We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Wellington Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Wellington Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

262 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Wellington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 258: English reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Absolutely appalling service! Ordered Sunday lunch and when it came no veg as they had run out! Customers should be told on ordering! A couple next to us had there lunch served,again the same lunch came no veg and one more couple on the other side of us! The service was shoddy our waiter looked wasted and food was cold...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jen H
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jen H Thank you for your review. We are really sorry that you didn't have the best experience when visiting us recently. We have taken on board all of your feedback and will be looking into the matters that you have raised. I would like to invite you back to give us another chance to wow you, could you...

canada
Reviewed 22 January 2017

If we had noticed the hygiene rating thenwewould not have eaten here. We ordered soup on a saturday afternoon and this seemed to take an age at least 30min. When the waitress was asked the soup appeared quickly but the read order was wrong which was quickly rectified. The barman that took the order seemed not to know what he...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ted87
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Hi ted87 Thank you for taking the time to review the Wellington Hotel. I am sorry that you haven't had the best experience when you visited recently. With regards to the wait time on the soup that is something that I will investigate. Unfortunately we do have a lot of new staff since reopening and we are identifying training needs...

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

My partner and visited the Wellington just before Christmas. I went to the bar to order food and was told by a member of staff that he couldn't serve me. He did not give a reason and made zero effort to find someone who could. Seconds later a lady approached the bar and was served by this man straight away,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kerryanneadams1234
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Hi kerryannedams1234 Thank you very much for your review of the Wellington hotel. I am sorry that you didn't have the best experience when you visited before Christmas. With regards to the member of staff, I am confused as to why that happened and is definitely something I will look into. We opened with a lot of new team members...

Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We ate here today, early afternoon. The place was not particularly busy and we found a table near the back of the bar area. The food was good, plentiful, appetising and well presented. This was the first time we'd eaten here since the recent refurbishment and we were impressed with the décor and surroundings. What was not so pleasing was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelmum91
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Hi travelmum91 Thank you for reviewing the Wellington hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the food, however can only apologise for the attitude of that particular team member. This is something that I will be investigating. We would like to invite you back to dine with us again, to show you our improvements in service and hopefully wow you....

Reviewed 17 January 2017

I went to the opening of the new vamped wellington and whilst the food and service was not the best, I thought first night teething problems. We were shown the rooms and they looked very nice, but i have not stayed there so can't comment on that. I went for lunch a week or so after the opening and it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Acquerelli
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Acquerelli Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you haven't had the best experiences with us here at the Wellington. I cannot comment on why there were so many problems during your visit but will be something that I investigate so that we can improve upon your comments. I would like to invite you back to dine...

wales
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely day on the Beacons today followed by lovely lunch here.We both opted for the Sunday lunch chicken dinner. Cooked beautifully,the ingredients were fresh and tasty,was lovely. The atmosphere is nice here,everywhere nice and clean and the staff were great. We had vouchers for 30 % off which was even better for us 😀 Great place,great food and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wildwales1
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Wildwales1 Thanks so much for your review. We're glad you had a great visit with us and do hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Elen Assistant Manager

Llanwrtyd Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017

When we visited for lunch, in mitigation the place had just reopened after some refurbishment. The staff although friendly were obviously new, struggling to come to terms with the technology related to ordering the food.We had to wait 1 hour and 5 minutes to get our food, but they did knock some money off. We noticed other customers in various...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank taffysboy
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Hi taffysboy Thanks very much for your review. Apologies about the technical difficulties, we've had further training since opening and are all up to speed on it now. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Elen Assistant Manager

Crickhowell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

The environment was pleasant inside the hotel, with a good choice menu at reasonable prices. The daily offering (2 main courses for £12) had a reasonable choice too. However, even though it was mid week and the place was not too busy, the meal took quite a while to come (in excess of 20 minutes). One meal was fine but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Penylan11
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Penylan11 Thanks very much for your review. We're sorry you didn't have the best Wellington experience on your recent visit to us. We do hope you'll come back again soon. Kind regards Elen Assistant Manager

Hertfordshire
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We visited the Wellington for dinner last night , was bitterly disappointed. To start with the rose wine was room temperature so had to change to red . We waited approx 40 minutes for our food to arrive . I ordered fajitas, the wraps were served cold , the guacamole was missing and the chicken very over cooked. The portion...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank totallymad29
Wellington B, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. I will take uo these issues with my team and try to rectify them.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Hotel over the pub in the very heart of the Brecon town. Lovely place to stay. Small but comfortable room. Newly reopened after refurbishment. Boxing day morning the only person working in the restaurant and reception - Sarah served us with strong nice coffee and full fried breakfast (fried egg was so good, I would think it was pouched..and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juarekute
Wellington B, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback.

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brecon hotels
0.4 km away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
441 reviews
4.7 km away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
855 reviews
0.2 km away
Markets Tavern Hotel
Markets Tavern Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brecon
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#3 of 44 in Brecon
235 reviews
0.3 km away
Borderers Guest House
Borderers Guest House
#8 of 44 in Brecon
102 reviews
0.4 km away
The Beacons
The Beacons
#29 of 44 in Brecon
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We're situated in a prime position in Brecon Town Square, within easy reach of the beautiful surrounding Powys countryside and Brecon Beacons National Park. You'll find plenty to do and explore locally. Why not take a leisurely walk along the canal, or maybe a trip on the Dragonfly Barge taking in the stunning scenery. If you fancy an energetic day out, pursuits such as canoeing, mountain-climbing, biking or kayaking can be arranged with Black Mountains Activities, or alternatively you could give Cradoc Golf Club a visit - an excellent club for those golfers amongst you. And of course, in August during the Brecon Jazz festival, the Wellington provide a perfect base for you to enjoy all the musical revelry. Whatever you're looking for, you will find it here in Brecon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: Bulwark, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7AD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Price Range: €117 - €143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Hotel Brecon, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wellington Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Wellington Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't go there are better but further afield”
 of 5 bubbles Acquerelli, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms at the front can be noisy at weekends as the taxi rank is outside.”
 of 5 bubbles SkydiveAnnie, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles sianonholiday, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Good value for money”
 of 5 bubbles orge1030, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“top floor is the quietest I reckon but it is 3 flights up with no lift”
 of 5 bubbles C5225NWlisae, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5