We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alabare House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Alabare House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 52: English reviews
Start your review of Alabare House
 Click to rate
Stoney Stanton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

B&B that is also a Christian retreat. However, they also give heathens like me a warm welcome. Located within easy walking distance of Salisbury town centre. There is gated, off-road parking and a warm welcome awaits you from the friendly staff. Room was beautiful, well equipped and with a good en-suite with an effective shower. Very comfortable bed. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J M W
John P, Owner at Alabare House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return. The chicken still roams!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for a night only. The best thing about this guesthouse is the location - literally about 10 min walk to the center. The rooms though looking clean, smell of old furniture. However, this was not the worst part - our toilet did not flush and stank! Would not come back at all. Bear in mind that they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EdenOfSuns
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Secure free car parking is the best point. The decoration is 1970s and everything is tired. However it's clean, the staff were friendly. Don't get too excited over the breakfast, tinned grapefruit, budget cereals and tinned mushrooms. Paying for wi-fi also wrangled.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Budleigh
John P, Owner at Alabare House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. The decoration has all been done in the last 3 years and the cereals at breakfast are all main brands e.g. Kellogg's. We never use tinned mushrooms only fresh but the grapefruit is tinned. I hope you enjoyed your stay and received value for money. Our parking alone saves our guests £7 a day when...

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

:-( awful place very dated , noisy . The car parking is poor , for the cost the place certainly isn't worth it for a twin room at £82-50 to then charge you 50p as paying with a debit card. Then to discover via email they have charged me £8-25 for the reservation :-( I now wish I booked in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YvetteJ1368
John P, Owner at Alabare House, responded to this review

Sorry you were not happy with your stay. You stayed in our newly refurbished room facing onto the car park which is usually one of our quietest. The car park can be full if all our rooms are booked but this gives security and saves on considerable parking costs locally.

Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

My wife and i stayed while visiting my son.It was only 10 to 15 minute walk from town .Very clean and tidy.The staff where helpful when asked a question relating to area.The electric gate gives you a feeling of security.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
John P, Owner at Alabare House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Pleased you enjoyed your stay

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 November 2016

We had a lovely stay at this guesthouse. The rooms were clean, very friendly staff who went out of their way to help you, and a great breakfast! Also it is in walking distance to Salisbury Cathedral and the old town of Salisbury.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lrp62
John P, Owner at Alabare House, responded to this review

Please you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 24 October 2016

As an older woman on my own I was encouraged by the fact that there is an electronic gate to get into the guest house. Things got even better when I booked in as my welcome was so friendly and I was told and shown everything I needed to know - even making sure I knew how to punch in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
John P, Owner at Alabare House, responded to this review

Thank you. We hope you will return

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

My husband, our daughter and I, had the pleasure of staying here last weekend. I'm in a wheelchair and the property was wheelchair accessible which is fab! We were welcomed by a lovely young gentleman who showed us to our room. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was included in the price and included a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmurph7
Bulkington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We stayed here for a wedding in Salisbury. They are very helpful and obliging. Nothing was too mch trouble for them,this is a lovely quiet hotel and oh so peaceful. It is a christain and prayer centre,but don't let that put you off staying here as it is a very clean place to stay. The food was lovely and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 653sylvia55
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Nicely hidden away from main street, almost missed it. Warm welcome, uncomplicated approach, helpful, safe for leaving a car there anytime. Good breakfast, and no problem with a predominantly German breakfast chatter when I was there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ute B

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
1.3 km away
Peartree Serviced Apartments Salisbury
0.4 km away
City Lodge
City Lodge
#14 of 16 in Salisbury
295 reviews
0.5 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sarum College
Sarum College
#17 of 58 in Salisbury
94 reviews
0.2 km away
No photo provided
Huntsman Tavern
#45 of 58 in Salisbury
2 reviews
0.3 km away
St Ann's House B&B
St Ann's House B&B
#27 of 58 in Salisbury
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer a warm and friendly Christian home. All rooms have TV and tea/coffee making facilities.Wi-Fi internet access available for guests with their own laptops.Set well back from the road and within easy walking distance of the Cathedral and City Centre. Cyclists welcome. Private parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alabare House

Address: 15 Tollgate Road, Salisbury SP1 2JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Price Range: €60 - €85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alabare House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alabare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alabare House Salisbury, Wiltshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alabare House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Alabare House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Well tucked away just off the ring-road. Due to the odd road local layout, it takes a little bit of finding, but is well worth the effort.”
713jmw, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room without toilet”
EdenOfSuns, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask if you have special needs as there are ground floor rooms if you can't do stairs.”
653sylvia55, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No tip.It depends on how many sharing a room I guess”
patp560, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms en suite, others not. Ask”
461davidj, 20 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5