We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,360 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,317: English reviews
Gibraltar, null, Gibraltar
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I booked to spend 2 nights at this Hotel .The area it is in is just right. I walked from Cardiff Station in about 5 mins ..with luggage a bad leg and 60 yrs old! No worries at all.It is situated opp the big Arena and just across form the Dewi Sant mall, the best shopping in any City I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay J
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for 1 night! It was easy to find! There is parking with the hotel but we found an NCP car park about 200m from hotel walking distance! It was £7.50 for 24 hours! You pay when you leave! I think I will be using car park again as it was central to all big famous shops in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mari J
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel a great value for money and the bedroom big and spacious. Hair dryers are available on...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Needed a hotel as a late booking, this came in a third of the price , good size room light and airy. The shower was decent powerful and hot. Easy walk into Centre, parking is a bit tight but is easily wallabies from the station.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme S
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you found the room and shower good along with the location. I will pass on your feedback to the team....

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel based mainly on the location and price. We arrived earlier than our 3.30 PM check-in time and Nicole on reception went "the extra mile" to get us booked into a room straight away. The room must have been fairly recently redecorated and was in good condition. The room was nice, with loads of hot water and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith P
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your breakfast and overall stay and found the team Go the extra mile. I will pass on your...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Me and my boyfriend made a last minute trip for New Year's Eve, so we booked the big sleep for financial and last minute reasons! From the outside it looks a bit scrubby but when you go in past the corridors the reception is very tidy. I would recommend booking a deluxe room as they've been newly refurbished, we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brittanyshaw222
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you found areas of the hotel very tidy and the staff friendly. With regards to the entrance of the hotel...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not sure what to expect after reading some reviews, but we had a great stay. Fantastic location, staff were so friendly and helpful, our room was a little dated (I understand that they are currently refurbishing the rooms), but very clean with plenty of towels and complimentary toiletries. Tea and coffee ..... perfect. Breakfast was included in our price (which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MariaBrown1413
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you found the staff very friendly and helpful, enjoyed your breakfast and had a great stay. Sorry to hear that...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location is great. It is a 200m walk into Cardiff City town centre. The room on initially walking in was awful. The carpet was really thin and stained. The mugs hadn't been changed and had sticky old coffee in the bottom which is unacceptable. The curtains look awful like wool. However, the curtains did seem to block out the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebeca Sian D
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you found the bed clean and comfortable. I have discussed your feedback with the housekeeping team regarding the mugs and...

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

having stayed at this hotel 3 times before we new what to expect,or at least we thought we did.how things have changed.double bed was 2 singles somehow stitched together making a very uncomfortable spine down the centre of the bed.thought as in previous years breakfast included.imagine our surprise at the breakfast room when we were told we were not on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vixter2015
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. First of all my sincere apologies for the experience you had during your stay. Please if you could share with me some more feedback regarding your...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spontaneous trip to Cardiff for NYE. So easy to book and easy to find as it's close to St Davids shopping centre. The staff were lovely and approachable. We were in a newly refurbished room on the top floor which was lovely and clean. Thank you for looking after us. Happy new year!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca J
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you found the staff lovely and approachable, your room nice and clean and the location good. I will pass on...

North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location. Within walking distance of the train station. Basic, clean accommodation. Breakfast usually paid for before arriving or £2.50 extra on the morning, good value with a good choice of English breakfast or continental. Ideal short stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank justine0002016
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you found the location convenient, your room clean and your breakfast a good value for money. Thank you for taking...

531 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (473)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (128)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (227)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (51)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.2 km away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#25 of 75 in Cardiff
1,050 reviews
0.5 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#24 of 75 in Cardiff
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#21 of 75 in Cardiff
867 reviews
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 km away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff managed by Compass Hospitality opened its doors in Cardiff in 1999 to a deluge of publicity and. The Big Sleep Hotel was credited as "The UK's first design hotel for budget travelers - Travelodge prices, but with more sex-appeal" by the UK's foremost hospitality publication The Travel Trade Gazette. Our hotel ideally located in Cardiff city centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formally Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David's shopping arcade. We are within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. The hotel offers 81 bedrooms come with flat screen TV's, Broadband access, Wifi, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. We also have disabled access rooms available as well as the car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. We appeal to business, leisure and family travelers for those who don't want to spend a fortune but do need somewhere to stay that's different and delivers big value at small prices. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: €44 - €157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“high floor”
  • fabulous veiw even on grey january day
  • beautiful clean and modern
  • clean and fresh
 of 5 bubbles LindsayJ410, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask about the refurbished rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles MariaBrown1413, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are 10 floors but the lifts do work. Currently having work done but the workforce leaves by 5 pm and don't start back until 9am.”
 of 5 bubbles spike8744, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“DON'T Stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles Jonesnj, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles X1503EShelenb, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay