We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Menai Bank Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Menai Bank Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Menai Bank Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 180: English reviews
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Apart from the old town and one of the best Castles in the UK, Caenarfon (Carnarvon) in Wales does not have a look going for it. We stayed at the Menai Bank for 2 nights before boarding the ferry at Holyhead and heading to Ireland. Like a lot of these style of hotel in the UK it is off the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KenPaulineFayle
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

We like the fact you mentioned our Bar Prices are good. We try to be competitive. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you.

Greater Toronto
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We chose the B&B for the view of the water and the bay window in our double room provided exactly that. We knew it was facing a roadway, but if you sit back in the comfortable chairs, you can enjoy the sunset. Patrick is a wonderful host from welcome to departure with a sense of humour that our teenage boys...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeoRoadWarriors
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking time to write a favourable review. Your observations will hopefully tempt others when trying to decide where to stay in this area. Glad "Binker" got a mention..she says "Woof woof" too.

Cheshire
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We chose to stay at this hotel for one night as it was conveniently located on the Welsh Coastal Path. The online booking process was easy. The hotel owner, Patrick, was welcoming and helpful. We were shown where the communal kitchen was where you could make your own breakfast. The fridge had individual room baskets in so you can keep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for a great detailed review. It answers many of the questions we regularly get asked and some we sometimes neglect to mention . This should be a useful guide for intending customers.. Thanks again.

Grimsby
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for business purposes, located within easy reach of local town and supermarkets, accomodation although dated is clean an comfortable and the staff were wonderful and accomodating. My room was a twin and on a slant!! However bed was comfy although the pillows were too hard for my liking, bathroom was basic and clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Psych2608
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

We like the slant bit !! Regarding pillows..Did you try the wardrobe where there are extra pillows. we try and keep a good mix of pillows in each room to suit all tastes.Tip: Next time check at reception or when booking ask for a soft pillow and we will accommodate you :-) Hope to see you again. PS Ask for...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We wish we could have stayed longer. Very central location in terms of Caernarfon (we could walk to everything in this town) as well as North Wales. The owners, Rachel and Patrick, are friendly and helpful; guided us to good restaurants and trips. We were even upgraded to a larger room at no extra cost. My husband and I were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joeyrc
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us and we are always happy to read that you enjoyed your visit and may return again.

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Very nice, great value hotel with lovely, comfortable, well equipped rooms. The owners were very accommodating and it was just short walk into the old town either via the main road or by the sea. Also very accessible via public transport (we arrived by bus from Conwy) with a bus stop just up the road. As we had a tight...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen K
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. As well as a place for your takeaways in the evening the availability of a self service kitchen now means you have the option to make your own breakfast at no extra charge. ...which is proving very popular for those on a tight budget nowadays. Bus Tip: Those travelling by Bus should find the app "Traveline...

Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2013

booked on wednesday and stayed on thursday and friday ,, overall very good,close to town centre,clean rooms,very friendly owners ,would stay here again when we are in caenarfon.breakfast was excellent

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jaj112233
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We like the fact that you think we offer value for money. One of the main comparison sites has us as best value in Caernarfon on price. Our September Offers are available now. Thanks again

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We booked the hotel last minute based on other traveller reviews. We were made very welcome by Patrick and Rachel. Our room was at the top of the hotel overlooking the Menai straits; the bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in and the bath towels are huge. Our room was spotlessly clean. My only minus comment is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Yvonnenetball
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review. For future reference.... Extra towels are not a problem, just ask at Reception if needed. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Booked this at the (very) last minute. Extremely good service and a quiet, comfortable room. I wouldn't have gone for the breakfast - not because of the quality, but due to all the good eating places in town. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Radish_Spirit
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Delighted you found Caernarfon a good eating place. There are a few new additions this year and feedback is very good. Thank you for you review of Menai Bank and hopefully we will see you again.

Derby
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel at last minute booking as other hotel let us down when we arrived!! This hotel was simple and good! Our room was a bit dated, but we were very comfortable, the owner ensured that we were comfortable and our needs are met. They even have a fridge where we could store fresh cold food and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhillipsVessey
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing and recommending us. We are glad you enjoyed the service. For your information each Winter we "update" some of our "dated" rooms without trying to spoil the "dated look" . The building dates from around 1860.

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.6 km away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,214 reviews
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.4 km away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
139 reviews
7.1 km away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
402 reviews
2.9 km away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Menai Bank Hotel

Address: North Road | Gwynedd, Caernarfon LL55 1BD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Price Range: €68 - €104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Menai Bank Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Menai Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menai Bank Hotel Caernarfon, Wales
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#5 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#6 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Menai Bank Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Menai Bank Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not telling as I don't want everyone getting our favourite room”
, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request a front room, stunning view.”
25keithj, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Only the front rooms have a sea view!”
346stevew, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms have sea view.”
steviedib, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We had a room at the front of the hotel which overlooked the sea, it was spacious and was a fantastic view”
emmahunt2015, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5