We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castle Hotel

Show Prices
#1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,080 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,065: English reviews
Start your review of Castle Hotel
 Click to rate
Tarleton, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

It is a really lovely place with friendly and fast service. Everything was so good! Room was fantastic and comfortable. Definitely recommended! Bar is also nice with high quality service. It was a good choice.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 216karolina
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review! Recommend away! The team and I love making regulars and we hope you're already planning your next trip to our beautiful part of the world!

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The room was lovely, a little dark but added to the character of the hotel. The breakfast was lovely and the staff members were very helpful. I would recommend going to this hotel again - I know we will be returning!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlenHealiss
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! We love making regulars and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very poor service at the Castle Hotel yesterday. I have stayed at this establishment before and had no previous complaints but yesterday was totally different. I called in for lunch with my son , we ordered the standard meals of fish and pie but had to wait for over half and hour to be served. At no point was i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyC330
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Very sorry to read this review! Thank you for the time you have taken in writing it and we will look at the issues raised as a team to see what went wrong. As you can see, it is very unusual for someone to have an experience like this and we do hope you will return so we may give...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very nice that we had no problem seating in our party of 11 including 2 youngsters for lunch. Dining room was very peaceful and the walls were covered in really nice arts and craft type paintings of late c19. Can't remember the artist but believe he was quite an important one. Some nice leaflets in the lobby explaining the history...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swpratt
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! Glad to read you enjoyed our beautiful old building and the artist is called John Dawson-Watson, lots of great stories about him and the hotel!! Our kitchen team will love the feedback and we all look forward to welcoming you back very soon!!

mersyside
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed two nights in the castle, was a brilliant experience staying in room with four poster bed, 300 years old it stated in the hotels history book. Really enjoyed stay , staff were very efficient from checking in to waiting on staff in bars and restaurant! Breakfast was excellent and the choice was amazing! Only criticism would be the small...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank fletchlpool
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fantastic review!! The team and I are really pleased you enjoyed your two days with us, we love it when what we do here at the Castle makes our guests smile and we love creating regulars. So the team and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon to your favourite Welsh town!!

Swindon
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had been looking for a decent place to eat after a long day sightseeing. Came across the Castle whilst wandering the streets of Conwy. What a find! Lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Waitress went over and above expectations of helpfulness whilst being cheerful and chatty! To top it all had a lovely tasty meal at a reasonable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bas011656
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review!! So glad to read out team impressed and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon!!

Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Awesome hotel, great staff and location! We arrived after the kitchen was closed, but they went out of their way to bring us some delicious sandwiches. The hotel has a great atmosphere and a very cool bar.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank carmex6
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review! Glad to read the team looked after you well and that our Welsh hospitality was very much appreciated! We all look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Deganwy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a table for four people last night. The meal was outstanding. I had GF Roulade of salmon served on a sweet potato fondant; fennel, butter bean and butternut squash casserole; sautéed green beans and sauce vierge, absolutely stunning. My husband and friend had GF Fish & Chips- Natural haddock, deep fried in Monty’s Welsh beer batter, with crushed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorna1955
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! What a difference a day makes!! Glad that our menu, standards and service were in keeping with your expectations, making a regular out of you is our aim and we all look forward to welcoming you back very soon!!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Disappointed by the quality and service. The meals barely resembled the description, the fries were cold and the burger cremated. The Mrs had the sea-bass and commented on the very small portion and complete lack of olives (listed on the accompaniments) This was our second try here after a previous duck disaster, when entertaining visitors. Much better food for better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry to read to had a bad experience with us. We do hope you will visit again.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am staying at the Castle Hotel with my elderly mother as a birthday treat for her in a standard twin room (120). The hotel is set within a very old historic building on the main street in Conwy. It is furnished with ornaments and nic nacs in the hall ways which although aren't my taste suit the hotels history...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebecca b
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review! I'm am so happy to read our team have managed to convert you away from the "modern boxes" and we all look forward to welcoming back very soon!!

252 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (241)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
1.1 km away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,462 reviews
2.5 km away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
658 reviews
21.5 km away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,147 reviews
4.6 km away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
819 reviews
4.8 km away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Dawson's Bar & Restaurant
Dawson's Bar & Restaurant
Cuisines: Welsh, British, International, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
'Boutiquey' Town House Hotel in middle of World Heritage walled town. After many years of upgrades and restoration, this famous old Inn now offers contemporary styling mixed with 'arts & crafts' character. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Hotel High Street, Conwy LL32 8DB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Price Range: €105 - €255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Conwy, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you require a quitter room in the Resturant choose the Shakespeare’s or the snug as eating in the bar area can get quite noisy at times.”
Lorna1955, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“furthest away from the bar....”
384joanb, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you are on the first floor, ask for a room well away from the bar and restaurant, and facing away from the street.”
Louichan, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 207 is amazing”
Penguinrev, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are single glazed hence rooms at the front experience some street noise issues”
mickmusique, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5