We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

King's Head Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
King\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

681 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for King's Head Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 670: English reviews
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We've had a great stay here, staff very helpful and when we have eaten and had drinks over this weekend we've been served pretty quick, especially considering it's been a busy bank holiday weekend. Food is good value for money as well as drinks, located really well for visiting this historic city, every thing in good walking distance. Room is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drummond29
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Drummond29, Thank you for your fantastic comments and for the 5* rating! It was lovely to hear from you! We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel is located in a beautiful historical building which means some of our rooms are a little bit tricky to get to but in my opinion,...

Norway
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Big room with very good and large bed. Big bathroom. Completely renovated. Quite. Very central. You have to pass a labyrinth of the stairs and corners to get to some rooms. Funny. We enjoyed our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amalka37
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Amalka37, Thank you for your review and also for rating us 5*! We’re so happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay! We are located in a lovely historical building which means some of the rooms are located in the eaves in the oldest part of the building. This does create some quirky corridors and some steps...

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We stayed there last Friday while visiting Salisbury races, we were apprehensive at first with it being a 'Weatherspoons' regarding noise etc, but gladly our fears were unfounded, we were on floor 2, a great room, nice and quiet and very well appointed. Handy for a drink and breakfast the next day, our only issue was car parking , or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FRED B
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Fred B, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review! Due to our location in this historical city centre we weren’t able to accommodate guest parking within our facilities. We do recommend Central car park which is placed nearby to our hotel (about 3-5 minutes walk) which is free between 6pm and 8am. Please don’t...

Tenterden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We stayed here last night and were very pleased with our choice. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly as well as efficient. The rooms were a good size, with modern decor, very clean and great facilities including air conditioning - a great bonus on a hot night! The beds were comfortable and the bathroom in excellent order. The pub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sgr2010
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear sgr2010, Thank you for your brilliant review and 5 star rating! It’s always wonderful to receive such positive feedback regarding our staff and facilities; we’re glad that you enjoyed your room and found our staff to be professional and welcoming. It's great to hear that you would recommend us and that you had such a great experience at our...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Loved the room we stayed in 214. It was a good size with a nice view of the river. It's really central near to everything. The room was clean and tidy and had tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer. The only downside is that there was no shower curtain so the bathroom floor got absolutely soaked and that...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Helen B, Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Room you mentioned is one of our nicely situated rooms with a fantastic view of the River Avon. Tea and coffee are complimentary and placed alongside bottled water and biscuits in our rooms for our guests’ comfort. We’re looking forwards to see you...

bedfordshire
Reviewed 22 August 2016

The hotel was nice. The room itself was ample big enough, though glad bedroom had secondary glazing as we was on main road and could be noisy with buses passes. This was made more obvious in the bathroom that didn't have secondary glazing. On the bathroom it was huge and had lovely shower. In the room was an air conditioning...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank advisernovice
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear advisernovice, Thank you for your review. We’re glad to hear that you found your room in our hotel pleasant! Secondary glazing was installed to make our rooms more comfortable for guests whilst still taking care to respect our lovely Grade II listed building. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Lena Ropka Duty Receptionist

Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We needed one nights accomodation in Salisbury as we were setting out to walk the Clarendon Way the next day. We've stayed at a Wetherspoon's hotel before and found them good value for money. We weren't disappointed. The room was clean, the beds comfortable and the bathroom would not have looked out of place in a far more expensive hotel....

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnDaniels51
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear JohnDaniels51, Thank you for your lovely TripAdvisor review! We’re very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the room exceeded your expectations! All of our rooms are slightly different and most do come with a bathtub in the bathroom. Please do not hesitate to request this should you chose to book with us again. For our best rates,...

California
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We stayed for 1 night and found the room to be very nice. The wifi worked well. We did have to drag our luggage up stairs! The morning front desk crew was very helpful and accommodating.It was in a great location to explore the city and next to the Avon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaEnr
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear CaliforniaEnr, Thank you for your review! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to explore our beautiful city! Also, thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding our fantastic reception team, it's great to know we are providing excellent customer service to our guests! We hope to be able to welcome...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016

If you are thinking of visiting Salisbury and looking for a good value no frills hotel, this could be the one for you. It's well situated for the station (about 10 minutes walk) and within easy reach of attractions. Bookings are room only but because it's a Wetherspoons hotel with pub downstairs, you can eat and drink there at very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Diane C, Thank you for your TripAdvisor review! We’re so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to explore Salisbury due to our fantastic location! It’s great to hear that you would recommend us! We hope to welcome you back to The King’s Head Inn in the future. Kind regards, Gina Hawkins Hotel Receptionist

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We were so happy the inn was close to the train station, as we were walking in. It was also right in town and close to the cathedral. The room was very updated, especially the bathroom, and had A/C.The reception staff was very helpful. We enjoyed several meals at the pub downstairs, which were tasted, well-priced, and speedily served!

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joyce V
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Joyce V, Thank you for your lovely Tripadvisor review and 5* rating! We’re really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s always great to receive feedback regarding the attached pub downstairs, especially when it’s so positive! We’ll pass on your kind words to the management and staff there. Kind regards, Gina Hawkins Hotel Receptionist

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.4 km away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
4.5 km away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.3 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 15 in Salisbury
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 15 in Salisbury
703 reviews
1.0 km away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#6 of 15 in Salisbury
822 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The site of this Wetherspoon pub has been occupied by an inn since the 15th century. By c1520, it was known as the King's Head, and it retained that name until it was rebuilt in the 1880s. The County Hotel was, itself, a change of name some time during the 1880s or 1890s. Before then, it was the Kings Head and Brewery. We have 33 individual bedrooms. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea- and coffee-making facilities, air conditioning, a hair dryer, TV and free Wi-Fi, also available in the pub. Please be aware that we are a Lloyds No 1 bar so we will be playing music in the pub from Thursday to Saturday nights. Limited quiet rooms are available so please telephone in advance to request one. We have no onsite parking but there is a city centre car park we recommend that is only a 3-5 minute walk away. You are able to stop on the pub entrance to unload your luggage before you go and park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about King's Head Inn

Address: 1 Bridge Street, Salisbury SP1 2ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Price Range: €64 - €91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Head Hotel Salisbury
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Salisbury
King's Head Inn Salisbury, Wiltshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from King's Head Inn staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
6 months ago
7 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from King's Head Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Worth giving a go”
 of 5 bubbles KarenT902, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try for a room on the highest floor you can if you want it more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Somerican, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't go there if you like to sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles ginger5London, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in Salisbury.”
 of 5 bubbles calvino, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for room away for bar as it gets very noisy and if having breakfast dont have the eggs benedict as eggs are always hard”
 of 5 bubbles linda100660, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay