We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Menai Bank Hotel

206 reviews
Save
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (3)
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good34%
  • Average12%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“attic room”(7 reviews)
“facing the sea”(3 reviews)
“town centre”(14 reviews)
Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
2.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (206)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Menai Bank Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
94
68
22
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
94
68
22
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattic roomfacing the seatown centrewell stocked barbay windowcooked breakfasthuge bedcotton wool ballswarm welcomelast minute bookingan updatetea coffee facilitiesprivate parkinghot waterdressing tablethe room was niceexcellent breakfast
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
81 - 85 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2014

This is not a purpose built hotel but a conversion of 3 Victorian villa style houses which means that there were some imperfections. These minor imperfections were well outweighed by the warm welcome and continued attention from Rebecca, the comfortable beds, the clean spacious room...More

Thank Sagacandidate
Response from PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank HotelResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you very much for a very constructive review. It's as descibed1

Reviewed 7 September 2014 via mobile

Room was dirty, bath plug didn't fit, television turned on with light switch, the window broken and the room noisy. However, the initial greeting was pleasant although I can see why the place is up for sale.More

5  Thank Andy M
Response from PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank HotelResponded 16 September 2014

You have not mentioned which room you were in so we have double checked all the rooms with bath and could not find any problem with any bath stopper. We have also checked all those bedroom windows and could not find any broken! Regarding your...More

Reviewed 31 August 2014

Yes, Patrick is very helpful, but we found the room to be very basic. The building is old and it shows. The location is convenient, as it is within walking distance from the town center. A supermarket and small shopping arcade are even closer. Free...More

Thank Smokedeel
Response from PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank HotelResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you for your review. We realise the hotel is old (c.1860). If we upgraded further all the rooms it would take us into another price level. We think we fit well into the convenient basic accommodation bracket you describe. Your comments are noted. Thank...More

Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for an overnight stopover. From the minute you come in and are met by Patrick you are made to feel very welcomed The hotel is situated in a great place overlooking the straits and Anglesey beyond. You are also...More

Thank MarcandLauraB
Response from PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank HotelResponded 19 August 2014

What can we say after that 5 star review..only a big 5 star Thank you :-) Look forward to seeing you again DV.

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Looking for an overnight stop on our way to a leisurely next morning rendezvous in Abersoch from Huddersfield this was just what we needed. Warm welcome, pleasant clean room and a smashing breakfast served with a smile.

Thank DebCoombes
Response from PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank HotelResponded 5 August 2014

We are always pleased to read reviews where people have found the hotel a relaxing place to stay. Thank you for your review. Hopefully we will see you again.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
1151617181939
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$88 - US$124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#4 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#5 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$88 - US$124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#4 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#5 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
24240070
16 December 2014|
Answer
Response from PIPCaernarfon | Property representative |
There are 3Bfs.. options. 1. £5 from the Buffet (All usual juices,cereals,fruits,toast,teas,coffee etc. 2. FOC for the self service kitchen. 3.Traditional Cooked £8 You don't have to book Bfs. until you check in. Gluten... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Ask for a room on the ground floor if you have a problem with stairs"
Read review
"Room three was large and with a view of the Menai."
Read review
"Our room was Room #5 with good views and was nice and big"
Read review
"Pay the extra few pounds to get the sea view"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing