We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Swan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

566 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 558: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pleasant pub restaurant. Good service. Starters were excellent : Soup and Squid. Mains more mixed with no shortage on quantity but my chicken burger lacked any real flavour. Reasonable choice of wines but these were relatively expensive for a pub restaurant. However, the wine we picked (piccolo de Pinet) was excellent. Would defiantly return but not have the chicken burger.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jolyon101
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jolyon101, Thanks for taking the time to review us. I'm glad to hear that the starters were to your liking and that you enjoyed the wine you selected. We aim to offer a premium quality wine selection as well as ales and spirits. I am sorry if the chicken burger was not up to the same standard and will...

Ashford
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We stayed for one night and was not disappointed it is a lovely hotel and inn with great atmosphere attentive friendly staff , fabulous food and lovely rooms. My only slight disappointment was that I was expecting a bath as well as a shower as this was on my booking forms but did not transpire. Having said that , it...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 128jacquelinen
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 128jacquelinen, Thank you for reviewing us. It's good to hear that you felt we had a great atmosphere and lovely rooms. I apologise if you did not receive exactly what you booked, I will look into why that has happened. As our rooms are all unique some have baths with over bath shower, others just have showers or double...

Poole
Reviewed 10 February 2017

very nice room and breakfast was nice. staff very friendly. location excellent. room was nice although a bit noisy from the air conditioners on the roof. shower a bit small, I generally prefer a bath\shower. but lovely place and location etc.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank petereN157QY
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear petereN157QY, Thank you for your review. I'm pleased that you were happy with the room and breakfast. As our rooms are all unique we do have some over-bath showers and also double showers in some of the rooms. If you would like to visit again please give us a call and we will do what we can to find...

Surrey
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Having stayed at the Swan on a previous occasion I can now confidently submit this review! The Swan is a Fullers Brewery pub & is our first stop now when visiting Arundel. First off, whenever dealing with staff at the end of a phone when booking things are dealt with informatively & efficiently. You get clear answers so no upsets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulioStottio
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PaulioStottio, Thank you for your comprehensive review! I am happy to hear that you consider us to be your first stop off when visiting Arundel and I'm especially glad to know you were 'exceptionally pleased with the standard of food' - I will pass this on to my chefs. Thank you also for the useful information you have given...

Coseley
Reviewed 6 February 2017

The hotel was beautifully decorated, cosy and welcoming. Beds very comfortable! The staff were pleasant and very accommodating. Breakfast was good quality and had plenty of choice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Location was great, just a short walk from many coffee shops, restaurants and independent shops.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank emilybG8252MD
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear emilybG8252MD, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's fantastic to know you were very comfortable, enjoyed the breakfast and would recommend us. We hope to see you again some time in future. Beata Slapikaite General Manager

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Here is an honest review. Room very nice but bit worn out, lots of chips on furniture. If you stay on the front of the hotel, its very noisy, no double glazing. Bed clean and comfortable. Bathroom tied. Food quite nice but ours not served very hot. Staff pleasant, Would we stay here again, sorry NO

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maureenjulia
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear maureenjulia, Thank you for your review. It's important that we get honest feedback so we know what people are thinking. All our boutique rooms are individually decorated and have slightly different styles but I will take on board your comments about the furniture and bathroom. The windows are not double glazed as there are certain restrictions with our Grade...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Was very happy with room ,no noise at all , very comfortable bed, good breakfast , would stay here again , only downside you have to pay to park in public car park . Perfect for staying when going to Fontwell racing

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vickibZ4172QO
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear vickibZ4172QO, Thank you for your comments - I think it's great that you were pleasantly surprised and hope you would stay again some time, whether for the races or just for a relaxing weekend. Beata Slapikaite General Manager

Whitstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Nice friendly accommodation We had two dogs with us and they were made very welcome The room was perfect for the dogs It was also very comfortable for us Easy to have meals with the dogs We would definitely stay again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ginger035
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ginger035, Thank you for your review. I'm glad to know that you and your dogs were comfortable with us - we enjoy having them around too and find that having dog friendly rooms and areas of the hotel mean that there's a place for everybody. We look forward to seeing you again. Beata Slapikaite General Manager

Barnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Absolutely fabulous hotel with excellent friendly staff - could not have been better for us - great food , service, staff and rooms - very clean and fantastic value - once again thank you so very much x

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank NSHobbs
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NSHobbs, Thank you for your feedback! I'm very pleased that we were able to be a part of your doubly special occasion and that you felt we were absolutely fabulous. We hope to see you again whether it's for another big birthday or a smaller affair! Beata Slapikaite General Manager

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017

~The hotel rooms and the bar and restaurant was booked for a private party and we were not told in advance, we could not eat in the restaurant, drink in the bar from 3.00pm when we checked in..... unbelievable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susanne M
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susanne, I am very sorry for the lack of communication and any inconvenience caused in this instance. Following our email communication I hope that we have gone some way to rectifying the situation you experienced. Beata Slapikaite General Manager

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 km away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
826 reviews
4.4 km away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
1,855 reviews
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
205 reviews
6.3 km away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
964 reviews
0.8 km away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Swan Pub
The Swan Pub
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Grade Two listed building in the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with rooms, affording those enjoying the peaceful surroundings of the South Downs to stay a little longer and sample our fine food, too. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Price Range: €84 - €155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Arundel, West Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Roseville, California
over a year ago
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
6 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get a room on the back of hotel if you want some peace.”
 of 5 bubbles maureenjulia, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 9,10 and 11 are not directly above the bar, and do not overlook the main road, so may be the quietest”
 of 5 bubbles zensilence, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Visit The Cathedral Church of Our Lady and St Philip Howard Catholic cathedral.”
 of 5 bubbles HerbertBaumann, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Travel light”
 of 5 bubbles fisherman251, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Check directly with the hotel if you want to make sure that you get a room with enough space.”
 of 5 bubbles Jo1Surrey, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5