, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 204 at the rear of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 5029, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5