We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Plas Derwen

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Plas Derwen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 206: English reviews
Start your review of Plas Derwen
 Click to rate
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We can only apologise to Kevin for the delay in uploading this review for our stay in March. All we can say is we booked a room for 2 nights at the end of March. We knew that we would have to leave too early for breakfast on the Saturday morning so Kevin arranged for us to be given some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire123456777789
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked for 32 people to attend a family Sunday Lunch on Easter Sunday and we were a bit concerned that a busy pub restaurant could cope with this level of service, however I can report they were great! Both in the quality of the food and the level of service was excellent, many thanks to Kate and the team...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

my daughter took up the offer of a mother's day special for our family . a 3 course pre ordered set meal at a great price . staff where friendly , setting pleasant and meal perfect .pity the place looked empty. mother had a great time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barryA2165BZ
Management response:

Thank you for your lovely comments we are glad you enjoyed your visit and Mum was happy, we look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

We had an overnight stay as a short break away from the children. The accommodation is lovely, not luxury by any means but clean and modern. The pub itself has a lovely atmosphere with friendly staff and the drinks are reasonably priced. We eat in the restaurant in the evening, again, the staff were friendly and quite attentive. The menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodie J
Coleford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Stopped here with partner for lunch yesterday after a long walk. We were child free for a few hours so thought we'd try somewhere new. Looks welcoming from the outside and we were not disappointed when we walked in. Seated quickly and orders taken fairly soon after. Food was deliciousand reasonably priced. If in the area again, safe to say...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
Gloucester
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We spent one night here at the start of February. Our room was of a good size with a very comfortable bed. We chose to eat in the restaurant and we're not disappointed. Although some meals were a bit pricy we were very impressed with the quality of the food and the size of the portions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SparkesT
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Visited in the hope of getting some good pub food in a cosy county place. The starter slate cost £12 when it had around £5's worth of food. 4 chicken breasts, 2 lamb patties and 2 bizarre sausage rolls! Certainly not a £12 sharer starter. My partners steak was cooked well but a questionable weight, very small 8oz. My 'posh'...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BRC1991
Management response:

Dear BRC1991, I am sorry you were not satisfied with your experience during your visit and felt unable to raise your concerns on the night, if there are any issues we do welcome feedback and try to resolve these when they occur. We follow strict company specs as per ingredients and size of the products but I will feed your...

Greiz, Germany
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Came here to visit the area and been recommended the place. The price was acceptable for what you get. The room is spacious and has everything what's needed. Little out of date, but the price was good for that. Stayed in room 7 which had parking right outside so no long walks. Went for dinner there and the price /...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian L
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

First visit to this hotel and impressed with room size and decor. Bathroom too was large and maybe a bit cold as only a towel rail to heat it. Parking was right outside the door so great when we arrived on a damp day. Only criticism would be there wasn't a decently lit mirror for doing make-up etc. but staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shelizlee
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Lovely friendly place to eat and drink. Staff were very helpful. Food was really good and lots of families were there. Highly recommend this pub. We took our 10 month old baby and they were more than happy to get a highchair and provide hot water for his food. Will visit again if in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicci D

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
1.0 km away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
834 reviews
6.1 km away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
481 reviews
10.6 km away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 30 in Abergavenny
294 reviews
0.7 km away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 30 in Abergavenny
150 reviews
3.5 km away
Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Plas Derwen is a fantastic pub restaurant which offers exceptional food at ordinary prices. Located within easy reach of the A40 and A465 (Heads of the Valleys Road), it was redeveloped to a high standard in April 2007. All our food is cooked to order, using produce from local suppliers, listed on the back of our weekly changing menus, enabling you to have a different dish with every visit. There is also a Specials board and a Fish Specials board for even more variety. This is a warm, welcoming venue with pastel colours and a large see through feature fireplace. The building dates back 600 years and the refurbishment has been sympathetically undertaken to reflect old meeting new. With contemporary furnishing, the traditional slant has been retained with many nooks and crannies around the pub. The Garden Room, Lounge Bar and double Conservatory are separate rooms offering different experiences. Some areas have leather sofas and leather tub chairs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Plas Derwen

Address: Monmouth Road, Abergavenny NP7 9SP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Price Range: €92 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plas Derwen 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Plas Derwen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Derwen Hotel Abergavenny
Plas Derwen Abergavenny, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Plas Derwen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms outside in the annex were great.”
Claire123456777789, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Close to the railway station and easy access to the main motorway connection. Excellent countryside close at hand - good for walkers.”
bsrbaram, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Several rooms are set across the car park - they are big, very quiet and cars can be parked outside the door - good if it starts to rain!”
PKNelson, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I can't advise on this, I have experience of three rooms and have had no cause for complaint.”
jrdo5959, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in converted stable block are nice and quite, bedroom for elderly relative (or disabled person) is ideal with parking close by.”
JohnH185, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5