We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sandringham Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

859 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 812: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely family run hotel. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Twin room was nicely decorated and very homely and extremely comfortable. Location is perfect for exploring around the city. Loved my stay here and I will definitely be coming back the next time I am in Cardiff. 😊

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Jackie so much for your review. It was great meeting you and your friend and lovely to read that you have enjoyed your stay. Alison on Reception has also asked me to say thank you to you. Hopefully we shall get to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The twin room was a little tight and basic but the en suite was huge and the location cannot be beat - easily walkable to the station with lots of dining options nearby (almost too much as there was a lot of loud coming-and-going in the hallway at night!). Also walkable to the gardens and Cardiff castle. Breakfast is included...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shanna S
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It was really nice for us to meet you and I am glad that you have generally enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we shall get to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visiting Cardiff for the Christmas market? Situated right in the city centre, this hotel is a great base for exploring the wonderful city of Cardiff. Just minutes from the magnificent castle, shopping centre and the Principality stadium (formerly Cardiff Arms Park) you can't ask for a more convenient location. The hotel itself is a good, affordable, fairly typical 2 star...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brian w
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Brian for such excellent feedback. It was an absolute pleasure to meet and welcome you both and I hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here last night and on arrival we were greeted by a lovely lady on reception.we were very early and had business in cardiff so checked in and left our cases in reception.upon return around 10pm we were given our key to what i can only discribe as the worst room we have ever had the misfortune of staying in.now...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen h
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry Karen that you have not enjoyed your stay. I obviously disagree with what has been written with some parts quite offensive. I shall not try and defend your points as you have clearly hated the hotel and any defence would have no chance of you trying us again I would suspect. The room was booked for...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

The good thing about this hotel is that it is very central for music venues and shopping. Breakfast was quite good too. The worst thing was the beds! Talk about hard and lumpy - one of the worst nights sleep I've ever had!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MoPick2
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am sorry that you have found the mattress to be too firm. They are from a well known brand and they are their medium to firm variety. I shall consider customer comments when next purchasing. I hope you will consider returning as we have many softer mattresses as well. Kind regards, Simon

Romsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

I was booked in to attend a conference, spanning the 14th to 16th October at the St David’s Hall with colleagues and one of them booked my wife and I into the Sandringham Hotel, for which we paid £70 for the Friday and £120 for the Saturday. Briefly checked out Trip Advisor which gave 4 stars, based upon 852 reviews,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank graham h
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry Graham that you have not enjoyed your stay. We have in comparison very few terrible and poor reviews in relation to our positive ones. Every hotel sadly has some bad ones. Most of our terrible ones until now are from a while ago which I believe was at a time where people used Tripadvisor to complain...

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Small & cosy, the room suited our purpose for a quick night away. With the vibrant restaurants, array of shops , close access to the train station & car parks , the price is super for the convenience. Ensuite facility could do with an upgrade but all in all , no complaints for the cost.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Emma for your very kind words. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and hope we get the chance to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon

Reviewed 17 October 2016

lovely friendly family run hotel. staff were so helpful. great breakfast. very reasonably priced, would definitely go back. Evening meal was in the Jazz Bar which had a great atmosphere. No lift so not great if you have difficulty with stairs.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank phillip l
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Phillip for reviewing us so nicely. It is great to read that you have enjoyed all areas of the hotel and it was lovely to meet you. Hopefully we shall get to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed for one night while visiting family I'm Cardiff, the girls on the next were friendly and got me checked in fine giving me directions to my room. The room was a bit out dated and the mattress could do with being burnt and getting a new one put in. I stayed in room 100 which was a twin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olivia W
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. I shall get the mattresses checked after your comments. I hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon

Reviewed 16 October 2016

Good location pleasant staff. Steps were a bit steep upto the reception and then again up to the room. Nice front facing room, over looking the main road, with tea and coffee facilities. Shampoo sachets etc and a hairdryer in situe. Breakfast was a delight food was delicious and the lady serving was so lovely and created a happy atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosalyn c
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am very happy that you have enjoyed your stay and breakfast. I will pass on your kind words to the staff and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Simon

293 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (146)
Viewed
Double Room (21)
Viewed
Family Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Single Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)
Viewed
Twin Room (24)
Viewed
Twin Room (Top Floor) (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.1 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#19 of 75 in Cardiff
1,082 reviews
0.3 km away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.5 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 75 in Cardiff
2,015 reviews
0.5 km away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#18 of 75 in Cardiff
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
Food & drink at the hotel
CafeJAZZ
CafeJAZZ
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sandringham Hotel is a well established family run Hotel with good service and friendly atmosphere. It is situated in the heart of the City of Cardiff and only a few minutes walk from the many Shopping Malls and Arcades, of which the City is justly proud; and, just a 'long pass' from the famous National Rugby Stadium. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Address: 21 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1PL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: €45 - €135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Cardiff, Wales
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandringham Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sandringham Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms 1 and 2 are on the lower floor”
 of 5 bubbles V1336XPbrianw, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms at the back are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 403phillipl, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Front facing with views overlooking St Marys street... !!- rooms 1 - 4”
 of 5 bubbles rosalync324, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“According to how heavy/bulky your luggage is and how good your legs are, book early and get one of the downstairs rooms... NO LIFT”
 of 5 bubbles 582jacquiec, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1-4 were on the same floor as reception so only 1 flight of stairs”
 of 5 bubbles DeniseM769, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay