We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

NosDa Hostel & Bar

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
NosDa Hostel & Bar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 173: English reviews
Start your review of NosDa Hostel & Bar
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I recently started in the Nosda around the first week in April. First and foremost the staff were friendly and able to have a bit of Craic. There gave guidance and advise where neccessary and their local knowledge was very good. Located next to the Millennium Stadium. On the river, Nosda has a nice wooden deck as a smoking area....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hi there Michael, It's really nice to hear from you and great to know that you've had a lovely stay with us! We are indeed planning a refurb for our bar area very soon, so it would be good if you could come check it out later this summer. We appreciate your feedback and would love to welcome you back...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a great stay here a couple of weekends ago: 10 middle-aged blokes staying in two ensuite rooms. We found this place to be clean, tidy, perfectly comfortable and ideal for our purposes. Friendly helpful staff. Great bar with local beers.Interesting mixture of guests. You can do self catering if you want (not that we did). Breakfast was fine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your lovely feedback David, it's much appreciated. We hope that the lads had a great time with us and enjoyed Cardiff's nightlife. Happy to know that you were satisfied with our hostel facilities, the location and the staff!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been staying here in a room for 4 people and when I returned after going out the other 3 people were sitting on the floor in the dark in a 4 bed shared room I suppose its ok if you like the ghost train or want to save on the in room light bulbs but I prefer the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hols256
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all comments, good or bad. Sorry to hear that you didn't feel comfortable sharing your dorm room with some of our guests. We hope you understand that we can't police all of our guests at all times, and unfortunately we can't always be aware of what is happening inside the rooms. Our apologies...

Reviewed 12 March 2017

Great location next to river and opposite the Principality Stadium in central Cardiff but very disappointing once you enter the building. For the price I was charged: £59 per night, this place was a rip-off. If you are a back backer travelling on a low budget take my advice and stay elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henry D
NosDaCardiff, Owner at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments, we do take feedback seriously and always act upon genuine, reasonable and factual complaints. I am sorry that you were dissatisfied, and I only wish you had made your concerns known to us when checking out a day early....it is always more constructive, I find, to deal with issues face to face, as...

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Noisy, smelly, limited comfort. Cleansiness could improve. Friendly staff and cheap drinks. Limited continental breakfast. WiFi only in bar and not very reliable. Place in need of renovation and some refurbishment. Bed was ok. No elevator and not accecible for wheelchairs. Some rooms have a very small private bathroom. Coffee/thea facilities in room, some rooms also with kitchenette. Close to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HermanandMarleen
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hello Herman & Marleen, We are happy to hear that you liked our cheap rates and our friendly staff! But we apologise for any inconvenience that was caused by lack of comfort. Due to the historic nature of the building, unfortunately we do not offer a lift and therefore also no wheelchair access. We do however state on our website...

Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed at NosDa recently as we booked elsewhere and were sadly let down so being able to get in here at such short notice with no upfront deposit was a godsend. Or so we thought! It appears a lot nicer in the pictures. Pros Easy booking No deposit Friendly staff Close to town Cheap (ish) Cons Mouldy room Poor lighting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cath C
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hi Cath, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our hostel, we aim to provide all of our guests with the best experience possible. Certain parts of the building are up for renovation and improvements, however these kind of large undertakings take time. We have also passed your comments on to our maintenance team....

Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

I wasn't able to choose the actual date I stayed which was May 2014 I believe. Even then, what a great place! I went to wales for a trip with school and I didn't expect much from hostels. This hostel was very unique and quaint. Well decorated and had everything you need, public kitchen public living room with tv and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jordyn R
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hey Jordyn, Thanks for your review even though you stayed with us 2 years ago, we still appreciate it! Since you've stayed at NosDa we have upgraded our internet connection. Nice to hear that you enjoyed meeting other travellers and liked our facilities. Maybe we will see you back here when you're not on a school trip, so you can...

UK
Reviewed 7 January 2017

I booked into an ensuite single (Room 52) which was in a quieter area of the hostel not above the bar area which runs until 11:00pm on weekends. The breakast was a nice spread as always and friendly and helpful staff which were busy during the stay. The WIFI didnt work outside the ground area. The kitchen area and lounge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnretroreload
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your positive feedback, we are happy that you had an enjoyable experience here at NosDa. We hope to see you again soon!

Sydney
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

It's really cheap and the free breakfast is great! The guy who checked me in was pretty glum which was disappointing as I'd had a hectic journey getting to Cardiff. The wifi didn't work for me, only works ground floor but it wouldn't connect. The shower had no temperature control so it was scalding for 3 seconds then just very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anngillies
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hello, We are glad to hear that you feel like you had value for your money. Our apologies for the shower curtains, these are cleaned on a daily basis so this shouldn't happen and we are sorry to hear that you didn't get the welcome you wanted after a long day of travelling. Our central location makes it easy to...

Reviewed 3 January 2017

Hi I would just like to say thank you to the Reception / Bar staff during my stay as I had a wonderful time overall , I stayed for just over a month! As a Hostel , it is definitely up there and I would highly recommend NosDa to people looking for affordable , friendly and good accommodation. Problems I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ally B
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hi Ally, Nice to hear from you and we enjoyed having you stay with us. Please note that we will sort the issues you have pointed out, and make sure that these won't be issues again. Thanks for choosing NosDa and for taking the time to review us, we appreciate your comments, good or bad. Lovely to hear that you...

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 km away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
1,981 reviews
0.6 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
800 reviews
1.3 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#24 of 76 in Cardiff
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
NosDa has the best location for a hostel in the Welsh capital. On the River Taff, NosDa is opposite Wales’ most iconic building, the Millennium Stadium (Cardiff Castle and Cardiff Central Station are just a stone's throw away). NosDa means 'good night' in Welsh and that is exactly what we are promising. We are the only hostel on the River Taff with a licensed bar and not only that, NosDa is an established live music venue too. What better place to stay than a typically Welsh hostel with local bands, Welsh food & drinks, and local artists bringing you closer to the Welsh culture. We regularly organise beer festivals and Open Mic nights, and all Rugby World Cup and 6 Nations games are featured on our big screen. On a match day you can hear the crowd going wild at the Millennium Stadium, that's how close we are! Even though NosDa is one of the largest hostels in Cardiff, it is proud to have the reputation of being friendly and personal with well-travelled international and local staff on hand 24/7. We are also proud to be a member of Europe's Famous Hostels, which stands for quality and great customer service for an unbeatable price. We welcome international backpackers as well as Stag & Hen parties, rugby teams and school groups. NosDa is experienced in group accommodation and offers a variety of room types to suit all needs. We have a great communal kitchen and plenty of common space to chill out, watch TV, read a book or catch up on emails. Meet your fellow travellers whilst tasting some of our local ales and ciders! ... more   less 

Additional Information about NosDa Hostel & Bar

Address: 53-59 Despenser Street | Riverside, Cardiff CF11 6AG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: €22 - €139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — NosDa Hostel & Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your NosDa Hostel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NosDa Hostel & Bar Cardiff, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from NosDa Hostel & Bar staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from NosDa Hostel & Bar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book early... There are loads of room options but Cardiff is a popular destination for groups.”
davidsU3889EV, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room #30 or #12 are decent sized and offer good storage for when room is full!”
274allyb, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book in advance, cheaper away from Fridays and Saturdays, enjoy the party atmosphere”
mjws1968, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ensuite Rooms Definitly the way forward”
  • 4 bed Ensuite Room
C5926HQlaurac, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“excellent location and atmosphere”
Loueyrose, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5