We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Royal Adelaide Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Adelaide Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Royal Adelaide Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 386: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Very nice hotel . Situated a short walk from town it was ideal. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We were allowed to wander off to explore the castle after checking out on the Sunday, leaving our cars in the hotel car park. Very pleased with this. The room was lovely. The breakfast was spot on. We'll be back... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
RoyalAdelaideHotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your recent review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your comments onto the Royal Adelaide Team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Lorraine Miller (General Manager) More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Old Hotel, small rooms, breakfast on the Saturday was very poor, eggs undercooked despite being returned to have another attempt at cooking a boiled egg which is not difficult , black pudding was only cooked on one side, all in all the worst breakfast I've experienced in a hotel in a long time. The self service breakfast on the 2nd... More 

Helpful?
Thank cliffordjohnw
RoyalAdelaideHotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review

I am really sorry to hear of your recent disappointment at your stay with us. I have obviously discussed the issues you raised with our team as our breakfast standards are very high. Please always raise any issues during your stay or on check out as I would have been more than happy to discuss these with you. Due to... More 

Travellers are raving about these Windsor hotels

Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for one night before a wedding. We stayed in the the Adelaide house which was just behind the hotel. We had one room, my partner's parents had the opposite room. Both priced 85, their room was much bigger than ours with a bigger bed. Neither room were cleaned properly, you could see dust on the mirror... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alice P
RoyalAdelaideHotel, Front Office Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. Due to the style of the Hotel all our rooms are different shapes and sizes and if told upon check in of any issues with the room we would have been to see if an upgrade was available. With regards to the cleanliness this is not our usual standard and the relevant department has been... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Booked two nights. turned up, room ground floor next to car park, okay. Curtains didn't fit the window frames and i had to wedge one curtain using bedside furniture to keep car pk light out. The decor was pretty poor and I could do a better job TBH. Spider wens too in corners and my bedside lamp didnt work .Asked... More 

Helpful?
Thank manxboy
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here last night. Beds were tiny and extremely uncomfortable. Mattress was either very old or very cheap, definitely NOT suitable for a hotel. Overpriced for what it is. We paid £100 a night for a double. I would rather stay a little further away or pay more to get somewhere you can actually sleep! Do not do it!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Demand for hotels in Windsor is very high all year round therefore finding affordable availability at short notice is nigh on impossible. Thus I found myself staying at The Royal Adelaide one night this week. The building is impressive and from the outside it looks magnificent, but I knew I wouldn't get a beautiful boutique hotel (which I would love... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
England
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2016

I booked first and then read the reviews here so I was a bit worried about the stay. The welcome at reception was very good. I had a single room at the back of the hotel which suited me fine as it was quieter being away from the road. It was very small - say 1/3 of the size of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wentworth1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

The condition of the hotel is fine, the walk to Windsor is town centre is short and easy. What I found unfair about this hotel given the price I paid was the £18 Parking cost and the £9.50 cost for 2 bottles of water which really represents taking more margin out of their customers than is needed.

Helpful?
Thank Terry M
Newport
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

I stay here often and find it perfectly acceptable. Nice staff, particularly the lady who I think is the restaurant manager or similar. Good food. Worth paying extra for a larger room as the small double is exceptionally small! Short walk to Windsor town centre.

Helpful?
Thank TashandPaul
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Spent one night here. Our room (41) was very small, needs updating and the windows need a good clean! Scuffy decor in hallways and in our room. Breakfast was nice, only scrambled eggs on offer, would prefer a choice. Car parking at hotel is expensive £18. Wouldn't stay here again as I think it's over-priced.

Helpful?
Thank jeanbCannock

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.7 km away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.6 km away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.7 km away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
1.3 km away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated directly opposite the famous Long Walk is The Royal Adelaide Hotel with its striking royal blue front. Privately owned The Royal Adelaide prides itself with high levels of genuine hospitality and is regarded as a true gem by past guests and tourists. All 43 guest bedrooms feature modern amenities, free view flat screen TV's, full size writing desks, full independently controlled air-conditioning and free WI-Fi. The hotel features a private car park which requires pre booking and a fee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Adelaide Hotel

Address: Allkins Court 46 Kings Road, Windsor SL4 2AG, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Adelaide)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Price Range: €85 - €149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Adelaide Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, SpeedyBooker.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Adelaide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Adelaide Windsor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Adelaide Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Adelaide Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Windsor is on the flight path to Heathrow; planes fly right over the hotel from 6am, but the windows are double glazed.”
  • Room 33 looked out on an elegant terrace of houses and beautiful trees.
 of 5 bubbles ccsidewriter, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get used to the aircraft every 90 seconds”
 of 5 bubbles regk128, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All are small, but neat and tidy, however be aware no lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles cliffordjohnw, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles manxboy, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No lift, if you care about stairs choose lower floor.”
 of 5 bubbles C7171KHjohnk, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay