We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

NosDa Hostel & Bar

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
NosDa Hostel & Bar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 169: English reviews
Start your review of NosDa Hostel & Bar
 Click to rate
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Noisy, smelly, limited comfort. Cleansiness could improve. Friendly staff and cheap drinks. Limited continental breakfast. WiFi only in bar and not very reliable. Place in need of renovation and some refurbishment. Bed was ok. No elevator and not accecible for wheelchairs. Some rooms have a very small private bathroom. Coffee/thea facilities in room, some rooms also with kitchenette. Close to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HermanandMarleen
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hello Herman & Marleen, We are happy to hear that you liked our cheap rates and our friendly staff! But we apologise for any inconvenience that was caused by lack of comfort. Due to the historic nature of the building, unfortunately we do not offer a lift and therefore also no wheelchair access. We do however state on our website...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at NosDa recently as we booked elsewhere and were sadly let down so being able to get in here at such short notice with no upfront deposit was a godsend. Or so we thought! It appears a lot nicer in the pictures. Pros Easy booking No deposit Friendly staff Close to town Cheap (ish) Cons Mouldy room Poor lighting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cath C
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hi Cath, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our hostel, we aim to provide all of our guests with the best experience possible. Certain parts of the building are up for renovation and improvements, however these kind of large undertakings take time. We have also passed your comments on to our maintenance team....

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I wasn't able to choose the actual date I stayed which was May 2014 I believe. Even then, what a great place! I went to wales for a trip with school and I didn't expect much from hostels. This hostel was very unique and quaint. Well decorated and had everything you need, public kitchen public living room with tv and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jordyn R
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hey Jordyn, Thanks for your review even though you stayed with us 2 years ago, we still appreciate it! Since you've stayed at NosDa we have upgraded our internet connection. Nice to hear that you enjoyed meeting other travellers and liked our facilities. Maybe we will see you back here when you're not on a school trip, so you can...

UK
Reviewed 7 January 2017

I booked into an ensuite single (Room 52) which was in a quieter area of the hostel not above the bar area which runs until 11:00pm on weekends. The breakast was a nice spread as always and friendly and helpful staff which were busy during the stay. The WIFI didnt work outside the ground area. The kitchen area and lounge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jh6056
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your positive feedback, we are happy that you had an enjoyable experience here at NosDa. We hope to see you again soon!

Sydney
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

It's really cheap and the free breakfast is great! The guy who checked me in was pretty glum which was disappointing as I'd had a hectic journey getting to Cardiff. The wifi didn't work for me, only works ground floor but it wouldn't connect. The shower had no temperature control so it was scalding for 3 seconds then just very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anngillies
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hello, We are glad to hear that you feel like you had value for your money. Our apologies for the shower curtains, these are cleaned on a daily basis so this shouldn't happen and we are sorry to hear that you didn't get the welcome you wanted after a long day of travelling. Our central location makes it easy to...

Reviewed 3 January 2017

Hi I would just like to say thank you to the Reception / Bar staff during my stay as I had a wonderful time overall , I stayed for just over a month! As a Hostel , it is definitely up there and I would highly recommend NosDa to people looking for affordable , friendly and good accommodation. Problems I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ally B
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hi Ally, Nice to hear from you and we enjoyed having you stay with us. Please note that we will sort the issues you have pointed out, and make sure that these won't be issues again. Thanks for choosing NosDa and for taking the time to review us, we appreciate your comments, good or bad. Lovely to hear that you...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 21 December 2016

NosDa was in a great location within 10-15 min walking distance from the bus and train stations. You can also see the Millennium Stadium from the reception area which is an impressive view. Free, simple breakfast was a definite plus and the reception is really helpful with my requests. The only comment I would have is the wifi is patchy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chow_TW
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hi Chow, We appreciate your helpful feedback, thank you! Glad that you feel like you've had value for your money. We are indeed very lucky with our central location and the stunning setting next to the famous Millennium Stadium. We hope you've had fun exploring Cardiff and that you will be back again to explore some more. Our apologies about...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Perfect little hostel to stay at. I'm a solo traveller and thus was perfect. The room, bathroom and toilet were all clean and nice. Free breakfast and Wi-Fi! It's in a perfect position, close to the castle, city, bus stop and central station. Couldn't recommend stsying here more! The staff were so friendly and helpful. Goid works guys! Great place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miss_kyrren
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hi Kyrren, We love receiving 5* reviews! Thank you. We're are so glad that you had the perfect stay at NosDa and that our staff were friendly. Hopefully you've enjoyed exploring Cardiff and the castle?! Good to know that you were happy with our facilities, thanks for recommending us!

Turku, Finland
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Located on a perfect spot by the river, really close to the center. The staff was really funny, helpful and nice. I got a lot of information from them and spend one night hanging out with them too. It was really cool, and cheap too cause their friends kept buying me drinks =D Live music! Cool Bar! Breakfast included! Nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boombaata
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your nice feedback and we are glad to hear you've had such an enjoyable time with our staff! We hope you had fun exploring Cardiff and that you will be back again soon.

Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

As hostels go this is nice enough. Friendly staff, comfy beds, great location. However it's not as snazzy as the pictures on the website suggest. But if you need a bed in Cardiff at a reasonable rate and you're OK with hostels then I recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne N
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hello Anne, Thank you for taking the time to review NosDa. Thanks for your good rating and fair comments. We hope you had a lovely time staying at our hostel, it's nice to hear that you liked our staff, the beds and our central location! Hopefully we'll see you again in the future.

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.3 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.7 km away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
7.8 km away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 75 in Cardiff
541 reviews
0.7 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 75 in Cardiff
2,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
NosDa has the best location for a hostel in the Welsh capital. On the River Taff, NosDa is opposite Wales’ most iconic building, the Millennium Stadium (Cardiff Castle and Cardiff Central Station are just a stone's throw away). NosDa means 'good night' in Welsh and that is exactly what we are promising. We are the only hostel on the River Taff with a licensed bar and not only that, NosDa is an established live music venue too. What better place to stay than a typically Welsh hostel with local bands, Welsh food & drinks, and local artists bringing you closer to the Welsh culture. We regularly organise beer festivals and Open Mic nights, and all Rugby World Cup and 6 Nations games are featured on our big screen. On a match day you can hear the crowd going wild at the Millennium Stadium, that's how close we are! Even though NosDa is one of the largest hostels in Cardiff, it is proud to have the reputation of being friendly and personal with well-travelled international and local staff on hand 24/7. We are also proud to be a member of Europe's Famous Hostels, which stands for quality and great customer service for an unbeatable price. We welcome international backpackers as well as Stag & Hen parties, rugby teams and school groups. NosDa is experienced in group accommodation and offers a variety of room types to suit all needs. We have a great communal kitchen and plenty of common space to chill out, watch TV, read a book or catch up on emails. Meet your fellow travellers whilst tasting some of our local ales and ciders! ... more   less 

Additional Information about NosDa Hostel & Bar

Address: 53-59 Despenser Street | Riverside, Cardiff CF11 6AG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: €20 - €151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — NosDa Hostel & Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your NosDa Hostel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NosDa Hostel & Bar Cardiff, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from NosDa Hostel & Bar staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from NosDa Hostel & Bar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room #30 or #12 are decent sized and offer good storage for when room is full!”
 of 5 bubbles 274allyb, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book in advance, cheaper away from Fridays and Saturdays, enjoy the party atmosphere”
 of 5 bubbles mjws1968, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ensuite Rooms Definitly the way forward”
  • 4 bed Ensuite Room
 of 5 bubbles C5926HQlaurac, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“excellent location and atmosphere”
 of 5 bubbles Loueyrose, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
“ask for the rooms facing the riverside. It is very refreshing every morning”
 of 5 bubbles dennisa805, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5