We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Prince Llewelyn Hotel

Smith Street, Beddgelert, Caernarfon LL55 4LT Wales
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (38)
Dining (7)
Room & Suite (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Beddgelert
Prince Llewelyn is located in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park, dog friendly and offering home made food. Vegan, vegetarian and Gluten free options available.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Wine / champagne
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know


Full view
55Somewhat walkable
Grade: 55 out of 100
10Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
91Reviews3Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 50
  • 13
  • 5
  • 6
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Andrea B wrote a review Yesterday
6 contributions16 helpful votes
We called here wanting lunch today and we shown to a seat outside, my daughter asked for a high chair for her baby and we were very abruptly told that they don't have a highchair as they don't cater for children!! We couldn't find any baby changing facilities either ,so we gave up and went up the road to a much more friendly pub which did cater for children and where we were made to feel welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Martin G wrote a review Yesterday
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom21 contributions12 helpful votes
We stayed at Prince Llewelyn with another couple to climb Mt Snowdon and explore. The hotel is perfectly located for a short drive to Rhyd DDU to climb snowdon and is in a quiet village/town full of charm. The hotel itself was very covid secure with all staff wearing masks and plenty of space at dinner and breakfast. The room was comfortable and clean. The food was amazing with a good breakfast and an amazing evening meal too. The only thing that countered the relaxed feeling was the feeling of being rushed to finish our meals in the evening so they could close the restaurant and bar. This is possibly linked to some covid guidelines however didn’t take anything away from the overall feel of the hotel and our stay. It was exactly what we all need and wanted from our weekend away and we will definitely be booking in again to stay
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Waxy2 wrote a review 8 Jun
Cheadle, United Kingdom16 contributions11 helpful votes
Tried to enter this establishment today for lunch. We were abruptly refused entry by your front of house lady. She abruptly slammed the gate and shouted we are full. No try again later or a friendly smile. We went across the road to Caffi Colwyn were we got a friendly lovely welcome. We spoke to another customer who had also been given short shrift by here. Avoid this place if you want a friendly approach.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Rachel W wrote a review 6 Jun
1 contribution
We called for food and was not disappointed. As a family of 5 aged 5 to 45 we all enjoyed our meals. The steak and ale pie was excellent and celtic lamb burger was delicious. We were served by the lovely Bethany who was friendly and exceptionally polite. We would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Debs B wrote a review 4 Jun
7 contributions4 helpful votes
My partner booked this hotel for a long Bank Holiday weekend at the end of May so that we could explore Snowdon. Having travelled from the Isle of Wight and got stuck in Bank Holiday traffic, our hosts still made us feel extremely welcome on our arrival, allowing us to take drinks up to our room. They had informed us en-route that we would be unable to get a meal on arrival as the kitchen would be closed so we grabbed a quick takeaway beforehand. The room was perfect for us as a base, clean, tea and coffee facilities, toiletries and the best power shower I have used in a hotel in a long long time! Morning breakfast was cereal and a full English which set us up nicely for the day. Again the staff were incredibly helpful and attentive when it came to giving us tips for where to walk, booking evening dinner in advance which we were extremely grateful for as we watched other frustrated diners from outside the hotel not being able to make reservations in the village as it was full to capacity. We also took advice from the local tourist information centre about how to access Snowdon. Their suggestion to take the local bus was a brilliant idea as we got dropped to the base of the mountain and having climbed and descended it, the bus was there to take us back to the village in time for our dinner in the hotel! The bus driver was a legend in himself giving us brilliant advice in relation to the tracks available. Even the local litter picking volunteers stopped to give us friendly advice and to enjoy the sound of a cuckoo in a nearby tree! The staff at the Hotel were truly lovely and couldn’t do enough for us during our stay. The one thing I would say to the staff is to stop saying ‘sorry’ for everything as it worries me that people will take advantage of this. What you offer is brilliant and we had no complaints at all! We will definitely be revisiting in the future. Thank you to all of you for a lovely weekend ... I just wish we could have stayed longer!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure you book dinner reservations in advance. If you find a good parking space, leave the...
See more room tips
Response from Prince Llewelyn, Owner at Prince Llewelyn Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your lovely feedback. And I am glad that you enjoyed the wonderful area we are based. It is lovely to see the village so busy and we wish we could accommodate more people. I will feed back your comments to the staff and we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
US$109 - US$117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesGwyneddCaernarfonBeddgelert
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Prince Llewelyn Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Prince Llewelyn Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Gelert's Grave (0.1 km) and St.Mary's Church (0.06 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Prince Llewelyn Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free internet access.
What food & drink options are available at Prince Llewelyn Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Prince Llewelyn Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hebog Cafe & Bistro, Caffi Colwyn, and Glaslyn.
Is Prince Llewelyn Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.07 km away from the centre of Beddgelert.
Are pets allowed at Prince Llewelyn Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Prince Llewelyn Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Portmeirion Village (10.8 km), Cae'r Gors (12.3 km), and Porthmadog Eisteddfod Stone Circle (8.8 km).