We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cathedral Hotel

0.6 km from Salisbury centre
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Wifi
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
7-9 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AJ, England
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

361 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Cathedral Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 335: English reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

My mum and I stayed for two nights on the 3rd floor. We felt the stay was very good value for money. Check in was easy and quick and the staff were friendly, polite and helpful. There is a small (slightly slow) lift if you need it, which we used to carry our bags up. We used the stairs frequently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClaireLouise4
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Rerservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Claire, Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to know that everything was good for you and your mum. To regards of the lift, I do apologise as we know it is slow and small but unfortunately we cannot change the size. I will get in...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

this was the 3rd time we had stayed, really gone down. poor customer service, poor food, broken hot water tap. wrong room very very noisy even though asked for a quieter room which we've had before. dinner service poor had to keep finding someone to give service. food unavailable though still on menu. no gluten free bread. cold food, over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank meredith007_11
Kidwelly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We are a group of 16 ladies of a certain age,spending the weekend in Salisbury to visit the Christmas market. We walked to the hotel from the train station which took approximately 15 minutes. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by extremely welcoming,helpful staff who allowed us to leave our luggage before checking in so that we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisanick2014
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Reservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Lisa, We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our company. Thank you for your feedback about keeping luggage back and the hotel and restaurant in general, we try to help our customers as much as we can. I apologise about the noise at night, but because we are...

Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

I had the pleasure of traveling to Salisbury for a 3 day business trip. It was only a 15min walk from the train station, and I was warmly greeted at the Cathedral Hotel located in the heart of Salisbury. Although on first glance the decor looked slightly tired, the staff more than made up for it by engaging and making...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adam W
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Reservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Adam W, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased you had a pleasant experience during your stay and hope to see you again in the future. I will pass on your comments to Adam the GM and all of our staff. They appreciate guest feedback and we take it very seriously. With regards to...

Nottingham
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Centrally located,Good position.No parking at hotel,free parking from 6pm till 8am and on Sunday 6pm till 10am at the car park on Brown street round the corner.Also on the street outside the hotel same times.This place is a pub as well and gets very noisy at weekends,loud music and very loud people on the street outside.We was in a room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamAlan
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Reservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon NottinghamAlan, Thank you for your feedback on your visit to the hotel. I would like to address all your comments as we do take customer feedback very seriously. Firstly, it is great to hear that you found the central location a plus when visiting. We are proud of our location as it offers many conveniences to guests when...

Birmingham
Reviewed 23 October 2016

This hotel is ideally situated in the beautiful city of Salisbury and the room was comfortable and well-furnished. The main thing to recommend it is the flawless helpfulness of the hotel staff. The breakfasts are freshly made to order.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GrampsBirmingham
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Reservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon GrampsBirmingham, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased you found the hotel to your liking and that our staff maintained their usual high level of customer service. We hope you will stay with us again soon. Many thanks Natalie Mills Reservations

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

I was surprised to see that Trip Advisor had a decent ranking for this hotel which I found to be a very 2 star place. Nothing special, average, or tired would describe this hotel. Yes, it's old and central. But the furniture is cheap and old, the door locks are badly designed and don't always work, the football game on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paula R
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Reservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Paula, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you didn't find the hotel to your liking. The Trip Advisor reviews do usually reflect our level of service and the standards we like to maintain in our hotel. If you had asked a member of staff on duty at the time, I am sure they would have turned...

UK
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We stayed for one night at the end of September. Very central, and parking available just up th road.The staff were very accomodating and helpful, and the room was clean, quite, and had everything you need. The shower cubicle, however, was not very clean. There is no air conditioning in the room itself, and the windows won't open unless you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigpaulus
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Reservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you found the rooms to your liking and that our staff provided our usual standard of attentive customer service. With regards to the shower cubicle, I can only apologise that this wasn't up to our usual standards. I will investigate this matter. Also, as the building is listed, air conditioning...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Our room was very nice with a spotless en suite . the Cathedral Hotel is very central ,but i would describe it more as a pub with rooms than a hotel. So it does lack the personal touch of a hotel at reception . That aside the staff were helpful- keeping our bags safe so we could explore,breakfast was good....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mumis50
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Reservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your great feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here and your trip to Salisbury. The nightlife is something we are proud of, attracting lots of regulars and people from out of town to enjoy their weekend here. Like you said, this may not be to everyone's taste, but the noise and the entertainment...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We regular have an army reunion several times a year in Salisbury and always book 2 rooms at the Cathedral hotel. The food is great, the staff are friendly and they have a great entertainment schedule in the pub at the weekend. Also it is central to town and convenient for transport etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank airbornewarrior1992
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Reservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and that you are regular guests here. We hope to see you again soon. Many thanks Natalie Mills Reservations

225 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (174)
Viewed
Double Bedroom (23)
Viewed
Double Room (25)
Viewed
Large Double Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Single Room (17)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.3 km away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 15 in Salisbury
686 reviews
0.2 km away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 15 in Salisbury
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 15 in Salisbury
714 reviews
4.9 km away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
1.1 km away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#6 of 15 in Salisbury
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Food & drink at the hotel
The Cathedral Hotel Restaurant
The Cathedral Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located in the heart of Salisbury, just a short walk from The Cathedral, shops, theatres and restaurants. We are just 20 minutes' drive from Stonehenge and the rolling countryside of Wiltshire, with all its historical gardens, houses and walkways.Sundays and throughout the week, we offer a quiet, relaxed environment. On weekend nights, the busy venue bar on the ground floor is open until 2am and is part of the cities club circuit. The rooms have secondary glazing, but you may hear street noise in some of the rooms at weekends. The bedrooms do not have telephones or air conditioning but do offer lots of extras -free WIFI, hair dryers, iron boards, flat-screen TVs, plentiful tea and coffee supplies along with excellent quality towelling. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cathedral Hotel

Address: 7-9 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Price Range: €77 - €118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cathedral Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Cathedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Salisbury
The Cathedral Hotel Salisbury, Wiltshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cathedral Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Cathedral Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor rooms quietest. Very small lift. Only 2 at a time.”
 of 5 bubbles RICKEY121, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid eating here”
 of 5 bubbles linboroughs, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“WE only had a meal.”
 of 5 bubbles TerenceC306, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“if u must stay then ask for room on top floor as far away from bar area as possible and at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles meredith007_11, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles GrampsBirmingham, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5