We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abergavenny
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

444 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 437: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2016

I should have completed this review 12 months ago but after reading the last review I could not believe what I was reading in the two years I have stayed at the guest house I have never smelt any smoke within any room. I plan on staying there again within the next two weeks and I can say if my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James C
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2016

We arrived at this guest house with good expectations as we have always had excellent experiences at guest houses in Wales. What a disappointment! When entering the house it smelled of smoke, even though it states there is no smoking! Initially we were not going to stay, but we decided to look at the bedrooms. On first sight they looked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Juanita A
JAT1946, Owner at The Guest House, responded to this review

We were very disappointed to read this review. When these guests initially arrived, they complained due a perceived smell of cigarette smoke. I reassured them that this was not possible (our property IS non-smoking) whilst explaining that we had a wood-burning fire which had only just been lit (the vent from this fire is also directly opposite the room they...

Santa Pola, Spain
Reviewed 25 February 2016

We stayed for four nights while celebrating my mother-in-laws 90th birthday. The room was clean and overlooked the ducks and hens in the back garden. Part of our stay was over the weekend which meant a number of other rooms in use, we had no noise problems at all. The breakfast was the best thing about our stay well cooked,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank browneyedgirl28
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Our visit began with a great welcome from Kevin...and it was quite late..so after showing us our perfect little room [with avery comfy bed and the softest of cotton sheets] he very kindly drove us into Abergavenny to a Gurkha restaurant. We woke next morning to the chuntering of 28 hens and several ducks in the back garden and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aggs2013
Ruffec, France
Reviewed 14 January 2016

My friend and I stayed last October for a week of sightseeing and sketching in the town. the Guest House was just right for us: the welcome was friendly and helpful with the owner giving us lifts and directing us to good eating places etc. Nice breakfast with fruit salad for me as I need gluten-free. Good luck to Jenny...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

I dont really want to leave a review because I dont want anyone else to discover this place. Stayed over Christmas Eve to Boxing Day, my room was lovely and clean, the bed was so comfy I was quite bitter I had to get up.Lovely view of the ducks and chickens out back sadly the weather was grim but it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rosie k
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewed 2 December 2015

Abergavenny is a beautiful town in a fantastic location and The Guest House is a great place to stay. My wife and I spent 3 nights there and were very well looked after by Kevin and Jenny. The breakfasts are amazing and the two chattering parrots in the dining room had us laughing. I would have given it 5 stars...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
Isle of Man
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Second time I've stayed here as before I was made welcome by Kevin, Jenny and the cats. The room was comfortable and warm, it was compact but for a B&B more than adequate. The breakfast is great and they do a vegetarian cooked option as well. Street is quiet and a five minute walk from the main town area. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FlyingVicar
Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with my fiancé and 4-year-old collie-cross in early September 2015 and it was everything we wanted from a B&B on the outskirts of the Brecon Beacons. The welcome is warm and bed comfy. They were extremely accommodating of Khiva (the collie) and whilst the room could have been a little bigger, we didn't spend much time in it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Conmcb
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2015

4 of us stayed for a couple of nights and were very satisfied with our rooms, our breakfasts, and - even more importantly - the owners' willingness to help in any way they could. 2 of us are vegan and so called a couple of weeks ahead to check whether or not we'd need to bring our own soya milk,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen A

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
0.7 km away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
774 reviews
6.9 km away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
443 reviews
10.0 km away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 30 in Abergavenny
139 reviews
0.8 km away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 30 in Abergavenny
266 reviews
5.0 km away
Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At Jenny's Guest House you are invited to indulge in one of our seven guest rooms, all of varying sizes to suit your needs. We are within 7 minutes walk of Abergavenny town centre, we offer secure off-road parking, a varied breakfast menu catering for all tastes, and we even have our own mini-zoo complete with chickens, pigs and rabbits! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Guest House

Address: 2 Oxford Street, Abergavenny NP7 5RP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Price Range: €24 - €35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Guest House Abergavenny, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Twin bed on the ground floor was the biggest in the house apparently!”
 of 5 bubbles florir169, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I have been in most rooms and would gladly stay in any one again”
 of 5 bubbles jamescG5893YJ, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The rooms at the back of the house over look the chickens and ducks.”
 of 5 bubbles 132juanitaa, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Easy access room is very nice”
 of 5 bubbles Cats1946, 25 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Front-facing rooms avoid the sounds from the menagerie at the rear of the property and are fairly quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles louthrambler, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5