We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Austins Guesthouse

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Austins Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 225: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Nice and clean, with a small kitchenette, including fridge and microwave. Good size shower room and comfy twin beds. The guest house is opposite the Millennium stadium and a five minute walk to the shopping centre. Plus side - has free parking, (manoeuvring skills essential) negative - no glasses in the room - we had to drink our Prosecco in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
Austins11, Owner at Austins Guesthouse, responded to this review

So good to know you enjoyed your stay here with us at Austins. Sorry about the glasses - you only had to ask and we would have provided these for you. They get broken and disappear from rooms - it's hard to keep up with every small item sometimes. Come back and see us again soon - you are always... More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Iv stayed 3 nights in a twin room the room was clean and comfortable it was a little small for a twin room but we managed it had tea and coffee but no biscuits in the room and the is no parking as its all residential parking i would stay again

Helpful?
Thank andybate1967
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was a very nice, clean room, adequate for an overnight stay and close to everything. Opposite the millenium stadium and 2 minutes from Cardiff castle. It was quite a small family room but as we only stayed 1 night it was ok. Good price too.

Helpful?
Thank Debby12313
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

As a group of eight we booked this guesthouse because it was located close to all most of the spots in the city of Cardiff. As all the came from different places in Europe all couples arrived at a different time. Me and my girlfriend arrived about an hour before the official check-in but we could go to our rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarkAdriaanse
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016

This guest house is in an excellent location. The castle and Millennium Stadium could be seen from my room.It is a five minute walk to dozens of restaurants, bars and shops. I stayed in room 2,a single room on the ground floor with shared bathroom.The bathroom would not be out of place in a 5 star hotel,absolutely stunning and huge... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mekongmarcus
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Clean modern-styled rooms, not too much space, but brilliantly located, at a fraction of the price of a hotel stay, and even bargain-priced for a B&B. Highly recommended. Poached egg for breakfast choice.

Helpful?
Thank John P
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Booked two nights in superior twin room ensuite for Saturday and Sunday night. Arrived about 4.30 pm to find nowhere to park outside. Owner announced they had stopped issuing parking permits about 18 months ago and we had to park in another street where it was free between 6pm and 8am but we had to get up early and go... More 

Helpful?
Thank tgpollart
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Checked in on the 22nd were showed to our room and never set eyes on any other staff the rest of our stay. We were in 1 of the superior rooms which was clean n tidy. Horrible smell from the bathroom. Our stay was 3 nights the towels weren't changed whilst we were there, there is nowhere to put clothes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janet M
Austins11, Owner at Austins Guesthouse, responded to this review

A very unfair and inaccurate review of our Continental Breakfast Menu. So for the benefit of others who may like to take the time to read this, here is what we ACTUALLY offer all our customers for the sum of £6.00 which includes Service and VAT. I think you will agree with me that for £6.00 this represents REALLY GOOD... More 

Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2016

I stayed in a single room with shared bathroom. The room was clean, had a TV and sink. The walls are a bit thin, so I could hear people in the next room but it didn't get too loud. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is great, it's not far from the station and the Megabus bus... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MHeckelmann
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

I was really impressed with the place. The room was a good size with en suite bathroom and kitchen. Perfect location- close to the train station, close to the city centre. It was very easy to go to the cardiff bay/ Mermaid quay via the boat from the bute park which is 2 minutes away from this place. The price... More 

Helpful?
Thank nisha j

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.3 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#19 of 75 in Cardiff
859 reviews
0.5 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#20 of 75 in Cardiff
1,077 reviews
1.6 km away
Ty Rosa B&B
Ty Rosa B&B
#3 of 45 in Cardiff
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small friendly B&B in Cardiff City Centre. 300m from Cardiff Castle and overlooking the river. The Central Bus and Train Station is a 10 minute walk along the riverbank. All the main attractions including the Millennium Stadium, Cardiff International Areana and all the shops and restaurants are just a few minutes walk from our door. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Austins Guesthouse

Address: 11 Coldstream Terrace, Cardiff CF11 6LJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: €40 - €71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Austins Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Booking.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Austins Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austins Hotel Cardiff
Austins Guesthouse Cardiff, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Austins Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Nottingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Austins Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in room 9 in the twin room”
 of 5 bubbles andybate1967, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Shared room bathroom is 5 star”
 of 5 bubbles Mekongmarcus, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“My room was in the basement so be careful of stairs”
 of 5 bubbles WatPond, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“guest house 2 nice rooms”
 of 5 bubbles dave19590306, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Superior Twin Room - you get your own shower”
 of 5 bubbles A_Bella2013, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay