We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castle Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$141*
View Deal
#1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$147*
US$141*
Great Deal
US$147*
US$147*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,095: English reviews
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2016

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in . The food was second to none . The room was gorgeous. The atmosphere was fantastic . What can I say about the staff other than kind , considerate , hard working and nothing was to much trouble for any of them . I would recommend this hotel to everyone...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anthony P
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great comments. As you witnessed first hand - we have a tremendous team of local people working with us - who do work extremely hard over the Easter Weekend and it's very heartening to read how much you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Holywell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2016

Initially booked a two night break but added a extra night after the service and food we received. We have stayed at plenty of "Pet Friendly" hotels but The Castle is a 110% pet friendly with a complementary dog bed and treats. The excellent service we received from all the staff and a special thanks to Matt, Dan and Rachael...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your positive review. Very pleased your 'best friend' was well looked after - we also travel with our dog. so really understand how nice it is to get a truly pet friendly hotel. Thanks for letting us know how well you were looked after too, especially by Matt, Dan and Rachael. Hope we see you back...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2016

Just webt for dinner with 87 year old mother in law arrived and our table for 3 was booked as a 2 this was not an issue as they moved other bookings around to accommodate us menus can be a little diffcult to read but after long perusal there is a lot of choice and gluten friendly options food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John R
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing - not sure how we are "trying a bit too hard" is a negative though! I'm assuming you were here over the Easter Weekend, which was extremely busy with lots of people generating lots of body heat! It was a bit humid too with all the rain - but please be assured we can open windows...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Two of us stayed at the Castle Hotel on a cycling trip in North Wales. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. They even kept our bicycles in a secure place overnight for us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Visitor401
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for writing. I'm extremly pleased to read we looked after you and your bikes - happily our team's helpfulness and friendliness is a constant theme on here. You had relatively decent weather last week, so I hoped you enjoyed our beautiful Welsh countryside?

Port St Mary, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in February for my wife's birthday. Because of this and a block booking in the dining room they upgraded our room and started our evening with a complimentary glass of champagne. Smaller dining room was excellent as was the food. Worth the visit for the Conwy Mussels alone. Brilliant, individual hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Velo15
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. We always try and give our birthday 'girls and boys' a treat when we know there's a special celebration - so it's great to read you enjoyed it! Yes the Conwy mussels are the best anywhere - unfortunately now out of season until October - you'll have to come back then!

bolton england
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Just returned from a nights stay with our dog . Had a wonderful time. Full marks for food, comfort, cleanliness, friendliness and dog wellbeing . Exceptional touches were appreciated, email received prior to arrival with really useful information; a voucher for 2 glasses of champagne given on arrival (when booking,was asked had we stayed before?,replied, 44years ago ,on honeymoon); interesting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Warburtons
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your positive review. Really glad you were well looked after. We're constantly looking at ways to make our guests' stay special and it's nice when it's appreciated. Very pleased your 'best friend' was well looked after too - we also travel with our dog. so really understand how nice it is to get a truly pet...

Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2016

I have visited Castle Hotel several times and have had a good lunch there. However this time it was a bit of a disappointment. I ordered Egg Benedict which was served on toasted roll and a small salad. I had two pieces of toasted roll which were smothered in hollandaise sauce. No salad. The toasted roll was cold due to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janice P
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing - just wished you'd said something whilst you were here. The Eggs Benedict should have had home bolied ham too - new menu so perhaps it was forgotten? But if you'd just said........! It should be two halves of a muffin, ham and two eggs topped with Hollandaise - good value for £7.95!

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2016

We stayed for a birthday getaway, the hotel is in a great location for good walks and see view. We walked around the castle and along the castle walls, had a lovely lunch at Amelies cafe, a swift drink in the Liverpool Arms and back to the hotel to check in. The room had been refurbished and was nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank b_rosie2016
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a generally good review. Sounds like you had a good time apart from the bed? Not sure which room you stayed in as we don't get your contact details on here. I hope you have received a personal email from me by now, as all guests should get one a couple of days after their departure? If...

Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

We absolutely love this place, the food is excellent, the ambience is great, the hotel itself is just lovely and you are made to feel very welcome. Top marks all round. There is nothing I could negatively comment on. Will continue to be our first choice of hotel in this area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janhrrp
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Wow - thanks very much! Fab review - we are very pleased you had a good time.

London
Reviewed 17 March 2016

The hotel is quaint and am sure is beloved of visiting American tourists but it is a little tired and in need of some TLC. We had the room on the first floor with the inglenook and, as with other reviewers, found the window seat area charming. However, even with the somewhat dim lighting one could see badly scuffed skirtings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy08London
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

All guests will be sent an email from me 72 hours after departure - I wonder why you didn't respond to me directly? The room you stayed in is extremely popular and often requested, so obviously not everyone feels as you do about it. But yes you're correct, it will be receiving all the TLC we can muster! However having...

255 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (244)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (132)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
1.1 km away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,503 reviews
2.5 km away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
664 reviews
21.5 km away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,328 reviews
4.7 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,167 reviews
4.6 km away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Dawson's Bar & Restaurant
Dawson's Bar & Restaurant
Cuisines: Welsh, British, International, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
'Boutiquey' Town House Hotel in middle of World Heritage walled town. After many years of upgrades and restoration, this famous old Inn now offers contemporary styling mixed with 'arts & crafts' character. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Hotel High Street, Conwy LL32 8DB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Price Range: €124 - €462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Conwy, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 108 has a real bonus with it's bay window”
  • Room 108 bonus! The bay window....
  • Room 108
brynmelyndavid, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“rooms on the front have view of main street”
593harryh, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are the quieter ones as you would expect in a busy town area”
jmyo, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“If you require a quitter room in the Resturant choose the Shakespeare’s or the snug as eating in the bar area can get quite noisy at times.”
Lorna1955, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“furthest away from the bar....”
384joanb, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$141* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$147
Booking.comUS$147
TravelocityUS$147
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates