We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ibis Cardiff Gate

Show Prices
#26 of 75 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Ibis Cardiff Gate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

529 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 492: English reviews
Kendal
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Easy to find just of motorway. Location ok for Cardiff - costs about £13-15(15 min drive) to get into town by taxi. Welcome was good...smiling staff...now that's quite rare these days. Easy check in...free parking. Room standard for this type of place.....clean and functional. Bed was soft and comfortable. Breakfast was ok, but we ate late and the hot items...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimfol
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

On arrival we were greeted with a smashed front door that was all taped up which looked awful! On coming back to the hotel after a concert, Thomas on reception, was pig Ignorant, stroppy and rude. He hardly lifted his head up from a computer, and huffed, puffed and rolled his eyes as if we were disturbing him. We asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 44LJones
Scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Ibis for one night whilst in Cardiff on Business. The hotel is certainly at the "budget" end of the spectrum. My room was rather tired looking with lots of marks and stains in various spots. The bathroom was spacious but the shower head leaked from all angles. The bed was quite comfortable but sleep was evasive due...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FuriousdScotland
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Accomodation and staff are fine. Only problem - no back bacon, only streaky bacon! The photos of the breakfast advertising in the hotel have back bacon on there. Got to the breakfast, and only very poor streaky bacon supplied. False advertising, I think! The staff told me they have lots of complaints, but can do nothing as this is what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simonmJ8852AU
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review

I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations. I would like to discuss this with you in person. Please could you contact me on 02920 733222. Kind regards Marc Lock

Mellieha, Malta
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AFCMALTA2014
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review

Pembrokeshire Boy!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival reception door all smashed and taped up. On checking in (having booked a room for 3 persons) we were informed that the room is not suitable for 3 adults. Why wait until we were checking in to tell us as had been booked for a little while and we had actually put on the instructions 'room for 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Tenby
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to ibis Cardiff Gate. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about a third person in the room, which we are addressing. Kind regards, Marc Lock

Radcliffe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel for a service area. Staff are really helpful would highly recommend! Nice bar area nice food ! Pool table. Really handy for the city centre and being at the services you can always get fuel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hurstypants15
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Marc Lock

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for business & close location to office. This is a budget hotel so had no high expectations but check in was very quick and efficient. I didn't eat here as was meeting colleagues but room seemed ok for price of room. I stayed in Room 103 which was a twin room & did feel like I was in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mford2112
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly. Kind regards, Marc Lock

Heacham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first stay at ibis, we needed somewhere to stay near Cardiff that was dog friendly. We were really pleased with our room it was bigger than we expected, lovely and clean and had everything we needed for our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpfull Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mandy f
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Marc Lock

Atherstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

This was much better than we expected. The entrance lobby is welcoming and the room much bigger than we had envisaged. It's in a motorway service area so WHSmith and a Burger King are close at hand. Dogs are welcome here which is brilliant there are no signs or smells of any previous four legged friends staying either. We will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BMO123
Marc L, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Marc Lock

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
7.6 km away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
7.2 km away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#25 of 75 in Cardiff
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
7.8 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#24 of 75 in Cardiff
747 reviews
7.1 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ibis Cardiff Gate is a budget hotel, located just outside Cardiff city centre. Book the hotel for access to the M4 as well as Cardiff gate Business Park. The 78 modern guest rooms all have Free Wifi throughout and satellite TV. You can enjoy breakfast ora light meal at the Café or relax with a drink in the friendly bar. There is a meeting room for up to 25 people, and free private outdoor parking available at the hotel. The hotel is perfectly located for Cardiff Gate Business Park, Pentwyn and Pontprennau, and is a 15 minute drive from Cardiff city centre. Cardiff international Airport is 21 km from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff Gate

Address: Malthouse Avenue | Cardiff Gate Business Park, Pontprennau, Cardiff CF23 8RA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: €34 - €114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff Gate 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Cardiff Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Gate Hotel Cardiff
Accor Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate Wales
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Cardiff Gate staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Adelaide, Australia

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Cardiff Gate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose odd numbers for room away from services”
 of 5 bubbles Jeff_a_Karen, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms at front overlook parking and a busy filling station so maybe ask for room at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles Wilkybob, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“in the car park”
 of 5 bubbles davepeel, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I suggest a room on the back side away from the car park.”
 of 5 bubbles petersA5889RC, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Excellent Value and very secure”
 of 5 bubbles jonathanbI9819SC, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay