We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel

Save
Share
Nearby the River Conwy, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AS Wales
Lowest prices for your stay
US$237
View Deal
Hotels.com
eDreams
US$237
View Deal
Booking.comUS$237
Expedia.comUS$237
TravelocityUS$237
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (251)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (124)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 7 hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The hotel is set in a much admired and envied position down a long private driveway on the banks of the River Conwy at the edge of Betws-y-Coed in Snowdonia. We have 16 acres of our own beautiful gardens and we are surrounded by uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the Conwy Valley with its wooded slopes forming the perfect atmosphere in which to relax in peaceful tranquillity. Privately owned, the traditional values of hospitality hold strong with the emphasis on courtesy and service.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Hiking
Canoeing offsite
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
54Somewhat walkable
Grade: 54 out of 100
63Restaurantswithin 10 km
64Attractionswithin 10 km
505Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 355
  • 92
  • 31
  • 16
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Global636856611Lyn89 wrote a review Oct 2020
Stamford, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
We paid a deposit 1 year a go... Covid in March, on lockdown,,tried to get our deposit refunded,we were told NO we will relocate you to October..within a day we decided we didn't want that...i am disabled and felt we couldn't go....then we were told no refund until the date we should have arrived!!! So the had £180of our money for over a year we have just received it....not very friendly in the present circumstances,and no apology. , I
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Martin Carpenter, Other at Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Responded 4 Dec 2020
We do appreciate the customers point of view however we would like to explain. In 2019 they booked to stay with us for a week in September 2020 which to clarify we were fully open for and certified Covid-19 safe. They then requested in March 2020 a free Covid cancelation for their September holiday and although we were giving free cancellations to everyone who had a booking within the initial lockdown period, we were not doing that for bookings that far in advance, as we expected and in fact did open well before this date. We then on the customers request moved their booking free of charge to a week in October, unfortunately Wales then went back into a local lockdown. Once this had been confirmed by the Welsh government we offered free moves, vouchers or refunds to every customer who had a booking within this second period along with this customer. The customers money was refunded to their credit card in full, which of course costs us money and like all businesses though we held their deposit for many months we didn't receive any interest on it. These have been very difficult and unprecedented times but we do feel we have treated this and all of our customers as fairly as we could under the circumstances that were forced upon us. All new bookings since July 2020 have a free Covid-19 cancelation policy.
Read more
JenniferStar3000 wrote a review Oct 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
Absolutely amazed by this hotel! We stayed in one of the hot tub rooms, and wow, what a treat! View of the river from the room balcony stunning, such a gorgeous location. One of the best places we've ever stayed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
SunshineSkala wrote a review Sep 2020
Bolton, United Kingdom21 contributions21 helpful votes
Don’t go to this hotel. Rip-off merchants. The hotel although sited next to the river (very picturesque) is otherwise best described as underwhelming. We can’t see how this hotel has received a 4 star rating other than its location. We paid £420 for a two night stay. We were asked to pay £205 upon booking and £215 on entering reception. We think there policy is to get our money first and face out the complaints later. We understand paying the deposit of £205 but we have never been asked to pay the £215 upfront for second night before. This was a first for us. No lift in the hotel, so the stairs were well trodden, this was very evident and showed in the shabbiness of the carpeting on the stairs and landings. We required a twin bedded room and were taken to room 17. We were able to see the river from our balcony, but only by standing. Sitting down, the view was obliterated by the balcony wall. The en-suite bath with shower hose over, dated shell design, hand basin which had a crack in it, cheap taps, copper pipes visible behind pedestal not painted. Toilet rim underneath dirty. Cushions on bed were shabby. Breakfast I ordered full Welsh, poached egg undercooked and pale yoke, black pudding gone hard.. Sausage, small and poor quality. Mushroom oily. All in all, very poor quality. On the dressing table there was a bottle containing tap water. I thought it had a peculiar taste I was told I could have bottled water but that would be an extra. At £215 a night unbelievable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
sagbucks wrote a review Sep 2020
london18 contributions14 helpful votes
This riverside hotel is in a superb and picturesque location, 10 mins easy walk into village offering additional choice of cafe restaurants & shops. The staff were excellent, service good and covid protocols well considered and functioning. We ate supper in the restaurant on one of our two evenings and enjoyed the choice and quality of the menu. However - the hotel requires further refurbishment. Both in public areas and bedrooms. Currently the ‘modernisation’ looks half done or rather cheaply done. We stayed in room 18 - lovely views comfortable bed but that’s the extent of the positives. The bathroom was dated and the mixer tap shower system allowed only luke warm showers. Synthetic duvet & pillows. All this might have been tolerable if WiFi access had been possible in bedrooms. Despite words of re-assurance from staff, this just was not the case on most of our devices. To get WiFi we had to go and sit in the bar area. And even then the signal was not uniformly strong. Finally although we enjoyed our meal the accompanying wine list was erratically compiled and overpriced. This never leaves the discerning customer happy. Yes this hotel could do so much better and actually justify the incredible 4 star status that the AA has bestowed on it
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Carol B wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
Stayed in the four poster bedroom with wonderful views of the river and valley, while enjoying the hot tub on the balcony with great weather, fabulous. All staff were excellent could not fault their willingness to help us enjoy our celebration, will certainly return if opportunity arises.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$171 - US$207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
craig-y-dderwen hotel betws-y-coed, craig y dderwen riverside hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesSnowdonia National ParkBetws-y-Coed
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel?
Nearby attractions include St. Michael's Old Church (1.0 km), St. Mary's Church (1.0 km), and Conwy Valley Railway Museum & Model Shop (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hangin' Pizzeria, Olif, and Ty Gwyn Hotel Restaurant.
Are pets allowed at Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Michael's Old Church (1.0 km), Ty Mawr Wybrnant (4.9 km), and Gorsedd Stone Circle (6.3 km).
Does Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.