We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

King's Head Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
King\\
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

681 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 670: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Been here before a few times but this visit was awful. I waited at the bar for 40 minutes to get served, the staff were obviously under pressure and getting very frustrated. Orders were getting mixed up and delivered to the wrong tables. Our food arrived some 45 minutes after ordering, thankfully it was correct. Shall not be coming back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne C
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I booked a couple of nights, at the last minute, stay here at the end of the year. Firstly, the prices were very reasonable. However, it was disappointing to be asked to leave at 11:35pm on New Year's Eve itself. Surely you book a hotel room above a pub so you don't have to stagger home, so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen T
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Karen T, Thank you for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your time with us in the hotel. Please know if you ever have any issues during your stay we are happy to help, including making sure you have the right amount of sugar for your tea! I'm sorry to hear you had these issues with the kitchen...

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night Jan 1st, booked well in advance so only paid £39 which was excellent value for a city centre pub. Great location, lovely clean room, massive comfortable bed, fluffy white towels, tea/coffee making facilities , biscuits and bottled water also provided. The staff were very friendly especially Amy who checked us out . Would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendy186377
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear wendy186377, Thank you for your wonderful review! We’re glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and felt welcomed by our friendly Reception Team. It’s great to hear that you found our Sunday rates offer excellent value for money, as our lower rate doesn’t change the quality we offer our guests or the facilities we provide and we're...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Whilst this review may be of two parts, i hope you can see why !) The hotel itself was fantastic with a great setting by the river Avon, coupled by the warm friendly reception we got. The room itself was of the usual high Wetherspoon standard and we had nothing to be concerned about. 2) Now the Pub / restaurant...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rtraveller186334
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rtraveller186334, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We’re glad that you enjoyed our fabulous central location besides the river and that you felt warmly welcomed by our wonderful Reception team. We apologise for your experience within the Pub and will be sure to pass on your concerns to Pub Management. We hope that the...

Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Overall, great value Decor and ambience of hotel far better than Travelodge and Premier Inns Room was ideal size, comfy bed, good shower and bathroom facilities etc Extra pillows available in room You can take food & drink up to your room Great location - central Salisbury, reasonably priced parking under 5 mins walk away Yes it was noisy but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erin B
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Erin B, Thank you for your lovely review! It’s great to hear that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our wonderful central location. Thank you for your kind comment in regards to the hotel décor and ambience, as we believe it’s important to celebrate the wonderful City of Salisbury and all it has to offer. We...

Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at King's Head Inn for two nights to wrap up and 8 day long holiday around the southern England coast. Everywhere we wanted to go was easily walkable and accessible from the hotel, restaurants, sights, Salisbury Cathedral, etc. Other than that, we weren't exactly thrilled with our stay. It was a basic accommodation at best and served the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Somerican
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Somerican, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t have a wonderful stay with us. Unfortunately due to our central location we cannot guarantee our rooms will be silent; however we do have a limited number of quieter rooms that can be requested while booking. To arrange this in...

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff always efficient and friendly..There is some street noise at weekend but I am sure there are quieter rooms if requested Salisbury is an interesting town with lots of history god coffee shops and variety of restraunts.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank henders10
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear henders10, Thank you for your lovely review and 5* rating! We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and found our historic city to be both interesting and offer a good variety for dining. Thank you for your positive feedback in regards to our staff, we pride ourselves on our customer service, as well as our approachable and...

london
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room and en suit were clean and contemporary but the frequent loud noises after midnight ( on Sunday) when we would expect peace and quiet meant that we got virtually no sleep. Every time someone used the bathroom, there was the loud noise of gushing water. Regular banging of opening and closing doors meant that we were jolted awake....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ginger5London
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear ginger5London, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry to hear you had these issues during your stay. Firstly I apologise for the issues you experienced with the noise, we have not received any feedback like this previously, so I apologise this was an issue for you. Please rest assured our fire and...

Zugliano, Italy
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

After reading a couple of reviews we were quite skeptical, but the hotel was a lot more than we expected! The room was spacious and clean, the bathroom was new and spotless, the pub had very nice food. It's fairly close to the train station and right in the city centre. We would go back any time!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paola_th
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Paola_th, Thank you for your wonderful review and 5* rating! We’re glad to hear that our hotel exceeded your expectations. We hope that you were able to explore our lovely city due to our central location and we look forward to welcoming you back at The King’s Head Inn during your next visit to Salisbury. Kind regards, Gina Hawkins...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Comfortable room at a bargain Sunday night price, it did the job very nicely! Check in and out very quick and beds very comfortable. May be a little noisy on a Saturday as single glazed, but not applicable on our trip!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura V
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Laura V, Thank you for your lovely review! We’re glad that you found your room to be comfortable and our Sunday rates to be a bargain. It’s wonderful to hear that you had a great stay with us and we hope to welcome you again soon at The King’s Head Inn! Kind regards, Gina Hawkins Hotel Receptionist

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.4 km away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
4.5 km away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.7 km away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 15 in Salisbury
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#11 of 15 in Salisbury
358 reviews
1.0 km away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#6 of 15 in Salisbury
824 reviews
2.0 km away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 15 in Salisbury
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The site of this Wetherspoon pub has been occupied by an inn since the 15th century. By c1520, it was known as the King's Head, and it retained that name until it was rebuilt in the 1880s. The County Hotel was, itself, a change of name some time during the 1880s or 1890s. Before then, it was the Kings Head and Brewery. We have 33 individual bedrooms. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea- and coffee-making facilities, air conditioning, a hair dryer, TV and free Wi-Fi, also available in the pub. Please be aware that we are a Lloyds No 1 bar so we will be playing music in the pub from Thursday to Saturday nights. Limited quiet rooms are available so please telephone in advance to request one. We have no onsite parking but there is a city centre car park we recommend that is only a 3-5 minute walk away. You are able to stop on the pub entrance to unload your luggage before you go and park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about King's Head Inn

Address: 1 Bridge Street, Salisbury SP1 2ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Price Range: €64 - €91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Head Hotel Salisbury
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Salisbury
King's Head Inn Salisbury, Wiltshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from King's Head Inn staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
6 months ago
7 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from King's Head Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Worth giving a go”
 of 5 bubbles KarenT902, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try for a room on the highest floor you can if you want it more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Somerican, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't go there if you like to sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles ginger5London, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in Salisbury.”
 of 5 bubbles calvino, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for room away for bar as it gets very noisy and if having breakfast dont have the eggs benedict as eggs are always hard”
 of 5 bubbles linda100660, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay