We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Menai Bank Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Menai Bank Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 179: English reviews
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here at the booking of a hostel that overbooked. We had a pleasant old room that was comfortable. In the morning we had breakfast served by the man who runs the inn. There was great coffee and a good selection of continental items. You have free parking as well.

Helpful?
Thank Vincent S
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and delighted you enjoyed our great choice of freshly ground coffee(Cappuccinos. Lattes etc.) to order as well as the selection from the Buffet. Many of the old rooms are "old" (Some c.1860!) but as you pointed out they are comfortable and all en-suite. Thanks again for reviewing us. More 

Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We only Stayed for 1 night. Was disappointed that you had too pay for wifi. £2. Room was large with 2 single beds in. Bit dated though and very little parking. Good view from the front though. Would stay again just for the night.

Helpful?
Thank tjl80
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Wifi is now supplied by an Ofcom regulated operator that meets with legislative requirements for security and privacy. (Paid Access) £2 for 24hrs. or £9 for a week We no longer supply a free access code to an unregulated unsecured router. Read why not on North Wales Police website and many other sources. This is clearly stated on our own... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Was met with the very friendly hotelier who welcomed us warmly and gave us an update on Caernarfon and what things were there to visit. He was lovely. The room was nice. The decor was slightly tired but that's really not something to complain about. The bed was very comfortable and the amenities were really good. In such a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leachy141
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

We have consciously kept the room price down and we know we offer the most competitive room rates for this area. So we are delighted that you found the prices reasonable. Admittedly we would love to lavish out on the "tired room" for but then the price would have to go up!! Every year we re-decorate a few at a... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Room at the front with a huge bed,en suite, tea making facilities but over and above others they supplied a jar of coffee, and such niceties as bottle of soap, shampoo,conditioner,cotton wool balls and cotton buds, but of the room the best is the settee where we sat and watched the tide rise or fall and the sunset was unforgettable.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mikey P
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Yes,- it's hard to beat the views from those rooms facing Anglesey and the sunsets over the Menai Strait. That's why we have the armchairs and couches in some of them. In the Summer you can sit out on the terrace off the bar and take advantage also of those lovely long Summer evenings. Thanks for taking the time to... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights in September. Would definitely recommend staying at the Menai Bank Hotel. The rooms at the front have stunning views towards Anglesey. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable and most of all, competitively priced. Patrick was friendly and welcoming, made our stay just that bit more special.

Helpful?
Thank keith j
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to give us a favourable review. We liked the fact you particularly thought we were competitively priced for this type of small licensed hotel. Thanks again. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely bed and breakfast, clean, tidy and less than 10min walk to town centre. Felt breakfast was a bit pricey at £9 each so chose to eat ib town. Really enjoyed our stay tho and will definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank janehammond
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We've priced the Breakfast to take into account the extensive menu we provide and there are no hidden extra charges if you have extra anything, e.g. extra Cappuccinos etc. The price also takes into account the new minimum labour cost increases recently announced by the Government. MENU: STARTERS: Apple or Orange Juice, Grapefruit Segments, Peaches, Prunes,... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2016

well positioned hotel, we upgraded to a front room over looking the bay, well worth it, large comry room king size bed and well stocked bar, ideal location for the town, free parking a bonus, would stay again

Helpful?
Thank Keith B
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your front room with the view. Yes that view is "different" every day...even spectacular with cloudy sunsets. That Bay is actually the Menai Strait which is a stretch of water between the island of Anglesey and the mainland. When you look to your left you can see the entrance to the Strait from the Irish Sea. Where... More 

Winsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Patrick was very friendly and helpful. The view was only spoiled by the large supermarket entrance opposite the hotel, but not too bad. The room was great with a huge bed, but the only heating was a small electric heater. OK at this time of year but could be a problem in colder weather. The breakfast was OK, small cooked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve W
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Interesting comment on the Breakfast! Our standard serving is two slices of Bacon, One or Two eggs,(done to your taste ,fried, scrambled, poached, etc.) Sausage, Tomato, Beans, Mushrooms. Added to this there is the option on the menu to have Black Pudding and Fried Bread. Now if anyone needs more we are only too glad to add more ...it's not... More 

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night visiting in the area. Had a front room on first floor. Great views of the Menai strait. Can be quite noisy with traffic if you have the window open but that's just a little gripe. Nothing to write home about. The room was lovely. Clean and bright with ensuite. No electric shower but not a problem.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank thetwiglet
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for a very fair review. This Winter we hope to upgrade some of those baths with the showers over them to a more user friendly option...exactly what we are not sure yet. Look forward to seeing hopefully again. We will post the new details of the new shower units on our site in the Spring. More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2016

What a warm welcome by Patrick! He made us feel at home, and had a good chat with us, took the time for it, and told us stories of his life! We left we were not only customers, and that is very nice when you're on holidays, and you actually have time to meet people! The room was huge, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank EmeraldIsle1703
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review...particularly about the bed. Yes we put a lot of work into getting the right most comfortable mattresses for each room and upgrading so many of them every year. They can be quite expensive,- but it pays off when we read a review like that. Thanks again. I like the Gaelic bit at the end.... More 

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.6 km away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,143 reviews
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.4 km away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
123 reviews
10.7 km away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.3 km away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Menai Bank Hotel

Address: North Road, Caernarfon LL55 1BD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Price Range: €63 - €76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Menai Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menai Bank Hotel Caernarfon, Wales
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#6 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Menai Bank Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Menai Bank Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not telling as I don't want everyone getting our favourite room”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request a front room, stunning view.”
 of 5 bubbles 25keithj, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Only the front rooms have a sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles 346stevew, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms have sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles steviedib, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We had a room at the front of the hotel which overlooked the sea, it was spacious and was a fantastic view”
 of 5 bubbles emmahunt2015, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay