We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Thames Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Thames Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Thames Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 199: English reviews
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Location is the best part about this hotel. I stay in quiet a lot of hotels through work, and I can differentiate between the various grades, confuses me how some people can class this as a 4/5* hotel. The hotel Class is 2*. Breakfast wasn't the best, but then again suited to a 2* hotel. Service was reasonable, no complaints....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rees27
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rees27, Thank you for taking the time to write a review we always value guest feedback. I would like to confirm that we are a 3* Hotel and reviews/ratings on trip advisor are based on customers experiences. A lot of our customers have had a very enjoyable stay and have rated us 5* on trip advisor as that was...

Reviewed 19 March 2016

We only stayed for one night, I was in the area for a meeting, but we could happily have stayed longer. We had a room on the first floor with a view over the river. The staff were all very helpful, the room was spotless, the Italian food was very good, as was the breakfast. Free Wi-Fi and private car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margret, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you had a lovely stay we will hopefully see you again soon for a longer trip Kind Regards Emily

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016

If you like to wake in the morning to the sound of running water and the quacking of ducks, this is a great place to stay - provided you get a front room that is. It is a nice large riverside place, though not too big to be overwhelming. The attractive old road bridge is nearby and just a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Thank you for taking the time to review the Thames Hotel we greatly appreciate guest feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Emily

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed room TS3 over looking the Thames. Room was an executive double and very spacious. Needs a bit of an update but good value for what we paid. Comfy bed, tea coffee making facilities and iron if needed. Bathroom clean but the over bath shower could have been stronger. Staff are very friendly and the hotel has a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey J
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tracey Thank you for taking the time to write a review we really value guest feedback. I'm glad to hear you had a lovely meal on valentines day and enjoyed your over night stay. I will definitely pass on your comments to the team in the restaurant as we are always looking to improve our service. Once again thank...

bushey
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel right on the river,clean well presented room with river view. Shame about the scaffolding. Right next to the town 5 mins walk. Will come back in the summer. Coffee and tea making facilities with a TV ironing board all in the room. The hotel also has a restaurant adjoining it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jason j
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jason, Thank you for taking the time to write a review we always appreciate guest feedback. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry about the scaffolding we will be taking it down as soon as possible. Thank you once again and we will look forward to seeing you back in the summer Kind Regards Emily

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

We'd just had a lovely walk along the riverside, admiring all the millionaire mansions across the river when it started to rain, so we sought shelter and a pub lunch in the Thames Hotel. The place was empty when we arrived but the food was, well, some of the best! I had Shepherds Pie with peas. The pie looked homemade...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KeithTonbridge
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Tonbridge, Thank you for your lovely comments we always appreciate guest feedback. I'm glad to hear you had an very enjoyable lunch in our bar and that we saved you from getting too wet. Thank you once again and we will look forward to seeing you next time you are in Maidenhead Kind Regards Emily

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location and parking is free. The building is lovely and we received a friendly welcome at reception when we checked in. We were on the second floor but be warned there is no lift. This didn't bother us and we were happy to carry our luggage up ourselves - there was no offer of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caroline, Thank you for taking the time to write a review we always value guest feedback. I'm sorry to hear that we didn't meet up to your usual expectations. Please be aware that we have recently changed the Shower unit in this room as we were unaware of the problems in there before your stay. If the Hotel was...

Reviewed 13 January 2016

I booked two rooms in this hotel for some family coming down to visit me. I cant rate the place highly enough. From the outside it looks a little tired but inside its spotless. Nobody had anything negative to say. Friendly staff great breakfast and great location with lovely views across the river. Thanks to all involved for helping make...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chefandy85
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chefandy, Thank you for your lovely comments we really value guest feedback I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found all of our staff friendly and helpful. We will hopefully welcome you back to the Thames Hotel soon Kind Regards Emily

Eton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Food brilliant disco didn't start until after 10.30. but watch out for drunk owner & girl friend. Extremely rude, owner apologised but girl friend who hadn't a clue what was said vile. Would not go to another function.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Debra B
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here as we attended a private house party on new years eve in the area. The location was brilliant, as was the room. Slightly dated although clean, no damage to anything and large in size. The things that perfect our stay was upon arrival we were told that as compliments of the manager, as it was new years...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirstie H

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
0.3 km away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#6 of 11 in Maidenhead
637 reviews
2.9 km away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
2.4 km away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Travelodge Maidenhead Central Hotel
2.6 km away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
549 reviews
1.3 km away
Norfolk House Hotel
Norfolk House Hotel
#4 of 11 in Maidenhead
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Thames Hotel

Address: Ray Mead Road, Maidenhead SL6 8NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Price Range: €60 - €106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thames Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Thames Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thames Hotel Maidenhead
The Thames Hotel Maidenhead, Berkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Thames Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Thames Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room. TB1. This is the large room with a balcony overlooking the. Thames”
 of 5 bubbles Shorty44, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at front are spacious and have a lovely river view.”
 of 5 bubbles ColinandPauline, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Please note stairs no lift at the property,”
 of 5 bubbles axeltramp, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best views are at the front but these are on a main road so higher floors are better”
 of 5 bubbles solo51, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a double room with river view”
 of 5 bubbles W3735NCdianas, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay