We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Courthouse (Henllys)

Save
Share
Old Church Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AL Wales
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (134)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (13)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#19 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Beautifully maintained converted Victorian Magistrates Court & Police Station with many original features. Lovely riverside garden setting on quiet road within the village, 3 minutes walk to the centre. All rooms are individually themed & decorated and all have king or super king sized beds with memory foam mattresses. ( Except ground floor "Cell room". Spa bath available in 1 room ; the "Interrogation room" ( superior 4-poster) Private off road parking. Located In the Snowdonia National Park surrounded by the Gwydyr forest with it's rivers, lakes and waterfalls to explore from the door. Also convenient for visiting Portmeirion, Bodnant Gardens, Zipworld, Caernarfon Castle, Conwy Castle, and mount Snowdon itself all within 30 minutes drive time.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Fishing
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Secured parking
Wifi
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary welcome drink
Special diet menus
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian
242Reviews1Q+A53Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 204
  • 24
  • 8
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stephen G wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
My wife and I stayed at the courthouse for two nights for our anniversary,On arrival Our room was prepared with a box of chocolates a bottle of prosecco and a helium balloon.The room was tastefully decorated.This establishment is quality throughout and is definitely one of the cleanest I have stayed in within the UK Breakfast was quite superb with a vast choice for all tastes.A simply wonderful stay we cannot wait to return
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Emily R wrote a review Sep 2020
4 contributions
My partner and I stayed at the Courthouse and we throughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is right in the centre of Betws-y-Coed and close to all amenities. The hosts are lovely and are on hand to offer advice or information on local walks or attractions. The rooms are large and spacious and each one is named after something relating to the old courthouse in which is named. We stayed in the Lawyers room which was charming with original beams. The Courthouse offers cooked breakfasts each morning and there is a lovely garden to sit in with views of the river. The hosts are cery welcoming even with the restrictions of Covid and we would definitely recommend and be staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Dave_B_Wirral wrote a review Aug 2020
Greasby, United Kingdom105 contributions76 helpful votes
We stayed for 3 nights - 2 in the Lawyers room and 1 night in the cells, the rooms were totally different from each other but both great rooms in their own way. Breakfast was very filling and kept us going all day on our walks around the area. Whilst sitting in the garden - that overlooks the river - late one afternoon we saw the flash of a Kingfisher flying up the river, then 10 minutes later it flew across the river again. Thanks to the hosts Richard and Tanya for looking after us.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Wendy B wrote a review Aug 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom6 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed for four nights in the Cell Suite.. brilliant place to stay, warm and welcoming, excellent veggi breakfast, beautiful gardens, quirky details... I would recommend this b and b to anyone wanting a quirky fun place to stay, central for exploring locally or any part of North Wales.... Hosts could not have been more attentive
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from , General Manager at The Courthouse (Henllys)
Responded 23 Aug 2020
Dear Wendy, many thanks for your review and for your kind compliments. It was a pleasure to meet you and to host you. You were lovely guests and it is very gratifying for us to know that the features of our individual rooms, and the service we provide are understood and appreciated. We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Courthouse again sometime in the future. Best wishes Richard & Tanya
Read more
Boglárka wrote a review Jul 2020
London, United Kingdom10 contributions1 helpful vote
We came to this guest house with no idea about the room as on booking.com there was only one photo of the bed and nothing else. I was extremely uncomfortable with the room and felt really bad all weekend and I took off 2 hanging decorations off the wall (Cross and handcuff) the next morning we went to the mountains and when we got back the owner lady came to me at the main door and started telling me we are not allowed to take off anything from the decoration. I explained to her my feelings about the room and she told me "it's not gonna kill you" also in the room there were a bunch of candles all over the room and my husband lighted the caldle when we had our dinner in the room. The owner lady had a go on me for the candle and she was extremely rude telling me how long have we been in the UK that we don't know the law?? She made me very uncomfortable and I told her we are leaving immediately after the way she treated me. She told me okay, leave. On the way we got in the car, they didn't even come and say anything to us. The whole experience was extremely uncomfortable and I almost forgot to mention that we never asked for the room to be cleaned when we went out for a walk but she came in anyway. Really a horrible experience. We paid for 2 nights and ended up staying only one.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from , General Manager at The Courthouse (Henllys)
Responded 20 Jul 2020
we are sorry to hear that you felt dissatisfied with your recent stay at The Courthouse. In response to the specific points you raised: 1. The room you occupied is themed, in common with all our rooms, to reflect the heritage of the building which was originally the courthouse and police station. I described the room when you called to book and there are accurate images and descriptions on our website and on those of online travel agents. Regrettably, as I explained, it was the only room we had available for the dates you requested. The room is certainly quirky but many guests love both that and it's authenticity. Moreover, we specifically asked you a few hours after you arrived whether your room was OK for you and you replied to the effect that it was fine. 2. If you were in any way disturbed by the decor it would have been both polite and customary to have mentioned it to us rather than deciding to remove items by yourself. We would then have done what we could to make you feel more comfortable. 3. Regarding the lighting of candles, we would have thought it obvious that naked flames are a fire hazard, especially as there are prominent "no smoking" signs in every room. Again, it would have been both customary and polite to have checked with us before taking matters into your own hands. All candles have now been removed. 4. In common with all properly run guest houses our rooms are cleaned and serviced daily. This is particularly important at the moment due to the need to safeguard against Coivid-19. A handout was purposely left on your bed to describe our safety and cleansing measures. Guests would normally inform the hosts if they did not require their room to be serviced. 5. I overheard the conversation between yourself and Tanya, and do not accept your comment that she was rude to you, simply that she was trying to make you aware that your previous behaviour in respect of the above was unacceptable. We apologize if you felt disrespected by the tone of her comments. 6. Normally guests ring the bell to inform us when they are leaving so that we can say "goodbye". You left without any attempt to call us and we were therefore unaware of when you were leaving. We would also point out that we allowed you to check as early at 12.30 in spire of the fact that our normal check-in time is 16.00. This is clearly stated on your booking confirmation, and you had not previously requested an early check-in. Also, you neglected to ask whether it was acceptable to use our garden for a picnic before checking in. Please understand that in common with all accommodation providers we are doing our best to give guests a good experience in spite of the restrictions we are having to work under. This has meant that we have had to curtail many of the services which we would normally offer. However, all our guests so far have accepted that things are far from normal and have appreciated the efforts we are making. Hopefully your experience will provide have provided lessons for all of us.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$98 - US$138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesSnowdonia National ParkBetws-y-Coed
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Courthouse (Henllys)
Which popular attractions are close to The Courthouse (Henllys)?
Nearby attractions include St. Michael's Old Church (0.1 km), St. Mary's Church (0.2 km), and Conwy Valley Railway Museum & Model Shop (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Courthouse (Henllys)?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Courthouse (Henllys)?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a view of a nearby landmark, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at The Courthouse (Henllys)?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, free instant coffee, and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at The Courthouse (Henllys)?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Courthouse (Henllys)?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hangin' Pizzeria, Olif, and Alpine Coffee Shop.
Is The Courthouse (Henllys) located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Betws-y-Coed.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Courthouse (Henllys)?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Courthouse (Henllys)?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Michael's Old Church (0.1 km), Ty Mawr Wybrnant (5.8 km), and Gorsedd Stone Circle (5.4 km).